We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated????”
Review of Tapeo

Tapeo
Reserve with
Tapeo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #127 of 9,585 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Over-rated????”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Made a special effort to visit Tapeo having read all of the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. It was good but not earth-shatteringly amazing like most people say on here. The waiters were great... very attentive and helpful. Food was cooked to order. Restaurant nicely presented.... here's the BIG BUT.... the food was nothing special at all and we did eat what the waiters recommended. I was expecting to be blown away by this place. It was fine but not out of this world. We ate at a restaurant in the Placa Real just off La Ramblas the night before and it was very cheap (unexpected) and really good. Average price per dish about 5 euros... Tapeo was about 9 euros. Placa Real restaurant was in the top left hand corner if you stand with your back to La Ramblas.... about 2 or 3 restaurants to the left of a place called Tobogan or something.... Lovely wine for 10 euros... had 5 dishes... total bill was 35 euros.
Don't wasye your time with Tapeo... not all it's cracked up to be.
I was disappointed to be honest.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahtones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,560
    602
    156
    45
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We made a reservation and visited this restaurant after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. There was so much choice of delicious sounding dishes on the menu, we didnt know where to start. Luckily the waiter was there to ask us what foods we liked and then made recommendations for us. Every single dish was superb! The flavour of the dishes and the quality of the ingredients was exceptional. We will 100% be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rach_C_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Find, thanks to TA!”
Reviewed 4 February 2012

A little difficult to find but well worth it. Great selection of Tapas, all easily understood especially with an English waiter to explain them. Great service,if not a little fast and a really nice food.We had six dishes which was more than adequate followed bY Spanish Bred and butter pudding (To die for). Drinks were premium brands and a little pricey. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve smith_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stumbled accross this restaurant whilst wandering around Barcelona and were pleasantly surprised. With the very English accent from the waiter/barman it was nice to actually have the dishes explained to us and to know what we were eating. The food was lovely, the wine was delicious and we left very well fed to go and wander around the Picasso museum located next door. The restaurant was a bit on the pricy side compared to others that we had visited but this is to be expected in the heart of Barcelona and it was worth it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thelemontreesicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Got to try them”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Sadly we were not brave enough to try a totally local restaurant where the menu was in spanish. We did eat tapas in a restaurant called Tapa Tapa which is on an island in the marina (where the aquarium and imax cinema are) on the side of the Maremagnum shopping centre. They have a place mat showing pictures of all the tapas and the prices. They have outside tables in the sun, a lovely location. A bit of a cop out but it gives you a chance to try the local style of eating without possible language problems.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Devonlodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tapeo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Tapeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing