We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
41
74
29
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
74
29
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 153 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2016

Situated in the stunning Gothic quarter of Barcelona, Pensio Alamar was a fab place to stay. Lifts right up to the entrance to the apartments. It's run by a family, who were lovely, very helpful, room was perfect as I was on my own. Small but just perfect with balcony, access to share toilets, and bathrooms, but as there was 2 of each, no problem when u needed to use them, finally a lovely shared kitchen, was able to buy in groceries and store in fridge, as well as use of microwave and cooker. Excellent location right beside bars and restaurants, busy at nights and wkds, but still slept comfortably every night, fan was also available in room if needed. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay there

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Jonroy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

This is such a nice and heartwarming place! The couple that takes care of the place is a real authentic beautiful older Spanish couple. They are nearly invisible but make sure your stay is lovely, clean and comfortable! And yes the rooms might be a bit small - that does not at all effect your stay considering you stay in Barri Gotic where all houses are smaller...
Not to forget lovely Roger - son of the owner - who runs the place and will be the one answering your emails. He is so helpful and caring -
I WILL FOR SURE COME BACK!!
If you are looking for a cozy place in a excellent tourist location -
THIS IS YOUR PLACE TO BE -
Of course don't expect a quiet location in the middle of a touristy nightlife area! That would be non sense.

Easy going Pension and Hostel with always clean shared bathrooms and a typical Spanish Kitchen. Supermarket just next door.
THANK YOU PENSIO ALAMAR!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street have a little balcony - you will be part of the hussle and bussle... I loved it! Consider if you are sensitive
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AngeLinaByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2016 via mobile

If you know what a pension is before you arrive you are fine.

I was unaware and was shocked to find a tiny room with sheared bathrooms. This being said, after the initial shock and overviewing what you get for the price this is a lovely little place.

It is well kept, very clean and the family who run it are lovely and really helpful.

We initially had a room with an inside window looking toward the lift shaft. Although the room itself was fine I am claustrophobic. After explaining this we were able to move rooms at their earliest availability.

There is a sheared kitchen/ fridge which is open certain hours of the day which is great for preparing your own meals / pic nic.

Will definitely consider booking this again when visiting Barcelona. Great location in the heart of the gothic quarter. 5 min walk to las rambles, 5 mins to the harbour and 15 mins to the beech.

You get what you pay for and more.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2016

Very good radio price vs value. It's clean, perfectly located accomodation. That was nice for me. Great location, nice staff and stay. close to La Rambla street , liceu metro station, and ferry port..

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank cankutenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2016

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews