We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A splendid terrace overlooking the Barcelona Cathedral”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #72 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This time we were in the Gothic Quarter. The Colon is chic, full of tradition and very well located. We chose a beautiful suite with a splendid terrace overlooking the Barcelona Cathedral. We dined every night at the hotel restaurant, which has chairs on the sidewalk. Nothing like ending the night drinking champagne on the terrace of our room. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricardo_SP_Brazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear guest,

Please receive our heartfelt thank you for such a kind comment. We are glad to learn that you left with a great impression of our city and that we were able to make that happen.

The terrace room has its charm and a big part of it comes from our privileged location. Situated right in front of the of the Old Cathedral in the center of the Barrio Gotico, allows us to present our guess with an added value: breathtaking views and walking distance to make of the city's hot spots.

Next time you find yourself planning to visit our city, please don't hesitate in contacting us again. We'll look forward to see you again.

Best regards,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

The rooms are a bit old but you have everything you need, bathroom is very well equiped!
Good service,clean and the breakfast is superb!!! The location is perfect to visit the old city part, very good choice and will probably stay here again when ever going back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyWolf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Colón Hotel and for taking a few minutes of your time to write about your experience and share it with your fellow travelers.

We are happy to learn you were fond of our installations and service. What a better way to start discovering Barcelona than from de medieval point of view? Our perfect location makes it ideal for the adventure.

We'll be looking forward to seeing you again next time you are in town!..

Best regards,

Hotel Colón, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Old hotel in the city with history. Rooms nice and clean, service friendly and breakfast high quality.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

It seems everyone is in agreement with the location... perfect, especially for someone who has no sense of direction: just find the Cathedral and you're there (the Cathedral is amazing). The Aerobus from the airport was a snap, and it dropped us off at Plaza Catalunya, only a short walk from the hotel. Tough to beat the narrow streets and alleys of the Gothic Quarter. Hotel staff were charming and helpful. We stayed in a room with a balcony that faced the Cathedral...a little bit of magic. I'll definitely stay here again if I find myself in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catana_Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Dear guest,

We agree 100% with you about our location. Our guests find it really easy to adventure out and discover our city, and to find their way back, all they need to remember is to ask for the Old Cathedral, a must-see landmark in Barcelona.

The top room with the terrace facing the Cathedral gives our guests the chance to sit back and relax, maybe sipping some cava, while enjoying a wonderful view.

We'll be very happy to welcome you back next time you are in town. Please don´t hesitate in contacting us in advance so we can arrange that especial room for you once again.

Our best regards
Hotel Colón, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Hotel Colon in Barcelona is right in front of the Cathedral in the Gothic neighborhood, it is a perfect location if visiting the city. A 5 to 10 minutes walk to Plaza Catalunya where you can take the Aerobus (6 euros, about 25 minutes, leaves every 5 to 10 minutes) to/from the airport. The hotel is friendly and well kept, everything in the room worked fine and the size was quite good for european standards. Just one suggestion: bring an electric extension cord as there was only one electric plug near the TV a couple of meters far from the desk. Excellent price quality choice.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dublinuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend staying at this Hotel. We had a fantastic break which was topped off by this great hotel. The location was fantastic, the staff very helpful & friendly. Our room was lovely and spacious, ok we didn't have a great view but who spends there break in the room with a fantastic place like Barcelona to explore. The restaurant meal we had was great, food was delicious and well presented with attentive staff. Breakfast was buffet style and covered every taste. I would recommend this hotel to any visitor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tgreen137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed at Hotel Colon for four nights, visiting friends in Barcelona and found the hotel accommodating, friendly, filled by international co-travellers and a competent staff. Being a lady travelling by myself I felt quite safe. Of course the location is excellent, but also the room, the public spaces, the breakfast area, the bar were cosy and elegant. Breakfast was copious and could be taken until eleven! Staff were friendly and competent - very nice reception staff!- and hygienic standards absolute top. The room was quiet (at the back of the hotel) and nicely decorated. I would definitely choose this hotel again on my next trip and certainly reccommend it to friends!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muizie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 517 in Barcelona
1,405 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#55 of 517 in Barcelona
2,113 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#75 of 517 in Barcelona
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#107 of 517 in Barcelona
2,285 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#46 of 517 in Barcelona
1,919 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#62 of 517 in Barcelona
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $170 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing