We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice for a short stay in Barcelona”
Review of Colon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Colon Hotel
Ranked #69 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I stayed for three nights in late April 2012, after booking it as a 'mystery hotel' on a website.

The first impression of the hotel is not as good as it could be, with slightly old-fashioned furnishings and decor. Further, the tap in the bath was missing any indication of how to switch between shower and bath; I spent quite a while pushing and twisting the knob, before realising I had to pull it to switch it to shower mode. Finally, there was no view to speak of from the room. However, that is where the issues end.

The hotel is brilliantly located, being 5 minutes walk to the airport bus, and close to the Bari Gotic and Las Ramblas, the room was spacious, the breakfast (on the one morning I had it) was tasty and filling, the bed was comfortable and the wifi connection was generally pretty good. For the price then, it was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MELso76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
There are newer reviews for Colon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

I spent 5 nights in Colon Hotel while in Barcelona. I was told to ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floor facing the Cathedral which is what I got. The room was perfect. What a view I had!!! The location is nice because you are so close to the waterfront, Placa Catalunya, Bari Gothic, and the Rambla. Being on the fourth floor I am sure helped with the noise factor of the bottom floors. As it was I could enjoy the live music performed all day and into the night from the steps of the Cathedral and close my doors if I did not want to hear it (which was almost never). The atmosphere, music, view of the cathedral, and activity in the area all added to the overall enjoyment of the hotel. The staff was friendly, attentive, and helpful with anything I needed during my stay.

Room Tip: 4th or 5th floor facing the Cathedral
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54jls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for having chosen us for your 5-nights stay in Barcelona and for taking the time to write such a kind review. Barcelona is a cosmopolitan capital, full of exciting activities all year round and we are proud to be just in the middle of it all.

We are glad to learn you have enjoyed the numerous advantages our privilege location offers to our guests. We are sure that your insider's tips will be useful to your fellow TripAdvisor travelers.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you and your family back next time you plan to visit Barcelona. Please don't hesitate to contact us in advance.

Kind regards,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel in late March.I liked the hotel very much.The rooms were spotless and the cleaning staff,seemed to be working all the time and they were so pleasant.The location is absolutely great,directly across a huge pedestrianised square from the main cathedral.Also,very close to La Rambla,just a few narrow,charming side streets away.The hotel is in the gothic area and exploring this is interesting.Also,I discovered it is only a few minutes walk from the Playa Catalunya.This is a really nice open area and the best part is that you can get a bus from there to the airport (both terminals) for less than 7 euros,buses run every 20 mins or less.The hotel itself was comfortable and relaxing and the staff were helpful and friendly.I just had one small quibble,I wanted to check in and print my flight boarding card,but the hotel does not have any facility available for this,however a very helpful member of staff gave me directions to an internet cafe.However,I must say that I enjoyed this hotel and would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dancrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear guest,

We are truly happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our city and that we were able to contribute in to making of you stay a great one.

Your rating encourages us to continue working to improve and deliver excellent experiences to our guests. We’ll make sure to share your kind words of encouragement with the rest of the team.

Please don’t hesitate in contacting us next time you are planning to visit Barcelona. We’ll be more than happy to honor any special request.

Best Regards,
Hotel Colón, Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here with my wife in early April and had heard that previous guests had had problems with its WiFi. When we arrived, indeed, WiFi was not working and it shocks me to read, now in May, that guests still seem to have problems. If it takes the hotel months to address a problem as simple as setting up WiFi, it makes one wonder what else in the hotel has been neglected and for how long! There is another hotel located right behind the Hotel Colon and you can use their wifi for free in their lobby.

The location of the hotel, however, is fantastic and would be perfect for short visits to Barcelona. The room we stayed in was decent although the bathroom shower leaked water into the bathroom and made quite a bit of mess. We did not have breakfast as there were plenty of places nearby to do so and as such can not comment.

The lobby staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again due to the price/convenience ratio but may be inclined to look for somewhere else if their internet is still down.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjtr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear guest,

We'd like to thank you for you recent stay at the Colon Hotel and for taking a few minutes of your time to write this review.

We are sorry to hear that our WiFi connection caused some inconveniences during your stay. It's true we've been having some problems with our internet carrier but we are happy to let you know it has been fixed. As far as the bathroom leak is concerned we have addressed the issue and promptly fixed it.

As you well mentioned in your review, one of the reasons our guests love the Hotel Colon is its unbeatable location and the charm of our classic building. We are situated in the heart of Gothic Barcelona where you'll find the perfect balance between leisure, excitement and relax.

We would the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Hotel Colón , Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel is a little dated in room decor, but very clean and very helpful staff. Nice outside cafe straight across from the Cathederal and nice morning breakfast inside.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GA_Traveler34877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear guest,

From all of us at the Hotel Colón we would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Barcelona and for taking the time to share your views with the rest of TriAdvisor travelers.

Hope to see you soon again and have you stay with us. Please don't hesitate in contacting us in advance.

Regards,

Hotel Colón , Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

The hotel is opposite the cathedral in the plaza just 10 minutes walk from Pl de Catalunya and with a stop for the city bus tours less than two minutes away - excellent place to be for a tourist!
Our room itself was nothing special but the rooms on the cathedral side (front of the hotel) appeared to be bigger and get better views.

Room Tip: Get one at the front of the hotel as you ge a small balcony and a better view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes31270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Colon in Barcelona. We hope you were able to take advantage of you privilege location to wander off the medieval streets of the Gothic Quarter, take a stroll down Las Ramblas, have a snack at the Boqueria or simply enjoy a dink at the beach.

Please let us know next time you are planning to visit Barcelona. We´ll be happy to welcome you back and even make sure to arrange a room overlooking the Cathedral.

Best,

Hotel Colón , Barcelona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank SHERI R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ColonBCN, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Colon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Catedral
Catalonia Catedral
#38 of 513 in Barcelona
1,352 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
Hotel Barcelona Catedral
#50 of 513 in Barcelona
2,043 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#11 of 513 in Barcelona
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
Hotel Duquesa de Cardona
#45 of 513 in Barcelona
1,845 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,196 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
H10 Montcada Boutique Hotel
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colon Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Catedral 7, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#84 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#125 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $203 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Colón is a classic and traditional 4 stars hotel situated in the heart of Barcelona, right opposite the Gothic Cathedral. It was founded in 1951 and during its 90 plus years of history, it has housed big names such as Hemingway, Tennessee Williams, Jean Paul Sartre, Sofía Loren, Jane Fonda, Francis Ford Coppola, Santiago Calatrava, and Arata Isozaki. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Barcelona
Barcelona Colon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing