We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We travelled as a group of 6 friends for just 2 nights, and have to admit even after reading all the reviews just how good the apartments where. Fantastic staff informative and helpful (spoke fantastic English always a bonus). The location was ideal only 20 yards from Rocafort metro station, so perfect for accessing all the sights and sounds of the city. But far enough away for a quiet nights sleep. The apartments themselves where just brilliant. Clean comfortable excellent facilities, free WIFI, satellite tv. Overall absolutely brilliant, would not think to go again or recommend to friends or family. Brillinat

Room Tip: worth paying extra for the deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review and the description you did of our services and location. Thank you also for the recommendation!

It would be a real pleasure to welcome you back during a next trip in Barcelona

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the Gran Via Suites for 3 nights for a city break family holiday. Arriving late, the automated checkin process was extremely easy to use and took minutes. The apartment was clean, spacious and clearly newly decorated and re-done. There was plenty of space for my family of 5 and the price was very competitive for the quality of the lodgings. Overall, we enjoyed staying at these apartments and would recommend these, although location-wise, they are a bit of a trek if you want to be right in the heart of La Ramblas or the older parts of Barcelona. There was a metro station right outside the apartments however, and with the T10 ticket, rides cost less than 1 Euro per person, per ride within the central zone, and the metros ran meticulously.

On the downside of the apartments, the beds were hard. With the excellent blackout blinds, we all could have slept and slept but for the beds. Two other niggles to mention: 1) there is one old-style lift and being on the 7th floor, it was necessary to use going up. However, around midday, the cleaners monopolised this lift leaving me to have to walk up the stairs. 2) The apartment had 1 roll of toilet paper in it and 2 small complimentary bars of soap. When I asked reception if they had any more soap, they apologised and said it was complimentary. The right answer would have been 'yes sir, how many do you need?'. For 0.10Euro each (at most?), it was an easy win for them to give or sell these. For me, two simple amenities should be provided in the price regardless of it being an apartment-only rental.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stu26beech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear guest,

First of all we want to thank you for taken your time to put a review on our apartments. We loved hear that you really enjoyed the apartments and your stay with us.

We are not located in the city centre but at only 3 minutes of it taking the metro station (Rocafort) just in front.

We apologize the confusion about the amenities in the apartment, it is true that we provide a welcome package (dish soap, dish tablets, tablets for washer, sponge and 2 rolls of toilet paper) as courtesy for your arrival. Then we want that our guests feel like home living the Spanish life buying at the supermarket, ...

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Travelling as a family of 5 means that accomodation in an appartment hotel is by far the best option. This place had all we needed. It was new, clean and comfortable. Located next to a metro station made getting around Barcelona easy, and the staff were all really friendly and helpful. We would absolutely consider going back to this, or any of the sister hotels, in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseK121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review, it is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed the apartment such as our services (appliances, cleaning, staff, ...) and our location (metro Rocafort).

We hope to see you back in the future.

Kindest Regards from Barcelona,

Alexandre Petignot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

First of all lets name the positives:
- Apartments are lovely
- Apartments are great value for money
- Apartments are in a good location
So why the terrible review and "Disgusted is not the Word"? Due to the manager and staff!!
Day 1:
We booked 3 rooms for 18 of us, we went out for the day and when we returned 6 of us could not get into our room due to an error with the electronic lock. The security guard was very helpful but he could not help us get access to the room (he tried the master key and rang the "emergency number" to no avail), so 12 of us bunked in 1 room. When the receptionist came on in the morning she got us a new room and the 6 of us without a room moved into there while they retrieved our possessions from the room with the problematic lock. This was done and they advised us to stay in the new room as the lock was faulty. I completely understand that these things happen but I would expect a refund for the 1 room, so I asked for 1. I was met with a tactic that can only be described as "get out of giving a refund at all costs". She advised; "you should have rang the emergency number" (we and the security guard did). "one of your friends was possibly in the room" (they weren't and no one was either when they finally opened the door) "the security guard is not trained for these circumstances" (what???!!!), after the threat of a bad review on this site she agreed that she would speak with the manager and let me know by a letter under the door. Not to waste any more time of our break I agreed this was acceptable and we went out for the day and in the most part returned around midnight as had a flight to catch early in the morning.
Day 2:
We did not have a letter. So we wandered down to check out and discuss this further. That is when we were told "You need to speak with the manager as you owe 200euros as a fine for making noise, the police are on their way and lawyers are involved. One of the neighbours has complained". I was gob-smacked and spoke with the manager. She advised that the "black one" of our group was making noise at around 2.30 am and we needed to pay or we would be arrested. Now the "black one" of our group was in bed at this time and how would the neighbours know who was making noise from the inside of the hotel. Due to our flight most of the group (including myself) had to leave, 3 of the group remained (catching a later flight) and when they came back from breakfast, they were told that there suitcases would be confiscated until the money was paid. Eventually my friend reports they calmed down and let them have there bags back to leave. No police came and no one was arrested. I simply think the whole thing was played out in order not to pay the refund.
What a terrible end to a great weekend. If they would have just refunded 1 room for 1 night, all this could have been avoided as the apartments themselves are lovely, but the disgusting behaviour of the manager and staff leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank swinuk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2012

Dear guest,

I am very sorry to read such a bad comment. I has been personnally informed about all the circumstancies and I would like to take this opportunity to explain how were the things really happening. You were staying 18 ladies in our apartments at the Eric Vökel Gran Via Suites and throughout your stay, we have been receiving many complains about other guest for the incredible noise you were been making: we had made few refunds to those guests that chose us for an enjoyable stay and due to the extreme noise you were doing, we wanted to offer them a compensation. The morning you came to the reception, we explained you everything happened and you inmediatelly requested for a complaint form and we assisted you to fill it in.
We are very sorry about the problem of the lock and we have solved this problem and spoke with the people to avoid the same situation next time.

I hope you will understand my answer to your review, but we think this is not a fair review.

We remain at your disposal.

Thank you very much,

Johanna Plagnard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I heard that holiday apartments are popular in Spain so I searched this apartment via hotels.com. It is so convenient with the Rocafort metro station just in front of the apt., and the apt. is huge with 4 rooms and 2 bathrooms to accommodate 6 of us. If you would like to save $ from dining outside, there is a big supermarket just 5-min walk from the ap., the open kitchen have all the utensils you need for cooking. The staff at the reception is helpful so you can always go for help! ENJOY!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Habibichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for such an amazing review. It is a pleasure to see that our guests enjoy their stay in our apartments.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our apartments in the future.

Do not hesitate to contact us for anything else you may require.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Johanna Plagnard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The apartment is clean, good location and provides a little extra space. Nice to be able to have a home cooked meal and do some much needed washing as part of the stay. A grocery store and shopping centre are just down the street, the fabulous provide directions. The furniture is basic and functional (not luxury) and the space is reasonably comfortable. If you like four or five star, this won't give you a feeling of satisfaction, however, if you are like the extra space, getting some washing done, home cooking, then this is perfect. The apartment is right on the railway station, so really easy to get around. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment, which includes a small living area, kitchenette, small bathroom, a room with a queen bed and a cute little hide-away style twin room (two beds tight fit, but a bit of fun in the design). Free wifi is great, not problems at all.

I would recommend as a good location to get away from the 'hotel feeling' just for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamDea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. it is a pleasure to see that your completely enjoyed your stay at the Gran Via Suites. All our apartments have been designed to take all the space into consideration and offer to our guests the best quality to make their stay perfect.
We hope you will recommend our location to everybody and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Johanna Plagnard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The rooms are small but clean. The term 'suite' is overrated, as it more resembles an ordinary hotelroom with a kitchen. Traffic noise at the front of the building 24x7 and school at the back. Biggest disadvantage is the thinwalled structure of the building. We were unlucky to have a set of noisy neighbours.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adilupus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ericvokelbcn, Gerente at Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to see that apart from some little problems you enjoyed your stay in Barcelona. We will take care about all your recommendations for future guests because we work very hard to provide you the best quality as posible.
We encourage you to visit our brand new building in Madrid, the Eric Vökel Madrid Suites.

We remain at your disposal for anything you may need.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Johanna Plagnard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Midtown Apartments
Midtown Apartments
#4 of 740 in Barcelona
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Paseo De Gracia Bas Apartments
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Aparthotel Arai
Aparthotel Arai
#1 of 740 in Barcelona
704 reviews
Eixample
Suites Avenue
Suites Avenue
#12 of 740 in Barcelona
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 454, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 740 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $105 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eric Vökel Gran Via Suites has been personally and decorated by Eric in a style that is a unique mix of functionality and the beauty of Nordic design with all creativity and spontaneity of Mediterranean design.Light and confort create the spaces in the apartments and have the highest level of ecological efficiency and confort, providing every convenience to make the stay as pleasant as posible. This building is located very close to the city center, Plaza Catalunya and Ramblas is the Eixample neighborhood. Furthermore, it is very easily communicated by public transportation from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eric Vokel Boutique Apartments - Gran Via Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing