We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Restaurant Gut

Restaurant Gut
Reserve with
Restaurant Gut is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #287 of 10,097 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Gracia
Description: Gut opened in the bohemian yet alternative Gracia district in Barcelona. This originally-styled restaurant is decorated in white and pale colours throughout, with clean lines and Scandinavian design influences. The breakfast, lunch and afternoon from 6 pm. Menu offers predominantly Mediterranean cuisine as well as some international and vegetarian dishes, made with the finest ingredients and gluten free, all prepared in house. Especial didhes: small tofu burgurs with wasabi mayonaise, tuna with celery and pumkins pure or ox tataky with miso sauce. While the homemade desserts, such as chocolate and mascarpone cake, also deserve a special mention. The restaurant prides itself on its warm atmosphere, with great attention to details. Great cart available for celiacs.
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This restaurant is down a lane, and easy to find if you have a map and a brain. Some Taxidrivers aren't familiar with the name of the restaurant.
The ambience is lovely, quietly sophisticated. The food was absolutely delicious. we had a starter, main and pudding, unheard of for us. The waiter was attentive and spoke good enough English. I would go back every week if I lived in Barcelona. A must not miss place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 257 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

We went eating here at lunch, after reading all the amazing reviews. Our first impression: tiny. The restaurant is exceedingly small AND crowded. Expect to rub elbows with your neighbors. Next, the waitresses are very pretentious. Expect condescending service. However, the food is amazing. As was the house white wine. I ordered the veggies, and my boyfriend the salad. Both were yummy. Our salmon was also delicious, if somewhat bone riddled, but the oddest thing happened...my boyfriend's plate arrived cold. And the waitress, once informed, was able to bring it back within two minutes completely hot. (And it was the same plate, being that it showed signs of being picked at.) Could it be that they microwaved the food? Perhaps. And then for dessert, we had ice cream, after being informed by our sarcastic waitress that the price was the same even if we didn't want it. All in all, it was yummy food. Awful service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SamanthaNichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joan v, Gerente at Restaurant Gut, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear customer,

Please note that the lunch service during weekdays is always extremely busy. There are many people that come to eat which have very little time, so we try to accommodate everyone the best that we can.

We are sorry that your boyfriend´s food arrived cold, maybe due to the amount of work that can build up within minutes or less, but it was properly cooked. If a dish is returned because it is not hot enough, the food is heated up in the same way as it was cooked. The microwave is used only to heat up sauces. As it was salmon, and at lunch, it was probably cooked on the grill, making it very easy to heat up again quickly, as it is on full and very hot.

In relation to the service, we will check and deal with our staff, as we aim to give the best service so we apologize if you felt it was pretentious and sarcastic, nothing more distant to the service we want to provide. Actually, our staff is very valued by our customers, as the service is a priority for us and we are known and praised for our high standard.

We try to offer the best quality, healthy food and service at the best value for money, which is very difficult to find in other similar restaurants.

Please, feel free to try our restaurant at night or during weekends, or even a bit earlier than the rush lunch hour and you can enjoy a complete different experience.

Yours sincerely,

Restaurant Gut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Very good for quality and price. Excellent service and very nice location. The bread is made in the restaurant and is very very good. I recommend this place 100%

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Olivier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

great decor, food was well presented and the atmosphere was nice

Thank RichWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Super service, lovely cosy ambience and excellent food.

Smallish menu with a lot of emphasis on fish. An amouse bouche of bread with chesses was provided. Whilst portions seemed small, especially the accompaniments, the food was filling and cooked from quality ingredients. The steak was grilled to perfection and tasted superb. Wine was reasonably priced. We paid just over 50 euros for 2 main courses, including steak, 2 desserts, a bottle of cava and coffees.

Thank andypcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Gut also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Gut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing