We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable visit ”
Review of Hotel Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Derby
Ranked #299 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
A TripAdvisor Member
287
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is nice for people wishing to stay close to the centre of Barcelona and chill out during the hot periods of the day. The breakfast is simple but hits the spot. All the staff are friendly and speak good English. They were all helpful when giving suggestions on where to go and eat. The room itself was spacious for 3 people although it was difficult using the shower with your mum and dad in the room as there is no door or wall to allow privacy. The shutter leading to our outdoor alcove was broken and wouldn't raise higher then waist height. Also on our third night the sofa bed sheets were replaced with stained sheets which was unpleasant. However overall a pleasant stay and I would return if in Barcelona again.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Directeur général at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Guest, We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay in our recently renovated stylish hotel next to Barcelona’s Avinguda Diagonal just steps from Passeig de Gràcia. We sincerely apologise for any issues you'd encountered regarding the bathroom and for the problem with the shutter and sheets. Please do not hesitate to raise any issues with Reception as soon as possible, they will be more than happy to try to find an on-the-spot solution. We are very pleased you appreciated our varied breakfast buffet and that you received such a friendly and professional service. We thank you for your recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you n your next visit to Barcelona. Many thanks,

José Luis Fernández, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

All was perfect , thanks to the reception staff and the floor staff.
They were really helpful.
The bed was excellent ,we really enjoyed our stay .Being in the hospitality business the main things that i consider is the service and comfort.They have it both ,
I have not checked the breakfast but the hotel must have kept their standard .
The area is quite and it is lovely to walk .
Everybody has their own style of moving around the city but if you prefer to have a nice a quite stay this is the perfect clean place.
A real 4 star

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Khalil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Khalil, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Derby,
We are delighted that you considered your experience at our 4 star hotel to be perfect.
It's kind of you to compliment the service so highly. The whole team will be thrilled.
We appreciate your positive feedback about our location next to Avinguda Diagonal in Les Corts.
We are glad you enjoyed the high level of comfort and cleanliness our hotel offers.
We hope you'll have the chance to try our delicious breakfast another time!
We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. All the best,
José Luis Fernández, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

The hotel isnt a charming 4 star. Its has a average confort BUT they give more than expected for the price. Good localisation, parking and very nice staff. I would say its a good place to stay if you come with friends or for working. Not a good option for a romantic weekend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank JanainaBuccioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Make sure to get a mojito from Clarissa from The bar downstairs in the hotel !! :) great deal and great service . The hotel itself is better than I thought it would be with a quiet area but easy to get anywhere you like with public transport / taxi

Stayed: July 2017
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Paul, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Derby,
It was a pleasure to receive your feedback about your wonderful experience at our 4* hotel. It's rewarding to learn that it exceeded your expectation.
Clarissa will be happy to hear that her Mojito went down so well! Thanks for complimenting the high level of service.
We appreciate your kind words about our location, next to Avinguda Diagonal, a 10 minute walk from Sants Train Station.
We all hope we have the pleasure of seeing you in the future.
Kind regards,
José Luis Fernández, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a double room in the sixth floor (625) with my 14y/o daughter. The room was neat and clean. There was no kettle but we requested one and it was provided. The wifi was a bit too slow. The walls are not soundproof and our Spanish neighbors' loud voices kept us awake till after 3:00 am. I even called the reception to check this noise but the next night was the same. Breakfast was ok but not luxurious. Waiters were tentative. Reception employees were helpful. Bus stations are near the hotel but the metro station is far.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, General Manager at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Guest, We'd like to thank you for your comments regarding your time at Derby Hotel.
Just 10 minutes on foot from Sants Station and the AVE (high speed train), the Hotel is well connected with all transportation.

We are delighted to read of your overall satisfaction for your room, and that our team were able to assist you with your needs.

We are sincerely sorry for any disturbance you had encountered in the night. Please be aware that all our windows are double glazed, along with double doors in all rooms to aid in keeping out any exterior noise. We would have been happy to find an alternative room for you, if necessary, so that we could make your stay with us a more pleasurable one.

Please note that we had been using an external Wifi connection, however, our internet should be running faster, now.
All of the team hope we can welcome you back again!
My very best wishes,
José Luis Fernández, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Hotel located in a quiet area near to restaurants and local shopping center. Few minutes to La Rambla and Seaside. 20 minutes to the airport. friendly staff. Clean and spacious rooms. perfect for a family holiday or just business.

Room Tip: Nice hotel in a quiet area but close to many restaurants and attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FranciscoJQ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel-cmanager, Directeur général at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Dear Francisco, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Hotel Derby,
What a joy it was to receive your 100% positive account of your time at our exquisite four-star hotel.
We are glad that our prime location in Diagonal just moments away from Passeig de Gràcia and walking distance from Barcelona's best beaches was convenient for your trip.
Your kind remark about the attentive service you received is appreciated.
It's great to hear that you benefited from our easy transport links, just 10 minutes away from Sants Station.
We are pleased to offer rooms with modern amenities, contemporary décor and artworks by famous Catalan artists such as Miró. It's rewarding to hear that you enjoyed the room spaciousness and cleanliness.
The whole team hope we have the pleasure of seeing you in the future. Yours sincerely,
José Luis Fernández, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel Derby advertises itself as having a pool and gym but those are actually across the street in the Gran Derby. The properties are sister properties so it's not a big deal but a bit deceptive. You have AC but not very strong so the room can get a bit warm during summer heat; keep the blinds closed to help.

The rooms are spacious. Bedding is comfortable but a bit warn out. Overall there is decent value for money here but a place closer to the metro would be preferable. Walking with suitcases to this location isn't fun.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ThomasH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionDerbyHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Derby, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear Thomas,
First of all, we thank you for choosing Hotel Derby for your stay in Barcelona.

On the other hand, we would like to thank you for taking the time to contribute with your opinion, this helps us to improve our service day after day and to do our best to satisfy the requirements of our customers. Thank you for your comments, and are so sorry that you have not been fully satisfied with the services of our hotel.

We have taken note of your constructive remarks and will be very helpful in improving our services.

During your next stay in Barcelona, we hope to welcome you back to our establishment

Yours,

Javier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hotel Gran Derby Suites
#166 of 518 in Barcelona
510 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#127 of 518 in Barcelona
1,195 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#115 of 518 in Barcelona
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Medium Prisma
#365 of 518 in Barcelona
320 reviews
Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
NH Barcelona Les Corts
#285 of 518 in Barcelona
721 reviews
Hotel Zenit Barcelona
#307 of 518 in Barcelona
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Derby

Address: Loreto, 21, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#197 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $85 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Derby 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star hotel located next to Barcelona's Diagonal commercial and business area and just 10 minutes away from the Sants AVE station.Because of the peace and tranquillity of its location, its connection with the rest of the city and the internal distribution of its guest rooms, Hotel Derby is one of the best options for accommodation in Barcelona, whether you are travelling for business or pleasure.Located on an almost completely pedestrian street, Hotel Derby has 115 guest rooms, 3 function rooms and the Epsom Restaurant for groups.Services115 guest rooms: 17 single rooms, 92 double rooms and 6 junior suite roomsEpsom Scotch BarEpsom Restaurant for groupsThe Times coffee shopBreakfast buffet24-hour room service and mini-barBusiness centreWi-Fi in all areasFunction rooms and spaces for eventsLaundry and ironing serviceSmall dogs allowed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Derby Hotels, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derby Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing