We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Ranked #156 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Derry
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Its 15min walk to Gaudi's Cathedral, less than 5 min walk to Tetuan metro station, 5 mins walk to Passeig de Gracia and 10mins walk to Plaza de Catalunya.
There is a supermarket within 2mins walk for water, croissants etc.
The staff were very helpful with any queries we had.
We stayed on the 3rd floor, the beds are huge and so comfy. Bathroom full of supplies, dental & sewing kit etc - reminded me of how hotels use to be before they went all budget like!
Room also had plasma TV and tea & coffee making facilities.
Roof top pool is small but its a lovely area to sit after a long day of walking the city.
Would have no trouble recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliBDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Gran Havana for your stay in Barcelona. We are glad to hear your stay was pleasant.
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    581
    152
    75
    30
See reviews for
228
609
44
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was our first time in Barcelona and I thought it was a very nice hotel. The location to bus tours, tourist sites, food and shopping was terriffic. We had a room with two beds which were very comfortable. We were on a cruise/extended stay at the end of our Atlantic Ocean crossing for three nights and the price of the room and breakfast was pricy but I thought worth it. The hotel staff was very helpful and curtious, pointing out good places for dinner and how to get to some of the historical sites. One night (I think it was Saturday night) they had jazz in the lobby of the bar and it was terrific. There was a fee, but you could sit in the hotel lobby and listen to the music and no one seemed to mind. When we went to bed we could not hear the music below (we were on the 3rd floor, next to the elevator). The only reason this hotel did not get five starts is the air conditioning was not working and it was warm. We just opened the window when we went out to eat dinner and it was fairly cool when we came to bed. Should have worked though so not the highest rating. The breakfast had a large selection of food and was somewhat different, but hey, we are in Europe, go with the flow!

Room Tip: Find a room that does not face the street during the summer months to open the window to cool the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for choosing the Gran Havana for your stay in Barcelona. We are especially grateful that your stay was wonderful and up to par with your expectations. We are very pleased to inform you aswell that our new air conditioning system ( that provides individual airco or heat in each room) is now 100% installed so we hope to see you again in our Hotel in order to enjoy this improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rheinberg, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I really like this hotel. This is why I have stayed several times at the Gran Hotel Havana in the past few years as a pre-cruise night, last at 24-25. April.
It is ideal for tourists because of its central location.
I have stayed in different room types from “Classic Havana” to the two-room Suite. All rooms are well maintained and well equipped and have their own corridor with separate doors leading into the bathroom and the bedroom. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfest bufet is of a good standard.
Compared with other hotels in this category the Gran Hotel Havana is my first choice in Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralfcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your enthusiasm upon your stay at the Gran Havana. We are glad to hear your stay was enjoyable.
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

My partner and I spent 7 days in Barcelona ending around the 7th of May. Our room was tiny, thus we upgraded to a suite. The a/c didn't work and made the afternoons extremely warm in the room. At night, we heard neighbors showering loudly, as well as yelling in the hallways.

The breakfast meals are overpriced. You can get better quality food at local cafes on Ave Garcia.

Do not stay in this hotel. Take your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: For quiet, get rooms near '_25.' We moved rooms several times and none of the a/c units in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldBizTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear client,

We thank you for taking you time in writing your experience in our hotel, and we are very sorry to know that your stay in our Hotel was not as enjoyable as you expected.
Regarding climatisation , we are very pleased to inform that we have already finished the improvement works and we are able to offer now individual heating or air conditioning in each room.
About breakfast buffet, we are dissapointed about your review because we usually receive good feedback from our clients: we offer eggs à la carte( fried, boiled, omelettes, scrambled) hot sausages,vegetables and bacon, fresh fruit, juices, 5 varieties of bread, 6 types of pastries, 4 types of cheese, charcuterie, gluten free options, soya milk, smoked salmon, cava, etc. The price of the buffett is the standard price for a 4 stars Hotel, but we offer discounts on the price of the breakfast buffet if you book it in advance fot he whole stay, so we should recommend this option if you shuld come again.
Please do not hesitate in considering to contact us directely next time you plant to come to Barcelona, so we can have the opportunitu to show you the improvements made in the air conditioning system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

We traveled to Barcelona for the first time in May 2012, and were very pleased with our stay at the Silken Gran Hotel Havana. The hotel staff were accommodating and friendly- even providing an electrical converter upon check-in, when we realized ours was left home!

While we agree there is some wear to the common spaces, were very happy with our room, which was pleasantly appointed with a comfortable bed, great water pressure in the shower, working safe and plenty of space for two people. While wifi was included, we did have to keep requesting a new sign in- which the staff provided without question.

All this said, it was the location that truly made all the difference. We were a short walking distance to many areas (Las Ramblas, Passeig de Gracia, etc.), but with a nearby subway station, you can easily get anywhere in the city. (Or out, as the closest stop also has trains that run outside Barcelona -perfect if you're planning a day trip, i.e. a Sunday afternoon shopping excursion to Sitges.) We also felt very safe the entire time. While it was great to be in close proximity to the highly trafficked tourist area, we preferred being able to walk a few blocks back to our more quiet street at the end of the night.

All these together make this hotel a great value for your money, and one we would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Silken Gran Hotel is a great hotel, very well located (you can go walking everywhere), great amenities, very confortable. Totally recommend!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGT12, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you very much for choosing SIlkenGran Hotel Havana for your stay in Barcelona. We are very happy to know you enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcellona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Too much things to repair, no control for every maintenance of the hotel utilities, shower booth, elevator, lightening in the room

No isolation in the room (5th fl,) enough to be waken 4 o'clock in the morning because one of my next door people take his shower, obliged to packed my bagages to change the room.

Shower room on 7th Fl. next to sauna room doesn't work.

Too hot in the room 28 degrees during the night.

Elevator key doesn't work, waste 40 minutes to arrive at 5th fl even though I asked to reissue the key. Once again maintenance problem.


NOTHING WORKS!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjstns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silken10, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Gran Hotel Havana, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
From Silken Gran Hotel Havana we deeply regret the inconveniences that you detailed during your stay and we appreciate all your comments, which we take very seriously, because they help us improve. We know that for a short period of time we had problems with maintenance daily service of the hotel. This setback is now fully resolved. In any building of medium or large size, a small delay in the daily maintenance of the facilities is evident in no time. When you think about an upcoming trip to Barcelona, we would like to ask you to contact me directly , ​​so we can give special treatment and see for yourself that the situation is not the usual you live in our establishment. We hope to have this second chance. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#145 of 513 in Barcelona
822 reviews
Eixample
Negresco Princess Hotel
Negresco Princess Hotel
#54 of 513 in Barcelona
674 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
Hotel Acta Atrium Palace
#115 of 513 in Barcelona
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Silken Ramblas Barcelona
#267 of 513 in Barcelona
928 reviews
Eixample
NH Collection Barcelona Podium
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Gran Hotel Havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Gran Hotel Havana

Property: Silken Gran Hotel Havana
Address: Gran Via Corts Catalanes 647, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#114 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#176 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Gran Hotel Havana 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona is a four star hotel of great categroy that has been extended and rehabilited as a luxury hotel in 1991, also, completely redecorated in 2009. Its located in the L. Fradera house, a historic building of 1872, in Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes nº 647, right in the centre of Barcelona city, only a step away from the most emblematic buildings of Gaudí: the “Sagrada Familia”, the “casa Batlló”, “La Pedrera”, and also, right next to the mythical “Ramblas” and “Barrio Gótico”.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, offers you one of the best places to stay in Barcelona center where the combination of vanguardism and tradition exists. Historic Building of the 19th century that has the 21st century interiorism.Silken Gran Hotel Havana Barcelona, has a panoramic terrace with an exterior swimming pool, solarium and sauna, right in the center of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Silken Gran Hotel Havana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Gran Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing