We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sparkling reception”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A sparkling reception”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The service here is unrivaled. As soon as the taxi arrived outside the centrally but quietly located hotel our bags were immediately taken in. As soon as we walked through the door we were offered a (large) glass of cava as we settled down in the comfortable reception area. This set the tone for the visit. The room was very comfortable and clean; the bathroom and separate shower were superb. We did not partake of meals or use the bar, but the Alma's central location made it easy to drink and or dine nearby, and to reach all the famous sites on foot or by metro. The Alma is a discreet, chic, 'grown-up' quiet haven and a perfect base from which to explore everything Barcelona has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TowardsTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    268
    64
    14
    12
See reviews for
268
986
61
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had a lovely stay at the hotel Alma, this was our second visit. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The service is excellent. The quality of the food is very good. We love the breakfasts here. They seemed a bit short staffed on one of the mornings. We love the rooms, which are spacious, clean, lovely decor. Free minibar.
Location is excellent, close to everything we wanted to see. Right round the corner from the Pedrera. We recommend going to the Catalana restaurant, which was excellent.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both types of the executive suites and preferred the 2nd visit when we stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Alma Barcelona is located very conveniently in walking distance to La Sagrada Familia as well as the Gotic Quarter. There are many excellent restaurants very near-by. Parking was also very simple, right around the corner in the public lot, but with the ability to have their valet retrieve your car (and cheaper than the posted rate at the lot, but still not cheap).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Before starting I would like to thank Splendia, Luxury & Character Hotels, which is an excellent website for booking hotels of high quality!
Alma Barcelona was a unique experience! The staff is excellent, very attentive to our needs and that make us feel like special customers!
And this is without doubt the hallmark of this hotel! The staff really “pampering” their customers!
The hotel is extremely well located, very central near Casa Milá of Gaudi!
This hotel is beautiful! Very contemporary and well furnished! Everything was chosen with the greatest detail and the staff responsible for decorating deserves our congratulations! The room is very cozy and very comfortable!
Compared to other hotels with the same category I have to mention that this hotel promotes silence and peace to their customers! In two nights we never saw or heard the cleaning team! And this is remarkable because it is all done without disturb the rest of the customer!
And this concern reflects how this hotel works with the ultimate goal to please and “pamper” their customers! In room also they observe this concern since this has an ante-camara like a hall, which protects the sleeping area of noise. Breakfast reflects the elegance of this hotel with enough variety and always with elements of great quality!
We have no doubt that it is an experience to repeat!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaCoimbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2012

有一位会说流利中文的前台,能提供十分方便的中文服务。其它夸奖大家就看英文的吧:

Cool design ('less is more') with excellent service. Booked its 'Luxe Double bed room' with garden view, four nights.

The best part of ALMA is its service: prompt, quiet and detailed. With the help of the staff, we managed to find the place to get our briefcase repaired in Barcelona, booked restaurants, booked tickets for sightseeing, etc. The finger-points-room-access is as cool as the design of the room. The hotel restaurant may be low-profile but we were very satisfied with the room service.

Will highly recommend to people who first visit Barcelona. And I myself will come back again if going to Spain again.

Room Tip: Garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice design hotel. Much better than Hotel Omm that is a bit overrated I think.
Newly opened in 2011, not very well known yet and therefore more quiet. Service is discrete, very personal, and equals 5*.

The rooms are nicely designed without being impersonal or lacking ambience.
Fingerprint technology is used to open your door so no more messing around with magnetic cards that often do not work. Very good beds for a good night rest. The breakfast is the best, no more queuing at the buffet; all the tasty breakfast is displayed at your personal breakfast table and you can place orders for your own customized breakfast.

I am a Barcelona resident and I pretty well know most top hotels in Barcelona so take this review very seriously! I will come back definately.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pascal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed six nights at this fabulous hotel from Janaury 7. We were expecting a "business" hotel and found superb place with fabulous personal service. Location is perfect for the Gaudi sights and shopping. We had a executive suite on the fourth flood overlooking the Calle Mallorca. Very large rooms with great bathorrm. The only faults were the funky design meant the rooms are too dark with too many spotlights and not enought light! Apart from that the high quality friendly staf made this hotel the highlight of a five week trip. Angeles on reservation and reception was without doubt the most friendly and professional reception person we met. Vera in the bar and Paola in the restaurant were perfect and the guys on the door, who included the hotel manager were fabulous. And the fingerprint entry was very James Bond! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulw1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,659 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 513 in Barcelona
1,249 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#3 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing