We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an excellent location”
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #18 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have a great 3 night stay in the hotel. The staff are excellent - they are very friendly and helpful. We were given a glass of cava as we checked-in and were given a complimentary upgrade. Our room was large, well decorated with a lovely bathroom (enormous rainfall shower). The beds were very comfortable. We had breakfast the first day (which is expensive at 25 euros per person - it was delicious however - but think they should consider the price as we would have eaten there every day if it was as expensive). We ate out the following two mornings. We used the pool and other spa facilities - which were new and lovely.

The hotel is in a great district - we liked how safe you felt, how close it was to a main shopping area, restaurants etc. We were going to the Barcelona football game and the hotel was really helpful in giving us advice on getting there and back.

We used the metro a lot which was not far away from the hotel too.

The bar lacks atmosphere as it was very quiet (and the music is a little irritating) but if they improved the cocktail menu, adjusted the music and provided more bar snack it would be lovely.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely return in the future. Thanks to everyone at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKWKirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

The service here is unrivaled. As soon as the taxi arrived outside the centrally but quietly located hotel our bags were immediately taken in. As soon as we walked through the door we were offered a (large) glass of cava as we settled down in the comfortable reception area. This set the tone for the visit. The room was very comfortable and clean; the bathroom and separate shower were superb. We did not partake of meals or use the bar, but the Alma's central location made it easy to drink and or dine nearby, and to reach all the famous sites on foot or by metro. The Alma is a discreet, chic, 'grown-up' quiet haven and a perfect base from which to explore everything Barcelona has to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TowardsTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had a lovely stay at the hotel Alma, this was our second visit. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The service is excellent. The quality of the food is very good. We love the breakfasts here. They seemed a bit short staffed on one of the mornings. We love the rooms, which are spacious, clean, lovely decor. Free minibar.
Location is excellent, close to everything we wanted to see. Right round the corner from the Pedrera. We recommend going to the Catalana restaurant, which was excellent.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both types of the executive suites and preferred the 2nd visit when we stayed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Alma Barcelona is located very conveniently in walking distance to La Sagrada Familia as well as the Gotic Quarter. There are many excellent restaurants very near-by. Parking was also very simple, right around the corner in the public lot, but with the ability to have their valet retrieve your car (and cheaper than the posted rate at the lot, but still not cheap).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Before starting I would like to thank Splendia, Luxury & Character Hotels, which is an excellent website for booking hotels of high quality!
Alma Barcelona was a unique experience! The staff is excellent, very attentive to our needs and that make us feel like special customers!
And this is without doubt the hallmark of this hotel! The staff really “pampering” their customers!
The hotel is extremely well located, very central near Casa Milá of Gaudi!
This hotel is beautiful! Very contemporary and well furnished! Everything was chosen with the greatest detail and the staff responsible for decorating deserves our congratulations! The room is very cozy and very comfortable!
Compared to other hotels with the same category I have to mention that this hotel promotes silence and peace to their customers! In two nights we never saw or heard the cleaning team! And this is remarkable because it is all done without disturb the rest of the customer!
And this concern reflects how this hotel works with the ultimate goal to please and “pamper” their customers! In room also they observe this concern since this has an ante-camara like a hall, which protects the sleeping area of noise. Breakfast reflects the elegance of this hotel with enough variety and always with elements of great quality!
We have no doubt that it is an experience to repeat!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaCoimbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

有一位会说流利中文的前台,能提供十分方便的中文服务。其它夸奖大家就看英文的吧:

Cool design ('less is more') with excellent service. Booked its 'Luxe Double bed room' with garden view, four nights.

The best part of ALMA is its service: prompt, quiet and detailed. With the help of the staff, we managed to find the place to get our briefcase repaired in Barcelona, booked restaurants, booked tickets for sightseeing, etc. The finger-points-room-access is as cool as the design of the room. The hotel restaurant may be low-profile but we were very satisfied with the room service.

Will highly recommend to people who first visit Barcelona. And I myself will come back again if going to Spain again.

Room Tip: Garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice design hotel. Much better than Hotel Omm that is a bit overrated I think.
Newly opened in 2011, not very well known yet and therefore more quiet. Service is discrete, very personal, and equals 5*.

The rooms are nicely designed without being impersonal or lacking ambience.
Fingerprint technology is used to open your door so no more messing around with magnetic cards that often do not work. Very good beds for a good night rest. The breakfast is the best, no more queuing at the buffet; all the tasty breakfast is displayed at your personal breakfast table and you can place orders for your own customized breakfast.

I am a Barcelona resident and I pretty well know most top hotels in Barcelona so take this review very seriously! I will come back definately.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pascal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
1,768 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 515 in Barcelona
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 515 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#16 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $307 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing