We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique hotel with stunning interior design and world class staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alma Barcelona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Barcelona
Ranked #17 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel with stunning interior design and world class staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was our first trip to Barcelona and was not disappointed with this hotel. Was going to stay at The Mandarin Oriental but then saw this hotel and decided to stay here. The staff at The Alma were wonderful, very helpful, nothing was too much trouble and exceptional attention to detail. We will definately be back at the end of May. Well done

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing the main street but was perfect as hotel situated down side street and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maggi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    257
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
254
964
59
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Booked two nights at The Alma for a first trip to Barcelona for my wife and I. The location is outstanding, very central location in a great area. The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Would love to stay here again if we visit this beautiful city again, absolutely recommend The Alma to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Located a few feet off of the most exquisite street, this is the perfect location to walk all over the city while being on a quiet side street. Hotel is beautiful, immaculate and service oriented. The pleasing minimalist design is extremely luxurious. Breakfast buffet has delicious food, the bar area feels like an inviting living room with a garden view. The staff was helpful even before our arrival. We arrived at 7am and were offered a room. Look for Pau G. At the reception desk, he is very helpful and knowledgable. Consider yourself lucky if there is availability

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MABNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Many of the top hotels were full, primarily for the Barca v Real Madrid match so it was with some uncertainty that we booked in at the Alma .. We need not have worried. This chic boutique hotel just off the Passage de Gracia was ideally located and the service from start to finish was first class. Check in is a little laborious due to the sophisticated finger print recognition system, but I am pleased to confirm that this worked flawlessly for the 4 days we were there. The decor is very subtle and understated and for some maybe just a little minimalist, but it was very much to our taste and gives a very exclusive look and feel. The lighting in some of the corridors is very low and probably would not be too every ones liking. We could not fault the attention to detail of the front of house team who delivered well with respect to restaurant recommendations, and other advice. The only area that disappointed was the service at breakfast .. too often tables were left uncleared and the provision of crockery, cutlery etc at the buffet was slow and frustrating. This seemed to result from a simple lack of staff to cope with a full breakfast dining room at the weekend.But all in all this was a minor irritant and we would not hesitate to return the next time we visit this fantastic city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

One of the reasons we chose Alma Barcelona was a lot of thumbs up reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The hotel itself is a very interesting building from the interior design point of view, with a grandiose atrium yet a very nice and cosy reception area where attentive staff is looking after your every need. We did like the fingerprint entry system to the rooms all the more so as I was travelling with my 11-year old son who thoroughly enjoyed such innovative way of entering the room. The room was nicely appointed in the grey-brown-and-white palette with designer furniture which in fact turned out to be convenient. I commend the hotel for offering to chose how many if at all breakfasts to take, and the quality of food was without any flaws. I d like to comment on the shower system in the room we were staying. It appeared to be working at its own pace: when I wanted to make the water warmer it was turning biling hot, and the next thing when I was trying to reduce the temprature it went back to stone cold. With a few stryuggles like that we eventually mastered the system but my suggestion to the hotel is to check it (I was scared to turn on the overhead shower :)), also but this is purely subjective the glass door or better call it wall was the only thing separating the shower area from the water dispenser area, it is great from the design point of view but not so practical.
To sum it up: a very impressive and affordable nice boutique hotel in the center of Barcelona with a very attentive and efficient staff. We give you a thumbs-up :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbear70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay from the beginning till the end. Very kind people and nice room. Next time in Barcelona it will be Alma again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xccharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We are just back from Barcelona where we had a family meeting and loads of fun. Since over 20 years we go at least once a year to this vibrant and stimulating city, but we never found a "preferred hotel", so we tried a lot of "upper-bracket" lodgings. Palace, Meridien, Omm, Grand Florida, Arts, Abac to just cite a few. The only one which came close to the Alma was Abac, a much smaller charming newcomer with a fabulous restaurant, but without the location. The Alma is right spot on where you want to be based (Mallorca and Passeig de Gracia).
Very nice rooms and bathrooms, comfortable bedding, good tech equipment like reliable and free wi-fi (when will luxury hotels finally understand that a free wi-fi is part of a modern hotels basic equpment???, look at Alma as an example please), spectacular and pleasing modern design, which works and "cool" foyer, restaurant, bar, terrace et al.
But what puts this hotel in a different category is it's employees. A smile on their lips at all times, really helpful, eager to please and competent. Particular mention for the ladies and gentlemen of the reception staff who function as hosts, concierges and friends in the same time and really find the right balance between friendliness and efficiency. There are a lot of "design hotels" in Barcelona which exude hipness and a cool attitude, but the coolness also comes with a cool reception towards their guests and a lack of hospitality which by experience permeates the entire hotel and restaurant industry in Barcelona.
Thank you for changing this and be sure that next time we are in Barcelona we shall come back to our new favorite hotel.
Let me mention as well that during our stay the hotel was fully booked and that at no time this has diminished the quality of the service or the helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: even standard rooms are great, go the little extra for an executive room(more space, allthough even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mipdantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#5 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
Mercer Hotel Barcelona
#4 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#12 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Eixample
Mandarin Oriental, Barcelona
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Barcelona

Property: Alma Barcelona
Address: Mallorca 271, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Alma Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AlmaBarcelona hotel is housed in an elegant building which dates back to the start of the 20th Century. Located right in the heart of Barcelona, just a few metres from the famous Passeig de Gràcia. With its proximity to the Batlló house, La Pedrera, Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, Barcelona Cathedral, Palau de la Música, L'Auditori and numerous other popular tourist attractions, the AlmaBarcelona has one of the best locations in the city. Its 72 rooms are separated into classical and modernist accommodation, providing an interior unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Alma Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Barcelona Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing