We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, modern hotel”
Review of Barcelo Sants

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Sants
Ranked #107 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent, modern hotel”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Background: We're a couple, both under 30, no kids, had a 3 night stay in Barcelona and picked Barcelo Sants, here's some brief thoughts!

Pros:
- Location. It's right on top of one of the main train stations, so the transport links to the centre (La Rambla, Sagrada Familia etc) take no time at all, and you can get a direct train from the airport in less than 30mins.
- Service. The hotel caters for business mainly, (it has conference rooms and function areas), so the staff are all well presented, helpful, multi-lingual and business-formal. Don't expect them to be warm and cuddly though.
- Room. The hotel has recently been refurbished to a 'space' theme, and our room was an orbital room, with some funky white modern stylings, 42'' plasma screen and fantastic shower. You can't change the temperature on the AC, but it was a pleasant temperature.
- Food. The breakfast buffet isn't cheap (around €15 per person), but it's a great spread and definitely worth trying once.

Cons
- None really! Nothing went wrong for our entire stay. What I would say, though, is that this is a hotel for business users, singles and couples, NOT families with children. I'm sure there are plenty of hotels in Barcelona that cater for young children, so don't bring them here!

Can't comment
- Didn't try the gym, and spent no time at all in the area directly surrounding the hotel.

Room Tip: Get an orbital room! It's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,424
    1,299
    307
    97
    54
See reviews for
535
1,120
192
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon. We originally booked this hotel because it was close to the Barcelona Sants Bus station and we were arriving at 10pm at night. When we arrived we were suprised how nice the hotel was and it location to the train station. It sits above the Barelona Sants Train station so it is perfect location for getting in and out of Barcelona. The hotel is very modern and nice, infact I would possibly say this is the nicest hotel we stayed in during our trip to europe. The breakfast was fantastic and the location was great not to close to the centre of Barcelona but you could still catch a tour bus and see all the sites. It was also close to good shopping and resturants and bars. We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo Sants for the May bank holiday weekend, the hotel is about 20mins from the airport, great location on top off the station, the hotel was great with the space theme, very clean and the hotel staff very helpful. Our room was lovely with big and comfortable beds with a wide screen tv, the bathroom arrangement was a little weird but the shower room was excellent. we had breakfast at the hotel which gave you plenty of choice from eggs and bacon to your continental breakfast, catered for everyone. We walked to the magic fountains about 15 /20 mins, well worth the walk, and very easy to visit many other sites in Barcelona, the open top tour bus was brilliant and the bus stop just across from the hotel. on the departure day we were able to leave our cases at the hotel reception as we were not flying until late afternoon.
We will stay again at the Barcelo Sants Hotel when next in Barcelona. So don't be put off that the hotel is above the station you do not hear the trains, defiantly a hotel worth staying at.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor great views from the floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here on route to Girona by train. It was right above the station so very easy to make our connection in the morning. It seems to have been updated on a space station theme which is odd but works surprisingly well. My husband loved it and each floor seemed to have a different space view showing in the lobby. We had booke a bottle of cava for our arrival and it was already in our room witing for us. There was also a plate of chocolate dipped stawberries. The girl on reception offered to replace the wine as we were late and it had been lying out a little time but we simply asked for the ice to be changed and it was done within 30 seconds of arriving. The hotel restaurant didn't look appealing at first but this turned out to be the brwakfast area and dinner was served in a smaller area at the end. We had delicious traditional dishes with an excellent wine.

Breakfast is a good quality buffet with a large selection. It was very busy and some people had diddiculty getting tables.

The rooms are very clean and modern with good facilities including an i pod dock. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a strange design with the washbasin in the main room and the toilet and shower each behind a door. My husband thought it was to help the space pod theme.

We didn't look at the area around it but it would seem easy to get around by Metro.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Barcelo Sants offers comfortable rooms with a favorable location, being situated on top of a central train station. The Sants Estacio is a central Metro connection, as well as the terminal for the Renfe trains to and from Madrid and BCN airport. The hotel restaurant has decent food. There a hotels in Barcelona with better location and amenities, however the Barcelo Sants is a great value, and probably a second-best location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlienCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and found it to be clean and comfortable. room was a little stuffy and hot in the eve. but beds were comfortable and shower good. sightseeing made easy as it is directly above a metro and train station, major sights all accessable within a few metro stops. Cannot comment on the food, as we never ate in the hotel. reception service could be better, but would reccomend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I booked this hotel based on previous reviews and was not disappointed. The location is great and it is so easy to get about, with trains, metro, taxis and buses, including tourist buses, all a short walk away. The entrance to the hotel from street level is not particularly imposing or well sign-posted and at the time of our stay, the lifts were being repaired/replaced, but don't let that put you off. Once inside, the hotel is great. We had a 5th. floor room with great views from the full height windows, but we really appreciated the black-out blind to ensure a good nights sleep. Excellent service from all the staff we encountered, good breakfast buffet and we ate in the bar a couple of evenings and enjoyed the food. The rooms were also very well appointed, with good storage and an excellent shower. My only comment would be, after pounding the streets all day, I would have loved a bath to soothe away the aches and pains, but had to be content with sitting in the shower! The bed was huge and very, very comfortable. I would certainly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors give the best views of the city and our room away from the lift lobby, towards the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanewdonCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,781 reviews
Les Corts
NH Collection Constanza
NH Collection Constanza
#74 of 513 in Barcelona
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pol & Grace Hotel
#66 of 513 in Barcelona
929 reviews
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#120 of 513 in Barcelona
2,515 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#104 of 513 in Barcelona
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Sants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Sants

Property: Barcelo Sants
Address: Pl Paisos Catalans, Estacion Barcelona Sants, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#81 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Sants 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Sants reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Sants Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Barcelona
Barcelo Hotel Sants

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing