We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$157
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$128
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jazz(Barcelona)
US$197
US$184
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$145
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$225
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$144
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Sants Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$150
US$140
Torre Catalunya
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hesperia Sant Joan(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,271)
Filter reviews
4,271 results
Traveller rating
2,226
1,630
308
69
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,226
1,630
308
69
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationlas ramblasgreat hotelparal lelrooftop poolminute walkstayed here for nightstriple roomsmall poolmain roadbusy roadreception staffexcellent locationbooked this hotelcity breakclean hotelshort break
Filter
Updating list...
2,622 - 2,627 of 4,271 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

A great place to stay, very handy for the metro and within good walking distance to the ramblas and Gothic district.
The room was very pleasant, well decorated, good lighting, very clean and the bed was large and comfortable.
Breakfast was served til 11am which was handy if you wanted a lie in. There was plenty of choice of food.
It was my birthday and I was given a bottle of champagne - a very nice touch, thank you.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
There is a nice little roof terrace with a pool if you want to chill out.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Got a really good deal on Hotwire for this hotel and stayed three nights. Its location is pretty good. Ten/fifteen minutes walk to Las Ramblas and the harbour, and right by the funicular to the Miro-museum. However, if you like living right in the middle of it all - Universal might be a bit on "the wrong side" of Las Ramblas, and you might want to be looking more in the old town area. The metro stop however is literally ten steps from the entrance - with three-five stops to Placa Catalunya and La Sagrada Familia - so you can easily reach anywhere in a few minutes. The metro in Barcelona is well-labelled, easy to use, and comes highly recommended - a ten-fair card is about 10 euro - very cheap, and takes you anywhere.

Big bonus about this hotel is that you can also walk from the airportbus-stop at Urgell street in about ten minutes (or take subway one stop to half the distance). No need for a taxi - the bus is really efficient and convenient.

As for the rooms: modern, large, nice and great bathroom. No complaints at all. There is free wifi, and the staff was very helpful with printing boarding-passes. You might want to ask for a room facing outwards - we had one towards the back yard - and it gives little light in the room.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the street assures more light. And go for the metro!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHJTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thanks for your review! Very nice to read you liked our location, rooms and helpfulness of our staff. We are happy for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Would certainly recommend this hotel:
- Good location for attractions
- Right outside Metro stop
- Very helpful staff
- Rooms good size, modern and very clean
- Even opened breakfast an hour early to allow all the marathon runners to eat

Great place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoFrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you for your comments. Very happy to read you had a nice stay with us and you considered our staff helpful and our facilities very clean. Regarding your comments about opening the breakfast earlier for the marathon I am happy to see that some decisions we take have a positive feedback by our guests. Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

So...we had a few initial problems checking in (all these were our own fault i must say!) however on arrival at our room we had found we had been upgraded from what we had booked. The room was clean and tidy and throughout our 5 day stay i was kept this way by the fantastic cleaning staff. Free Wifi was brilliant as we managed to get all our information on where we wanted to go during our trip. The Breakfast was included in our deal and it was good, there was plenty of selection however i am aware that the price is usually between 9-15 euros i wouldnt want to pay that for it. the staff throughout were polite & friendly. the hotel is 10 mins walk from marina/ la rambla and 45 min walk to nou Camp..we did do a lot of walking as we prefer to see the city that way howver we did get a T-10 metro ticket which gets you travel anywhere for 10 journeys each of which last 75mins this INCLUDES to the airport! it cost just short 10 euro. the nearest Metro station is Paralel and is right on the doorstep of the hotel.
Fantastic few days we had a great time!

Room Tip: ask for room to back it's quieter
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you for your review! We used to have some complaints in the past regarding our WIFI network, due to them we decided to buy and install extra antennas in every floor of the hotel. Now we can proudly say that no complaints received from our guests about WIFI. The only comments we are receiving about it in the last 2 months are positive, like yours. It shows us that we took a good decision by listening to our guests feedback! Thanks for the rest of your comments as well. Thanks for your comments about our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed with Barcelona Universal in November, We made the reservation several months in advance and the hotel was fabulous. They even upgraded us to a suite which was lovely and inviting. The in-house restaurant was very good, but there are many other good restaurants within a short walk. It is an excellent location for Las Ramblas and shopping. The manager was very kind and even supplied a converter for my laptop when mine did not work with their electric outlet. We would stay with them again any time. They have many bi-lingual people at the desk, although I speak some Spanish.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the main street. The view is lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank revdrdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thanks for your review! We really appreciate your comments about our staff and location. Regarding the upgrade we gave you I must inform everybody who reads your review that it is something we only do when it is possible, unfortunately we only have 3 suites in the hotel and it is impossible to assign them to all our guests. Anyway we always try to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible in any way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews