We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Hotel in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Ranked #76 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed here with my son for a couple of days break in Barcelona and it proved to be a decent base for our trip. The room was pleasant and clean although not very large. Our window looked out on an internal courtyard rather than having a view of any kind. However, as we only used this as a place to rest between visits to the football (FC Barcelona vs AC Milan) and seeing some of the major Gaudi sites, this wasn't a major problem.

The location is good for public transport - the entrance to the Metro is directly in front of the hotel and there are several buses that go past. This made all of our trips very simple.

The breakfast was decent both in quantity and quality, and the staff pleasant and helpful.

There is a small pool on the roof (in which we had a brief dip - the temperature was not very warm!). There is also a small fitness room - I didn't use it but the equipment looked OK.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,943
    1,490
    275
    58
    30
See reviews for
637
1,986
81
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (709)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
york
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

A great place to stay, very handy for the metro and within good walking distance to the ramblas and Gothic district.
The room was very pleasant, well decorated, good lighting, very clean and the bed was large and comfortable.
Breakfast was served til 11am which was handy if you wanted a lie in. There was plenty of choice of food.
It was my birthday and I was given a bottle of champagne - a very nice touch, thank you.
The staff were helpful and friendly.
There is a nice little roof terrace with a pool if you want to chill out.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Got a really good deal on Hotwire for this hotel and stayed three nights. Its location is pretty good. Ten/fifteen minutes walk to Las Ramblas and the harbour, and right by the funicular to the Miro-museum. However, if you like living right in the middle of it all - Universal might be a bit on "the wrong side" of Las Ramblas, and you might want to be looking more in the old town area. The metro stop however is literally ten steps from the entrance - with three-five stops to Placa Catalunya and La Sagrada Familia - so you can easily reach anywhere in a few minutes. The metro in Barcelona is well-labelled, easy to use, and comes highly recommended - a ten-fair card is about 10 euro - very cheap, and takes you anywhere.

Big bonus about this hotel is that you can also walk from the airportbus-stop at Urgell street in about ten minutes (or take subway one stop to half the distance). No need for a taxi - the bus is really efficient and convenient.

As for the rooms: modern, large, nice and great bathroom. No complaints at all. There is free wifi, and the staff was very helpful with printing boarding-passes. You might want to ask for a room facing outwards - we had one towards the back yard - and it gives little light in the room.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the street assures more light. And go for the metro!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thanks for your review! Very nice to read you liked our location, rooms and helpfulness of our staff. We are happy for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Would certainly recommend this hotel:
- Good location for attractions
- Right outside Metro stop
- Very helpful staff
- Rooms good size, modern and very clean
- Even opened breakfast an hour early to allow all the marathon runners to eat

Great place to stay

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoFrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for your comments. Very happy to read you had a nice stay with us and you considered our staff helpful and our facilities very clean. Regarding your comments about opening the breakfast earlier for the marathon I am happy to see that some decisions we take have a positive feedback by our guests. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

So...we had a few initial problems checking in (all these were our own fault i must say!) however on arrival at our room we had found we had been upgraded from what we had booked. The room was clean and tidy and throughout our 5 day stay i was kept this way by the fantastic cleaning staff. Free Wifi was brilliant as we managed to get all our information on where we wanted to go during our trip. The Breakfast was included in our deal and it was good, there was plenty of selection however i am aware that the price is usually between 9-15 euros i wouldnt want to pay that for it. the staff throughout were polite & friendly. the hotel is 10 mins walk from marina/ la rambla and 45 min walk to nou Camp..we did do a lot of walking as we prefer to see the city that way howver we did get a T-10 metro ticket which gets you travel anywhere for 10 journeys each of which last 75mins this INCLUDES to the airport! it cost just short 10 euro. the nearest Metro station is Paralel and is right on the doorstep of the hotel.
Fantastic few days we had a great time!

Room Tip: ask for room to back it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your review! We used to have some complaints in the past regarding our WIFI network, due to them we decided to buy and install extra antennas in every floor of the hotel. Now we can proudly say that no complaints received from our guests about WIFI. The only comments we are receiving about it in the last 2 months are positive, like yours. It shows us that we took a good decision by listening to our guests feedback! Thanks for the rest of your comments as well. Thanks for your comments about our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed with Barcelona Universal in November, We made the reservation several months in advance and the hotel was fabulous. They even upgraded us to a suite which was lovely and inviting. The in-house restaurant was very good, but there are many other good restaurants within a short walk. It is an excellent location for Las Ramblas and shopping. The manager was very kind and even supplied a converter for my laptop when mine did not work with their electric outlet. We would stay with them again any time. They have many bi-lingual people at the desk, although I speak some Spanish.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the main street. The view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revdrdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thanks for your review! We really appreciate your comments about our staff and location. Regarding the upgrade we gave you I must inform everybody who reads your review that it is something we only do when it is possible, unfortunately we only have 3 suites in the hotel and it is impossible to assign them to all our guests. Anyway we always try to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I visited this hotel for my 40th birthday with a group of friends and we were not disappointed. The location of this hotel is excellent, easy walking distance to Las Ramblas and other main areas and the metro station right outside is a huge bonus. The metro service is excellent and great for getting around the city. The hotel was very modern and clean and my corner room was an excellent size with great views. We found the food and drinks to be very reasonably priced and the service was excellent. The staff in this hotel were great - very friendly and extremely helpful from the minute we checked in until the minute we left. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and bright with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thanks for your comments! We are happy you had a great time with us for your 40th birthday, it is always an special occasion and it is a honor that you chose us for it. Thanks for your comments about our staff, we consider the staff is the most important value we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,350 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#86 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Property: Barcelona Universal Hotel
Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#38 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing