We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a must....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Barcelona Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Barcelona Centro
Ranked #125 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“It's a must....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

First time to Barcelona, so wasn't sure what to expect.... but hotel was lovely, deserves a four star I reckon. Checking in was easy and straight forward, rooms was spotless. I love continental breakfast, so was really pleased with the hotels buffet that they put on. Mini bar was cheap, which was a surprise. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vixxy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    1,187
    241
    34
    19
See reviews for
424
1,119
90
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is the 2nd time for me to visit Barcelona, but the first time to stay in this hotel.
if you look for luxury and character, this isn't the place. But you will find a simple business hotel, clean and quiet, than bingo ! We didn't take breakfast on this hotel at that time.

We came to stay in this hotel end of May 2011 for 2 nights (just have the time to write it down now).
I came with my hubby and child (8yo). We got the room at extra bed, small balcony, and what we like is the hotel in the quiet alley, walking distance from the Areobus airport bus stop at Placa Catalunya and to Cathedral. The room was compact and didn't feel too cramp although we had extra bed.
The bathroom has shower and bath tub, complete amenities (hair dryer, toiletries)
We walked around the Barri Gothic, just not that far from the hotel. Lots of places to eat .. walk around 5-10 minutes to Picasso place, and still can walk until we reach La Musica de Palau and other market (not the one at the RA Lambra, forget the name already).
Just 2-3 minutes walk to La Rambla and we can walk down to beach and also to the Maritime Museum.

On our last day, we were rushing as we were looking for Caleum cafe around Barri Gothic. Got lost and we had only a little time to rush to Airport. Thank God that this hotel is nearby the Aerobus, .. so we could catch the airport bus on time.
If we have another chance to visit BCN again, definitely will return to this hotel.
Value for money, clean, quiet ...yup quietness which is something you will hard to find in Barcelona :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lileba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

The location of this hotel is a big advantage: a small pedestrian street (taxis have access) in the old town (Barri Gotic), not far from the Ramblas and the Placa de Catalunia, with lots of shops, bars and restaurants just steps away.
This is not a fancy boutique hotel, but an efficient predictable business hotel with well kept rooms (use of wood gives them a warm atmosphere), just ok in size. staff is cordial and very helpfull. I didn’t take breakfast in the hotel, as far as I saw the breakfast room on the first floor looks rather uninspired, as in most hotels of this kind.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Inside rooms will be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jglaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at this hotel from December 29, 2011 to January 5, 2012. Due to a leaking shower, we changed rooms from the 6th floor to the lst floor after one night. The second room was small with poor lighting however the bed and pillows weren't bad - much better than the London NH Kensington we had just come from. As to the decor, attached are pictures which speak louder than words.

The room was quiet and clean so no problem there but the ventilation was poor. After every shower, we had to open the window to let the steam out. The many amenities included a shower cap, soap, shampoo, conditioner, sponge and even a little pack containing a toothbrush and toothpaste. There were only a few English channels on the TV. The staff was polite and helpful. We didn't take the breakfast here but went out to some of the handy places close by.

It is easy to take the Aerobus from Placa de Catalunya to the Airport, which is only about an easy 5 minute walk from the hotel and only cost 5.3 euros. The location of the hotel is great - close to every attraction in the Barri Gotic, including the Cathedral and La Rambla. We bought a 3 day pass for the Metro which is the best metro system of anywhere we have ever travelled. Usually we only had to wait 1 or 2 minutes for the next train. Using our pass, we were able to visit the Sagrada Familia, Parc Guell, Placa Espanya, Montjuic and the Monestir de Pedralbes. For seeing Casa Mila and Casa Batllo in the Eixample, just walk past the Placa de Catalunya and north up Passeig de Gracia, not far at all. Barcelona is a great place to visit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AltaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you want a hotel with lots of character this isn't it. However if you want a clean comfortable room in a good location this hotel ticks all the boxes. The hotel is within a couple of minutes walk of Placa Catalunya (where the airport shuttle bus drops you off) and only 2 minutes walk to Las Ramblas. We didn't take breakfast at the hotel but there are plenty of cafes nearby for coffee and croissants.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debs593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Pluses: The rooms were spacious, bed was more than comfortable, linens and housekeeping was first rate, great location, fast and good room service options

Minues: Front desk was average or a little below

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusLeis45458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We go to Barcelona frequently and this time wanted a budget break. We normally stay up Passeig Gracia as we are happy to walk up and down. But we had less time and were arriving at about 7pm.

Chose the hotel based on reviews and were very happy.

Tthe location is less than 5 minutes easy walk from the Airport bus in Catalunya Sq. Walk down Angel and take 2 nd on right then first left and the hotel is on the RHS immediately.

We were offered a deal on breakfast but did tn take up (still 12E plus each) and we like to eat lunch.

The hotel was comfortable, the beds were really good and the room was quiet . Did nt get a balcony but outdoor patio , did get the requested high floor. only the soap was stingy it totally disintegrates and sorry but I don t like getting washed with a satsuma! Minor niggle as I always take soap.

Woud visit again and being central you can easily call in with any purchases rather than wearing yourself out!

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter. No internal patio so there is fresh air to all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ponymad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hesperia Barri Gotic
Hesperia Barri Gotic
#113 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#93 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,582 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#110 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#62 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#231 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#136 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Barcelona Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Centro

Property: NH Barcelona Centro
Address: Duc, 15 | Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Duc de la Victoria)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#95 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#113 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Barcelona Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Barcelona Centro benefits from a prime location right in Barcelona's Gothic quarter, the city's oldest and most historical area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your NH Barcelona Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duc De La Victoria Hotel Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
Nh Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing