We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location BUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #284 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The room was nice. We had a family room which great for our older children. The room were very clean. The breakfast was excellent with an assortment of fruit, meats and beverages. The location was great. However, it was very loud and close to a nightclub. Hords of kids in the street in the early morning hours celebrating the soccer win over Milan. Woke us up and went on for hours. The nightclub noise was a huge problem. At the hotels suggestion we dine across the street at the Restaurant Leone. The food was good but my son found a hair fried in along with his lamb chops! That ruined our dinner. Not impressed with our restaurant choices in Barcelona. Do some research before picking a restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0calY0cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments after your stay.
We appreciate you shared your opinion regarding our great Family Room as well as breakfast and location, we are glad you enjoyed them during your stay!
We also take note about all your suggestions; it definitely helps us improve enormously! Please, if you ever have the chance to come back to the TRYP Apolo do not hesitate to contact us and let us know your preferences, we will do our best to accomplish your expectations and requests!
Warm regards,

GEX Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,726 - 1,732 of 3,540 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

hotel very clean,location is excellent,staff very mannerly. one quibble though, no tea or coffee facilities in room!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvp60Dublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for leaving your comments after your stay, we love you enjoyed and shared our great location! If you ever come back please do not hesitate to let us know about your preferences such as the kettle within the room, we will kindly inform you about all our added services! It will always be a pleasure to share another TRYP experience with you.

Warm regards,

GEX Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

You will not get a better located hotel to all the tourist attractions Barcelona has to offer. It is a 5 minute walk to the modern Port Vella, La Rambla, maritime and historical museums, Plaza Catalunya (which is where all the tour buses set off from). We stayed for 2 nights room only from the 7th - 9th April. Whilst the hotel is comfortable, it is definately only a 2* + rather than a 4*. It is very basic and extremely old. The rooms are quite noisy also, lots of road noise. The interior is definately 1970's style. This is a shame as if the hotel is fully refurbished, no doubt this would be a jewel of a hotel. I would not recommend spending 18euro for breakfast either. There are hundreds of cafes within a couple of minutes walk offering english breakfasts and continental breakfasts alike for 5 - 10 euros and we found them to be excellent and value for money. Would stay here again if I was on a tight budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back o the hotel away from the noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asykes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The hotel has a nightclub for the locals. We stayed 3 nights
Apr 3-6th 2012. On the 1st night, we thought it was a one off and didn't complain. A continuous stream of youths shouting to each other from about 12.30 am all the way through, continuously until 6.00 am. When I looked out of the window at 5.30 am, there were approximately 100 youths standing around in groups, singing, shouting, revving scooters as well as a stream of taxis viing for their business and beeping at each other. Every time a wave of youths drifted off and it began to get quieter, a fresh batch emerged from the nightclub. When I spoke to the front desk, they just said that i should ring them if it happened again and they would call the police. The stream of sirens would suggest that every guest in the hotel had done just that. No apologies from hotel. They clearly make enough money from the nightclub to offset the aggravation from the hotel guests. We had no sleep on any night. If you're stuck here, insist on an inner facing room.

Room Tip: Get an inner room for less noise, higher floors are stuffier and hotter, we all paid the same but so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodlands H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay because we take them all into account and that helps us improve enormously.

We are so sorry about your unfortunate experience regarding the noise and we would love to inform you that the TRYP Apolo Hotel works completely independent of the nightclub and therefore obtains no benefits from it.
Our main goal is to guarantee our Guest’s satisfaction and we take all necessary measures in order to accomplish it. If you ever have the chance to visit us in a future occasion, please do not hesitate to contact us and we will do our best to assign you a room in the area you better like. We will be pleased to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

GEX Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

staff ordinary - Taxi from airport takes 20 euros so proximity to airport no advantage-rooms ordinary-service ordinary-resaturant ordinary.I do not know why one should stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nadeemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments after your stay. We will keep on working in order to improve our day to day service and take all your remarks into consideration. It will always be a pleasure to receive you back if you have the chance in a future occasion.

Warm regards,
GEX Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just returned from Barcelona where we stayed at the Tryp Apolo for 3 nights on a B&B basis. Overall the hotel was well appointed but in need of some modernisation as the reception in particular looked a bit dated. All the staff we spoke to were very helpful and the breakfast buffet was very good indeed. As previous reviews have stated the location for the main marina and Rambla area was great just a few minutes walk although we were warned not to take any shortcuts through side streets. Also only 25 mins from the Airport so no long and expensive taxi rides needed.

Our main concern was the noise from the road - we barely got a good nights sleep as the traffic and shouting from the streets and bars outside was very intrusive. Ask if you can get a room away from the main street if you want any peace and quiet....especially after Barcelano beat AC Milan!

Main downside

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay.
We take note of each point and will work on each one of them. We are also glad you enjoyed our staff and breakfast and please, if you ever have the chance to come back and visit us please do not hesitate to contact us so we can assign you a room on the area you better like!

Warm regards,

GEX Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The Hotel is situated within easy walking distance of Las Ramblas and 30 seconds away from the tube so easy access to everywhere

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not overlooking the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken on leaving your comments alfter your stay with us.
We are so glad to know you have enjoyed a great stay at the TRYP Apolo and we hope we will have the chance to receive you back soon!

Warm regards,

GEX Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#192 of 515 in Barcelona
2,585 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#107 of 515 in Barcelona
3,390 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#92 of 515 in Barcelona
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
2,298 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Grums Barcelona
Hotel Grums Barcelona
#195 of 515 in Barcelona
1,199 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#178 of 515 in Barcelona
3,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $119 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing