We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I expected more Wyndham-owned hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Ranked #249 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I expected more Wyndham-owned hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

I thought I was in an episode of the Twilight Zone. When I walked in the front door, I stepped into a hotel from 1980... and I don't mean quaint. The only thing that reminded me that it was the 21st century was the flat-screen TV. To be fair, the staff were very pleasant and accommodating. I felt pity for them to work in these conditions. However, the hotel needs a major upgrade. For the price, it was disappointing.

Room Tip: I asked for a non-smoking room and my room had many cigarette stains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay.
It is so useful for us to know our guest’s opinions in order to grow and improve day after day and for this reason we take note of all the points you mention.
We are sorry for your unfortunate impression regarding the atmosphere and at the same time glad you consider so positive our staff service.
Please note we remain at your disposal for anything you may need.

Warm regards,
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    1,354
    626
    190
    122
See reviews for
637
1,255
102
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My friends and I booked this hotel through the mystery hotel deal on Last Minute . Com

It may seem a little out of the way from the main strip, La Rambla, but it's actually really convenient (probably about a 6 minute walk). Also extremely close to the train station - literally right outside the hotel.

Careful with walking around the Rambla del Raval area. We mistook it for the La Rambla strip and almost got mugged. However, don't let that persuade you to book another hotel. The general area is safe and we only took one wrong turn to get to La Rambla to end up in the sketchy neighborhood. Simply ask the friendly staff to point you in the right direction and keep on going straight.

Other than that, good clean rooms and mighty good breakfast. Worth staying at.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors and more to the back will get you away from elevators and foot traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrumanTang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to leave them.
We are glad we accomplished your expectations and gave you useful advises for your stay!
Please note we remain at your disposal for anything you need; we are looking forward to share with you a new unforgettable experience.

Warm regards,


GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We recently returned from a four night stay at the Tryp Apolo Barcelona. I had been reading the reviews here for months and the consistent negatives were about the rudeness of the Front Desk personnel and the terrible noise from the nightclub. When we arrived, after a 14 night transatlantic cruise, we were greeted by an angel named Oscar. He was extremely kind, helpful, and informative. We told him our concerns about the noise at night and he gave us a wonderful room on the sixth (top) floor on the opposite side of the hotel from the nightclub. He also sold us tickets for two days on the HOHO bus which cost us 22E each using a senior discount. We enjoyed doing this and saw lots of sights. It was with Barcelona City Tours (the red bus, not the blue one), and I would highly recommend it.

Our room was on the side street next to the three big chimneys. We had a balcony (which I did not expect) and an amazing view. We could see all the way to the ocean with the gondolas going to Montjuic. To the left side we could see the statue of Christopher Columbus at the port, and to the right side we could see Montjuic and the Museu Nacional de D'Art de Catalunya (MNAC). Our first two nights were Saturday and Sunday and we heard no noise at all. We slept very well and found the firm matresses very much to our liking. We very much appreciated the safe in the room and left all of our valuables there while we wandered around the city.

Although we were offered a discount for the hotel buffet breakfast, we felt that 11E each was still beyond our price range, so we ate our breakfasts at Dino Pan across the street. It is a small coffee shop serving sandwiches, pastries, and wonderful cafe con leche. Thanks to everyone here for all of your recommendations, we used them all!

Our checkout was also very well done. We had prepaid the hotel and were checked out in less than two minutes by another friendly Front Desk person. Even the security guard was very friendly, always talking to us and wishing us a good day. There were always taxis waiting, and we easily and quickly got one to take us to the airport for our flight home.

Thanks to everyone at the Tryp Apolo Barcelona, we had a great stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor on the side opposite the nightclub to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viajes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay.
We really appreciate your nice words regarding our location, food and beverage and staff service. On behalf of all the TRYP Apolo team we would love to say thank you and let you know it will always be a pleasure for us to receive you back!

Kind regards,
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel was clean, hotel staff were polite if a little aloof. Our room was at back and was fairly quiet throughout the night.We booked through last minute and the buffet breakfast was included- this had a fair selection and set you up for the day.

The metro stop was right outside the hotel. Buy a T10- great for when you are hopping on and off the metro. We walked along the pier, La Catedral, La Ramblas,Montjuic (all walking distance from the hotel) and took the metro to La Sagrada Familia (amazing),Casa Mila, Camp Nou, Picasso Museum, Park Guell.

We took a train and metro from and to the airport- You can use the T10 for this.

All in all I would recommend this hotel due to the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpecialKM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay.
We are happy you had the chance to enjoy our variety of breakfast buffet products in order to start the day with energy!
Thank you so much for trusting us and for sharing with the world how good our location is, we remain at your entire disposal and will be pleased to receive you back any time!

Warm regards,
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockport, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Great Location and price! Expensive parking however for our rental. 18euro/day. Close to La Rambla square, only a few minutes walk, staff was friendly and helpful with info.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank truffulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments; it is so good to know you enjoyed your stay with us! We take note of all the points you mention and remain at your disposal for anything you may need. Thank you very much for trusting TRYP Hotels, you will always be very welcome!

Warm regards,

GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

i have just come back from 4 days in Barcelona, staying at the tryp Apolo. i read review after review and was quite dubious as to what i would find when i arrived. i shouldn't of been!!!!!!! to start with the reception staff were A1, very polite, spoke excellant english. informed us of the breakfast discount straight away (11 euro a day if booked then and there as apposed to 20 euro if you pay every morning) very very helpful.
Our room was clean tidy and more than adequate for 3 of us. the beds were made everyday and very comfortable. We did encounter noise from the nightclub which was right under our room but after asking to change rooms, within 10 minutes we had another room on the quieter side.
The bathroom was clean with fresh towels everyday and free complimentary products should you forget your own.
the location was fantastic, it is situated on a busy road but we didnt have any problem with traffic noise. La Rambla and the port were within a 10 minute stroll away. we even walked back up La Rambla with our cases to catch the airport bus.
we had tea in the hotel restaurant which was considerably cheaper than in the cafes around barcelona. ( 1.50 euro for tea and milk or 1.30 for coffee)
breakfast was a buffet style with lots of fresh fruit, cereals, toast and bread rolls, hot food. all friendly staff and clean.
how some people can give it a bad review is beyond me or they are used to top notch hotels of more than 5 star quality. i couldn't fault the Apolo on anything, fabulous value, brilliant location.

Room Tip: the nightclub next to the hotel could cause a few sleep problems if you are a light sleeper but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandrlewis2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comments about your stay.
We are glad you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast service and of course, our great location! It will be a real pleasure to receive you back any time and share with you an unforgettable TRYP experience in Barcelona!

Warm regards,

GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel is in a great local. 5 minutes walk from the port / marina and 5-10 minute walk from la ramblas. The rooms are nice and comfortable (No tea making facilities)
The hotel restaurant is not great and the bar area is not very welcoming. I had the buffet breakfast which was very good value. If you buy when you check in it is only £11 compared to the usual £22!
Free wifi also with a code form reception each day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments as well as for taking the time to leave them via Tripadvisor. Thanks to guests like you we are able to improve every day!
We are looking forward to receive you back soon!

Warm regards,

GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#70 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#206 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#83 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
NH Sants Barcelona
NH Sants Barcelona
#220 of 519 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#338 of 519 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,514 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel

Property: Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Montjuic , El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#154 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#195 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing