We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel!”
Review of Grupotel Gravina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grupotel Gravina
Ranked #249 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Booked this hotel before reading reviews and was quite worried as to what we would find when we got there after reading some reviews. Firstly, the hotel is in a great location, quiet side street and only 2 minutes from La Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya. The reception staff were very pleasant and accommodating.

We booked a basic double room and although it was on the small side it had everything we needed, was spotlessly clean and looked as if it had just been refurbished. Beds were comfy and maid service every day. Fantastic choice for breakfast.

No negatives, would definitely stay again and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    477
    158
    65
    33
See reviews for
219
416
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This is the hotel we selected for our second trip to Barça.

well, contrarily to the hotel we went to during our first stay in Barça, i will have no negative points to express for this one.

By the way , this 3 stars hotel costs us only 10 euros per day per person more than the 1 star hotel we booked the first time we came in Barça.
and let me tell you something : the breakfast is GREAAAAT.
Well , you cannot go twice , but as long as you stay in the breakfast room , you can eat all what you want.
The rooms are quite nice, some fresh painting would be a nice to have.

Close to everything : close the Plaça Catalunya , to "Las Ramblas" to Passeig de Gracia.

Staff people are friendly , providing accurate information, providing the cheapest ones .

when we will go back in Barça , we already know where we are going to go , we found our place : Gravina...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMZB5F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel and I have to say the staff couldn't have been any better. The location is brilliant just enough away from the really noisy street, but only 2 minutes from Plaza Catalunya & Las Ramblas.

The boys found it a real adventure trying to get to the hotel using different streets each day. Think we managed 9 different routes. The hotel was great value for money if you go direct. The hotel was very clean.

The buffet breakfast was fine and kids loved having chocolate donuts for breakfast.

We were in a triple room (Room 201) the view out back wasn't nice (kept curtains shut) but we only used the room to sleep in and a base. So many great places to see why would you even think of staying in?

Have already recommended this hotel to a friend going in April.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times and would recommend to anyone looking for excellent service, a clean room, buffet breakfast and unbelievable value for money.

I visited this hotel in January this year for my mam's birthday. Upon arrival our passports were photocopied so the staff must have seen it was my mam's birthday. After having a look around the city we returned back to our room to find a bottle of champagne and two slices of lemon drizzle cake with a birthday card from the hotel! This was such a lovely touch and my mam and I really appreciated it. My friend also visited this hotel last year for his 21st birthday and they did the same for him!

The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the top of la ramblas, which is ideal because its accessible without hearing all the noise at night. I have stayed directly on la ramblas before and I found it very difficult to sleep.

The hotel is very clean and the bathroom is really nice. The breakfasts are nice, with a choice of bread rolls, jam, bacon, eggs, cake, fruit, yoghurt, herbal teas. Again very clean surroundings in the eating area. Staff were very helpful.The hotel do amazing cocktails which are better and cheaper than the ones on la ramblas.

The only negatives I have with our last stay was that when we had a shower you could smell drains, which wasn't great but has only happened once to me at this hotel, so I am presuming it was a one off. The pressure of the shower is very light so it takes a bit longer to wash hair but no big deal.

We stayed for three nights and worked out that it was 33 pounds per night per person incuding breakfast, which is excellent! Will continue to come back to this hotel every year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful, however I would never return and would not recommend this hotel. The beds were solid and made for a very uncomfortable nights sleep. We woke up on two occasions to find the room stank of the sewers/drains although our windows were closed. Our hot water had next to no pressure so having a shower was a lengthy process, having a bath. Even longer. If you're looking for somewhere with a comfortable bath you can lay down in, don't come here. I don't think it was even 4ft in length. Food choice was very limited, breakfast was poor with jam that was as runny as water. Slightly suprised to see donuts offered for breakfast although I won't lie, I did have one for breakfast one morning. On arrival we were asked to come back at 1pm when our rooms would be ready. We came back at 3pm and our rooms were still not ready. We had to wait a further 30 minutes before we could get in. Brilliant location in terms of sightseeing as only just around the corner from the top of Las Ramblas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Libby3589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Just around the corner to the Plaza Catalunya with all its big stores, restaurants, bars and excellent transport links.
Very clean, welcoming, with efficient reception staff and perfectly acceptable breakfast included in the price!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its excellent location in Barcelona being a 5 minute walk to Catalunya Square and 100m to the nearest Metro. If you are taking the Aerobus from the airport (recommended), you can get off at Universitat stop and its a mere 100m to the hotel. We had a deluxe room on the first floor which had a separate sitting area but unfortunately had an interleading door to the next room so it was quite noisy. On arrival we were offered a welcome glass of sparkling wine. We were very pleasantly surprised by the good breakfast selection. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. There is a nice little bar area with a few dining tables where you can have a drink and snack. Two annoyances: the wireless internet did not work very well in the room; and there are very few coathangers and those are ridiculous ones that you can never get off the rail. However there's 2 pcs in the reception area and a printer which you can use anytime free of charge and there's a very good Chinese shop nearby if you want to buy some plastic throw away hangers. The beds are comfy and bathroom has power shower over the bath as well as magnifying shaving/make up mirror. There are two plug points in the bathroom to recharge your cell phone/camera/laptop.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not have an interleading door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank metromama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#218 of 512 in Barcelona
842 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#213 of 512 in Barcelona
528 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#177 of 512 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#132 of 512 in Barcelona
834 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#205 of 512 in Barcelona
472 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#173 of 512 in Barcelona
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gravina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gravina

Property: Grupotel Gravina
Address: Gravina 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly H10 Gravina)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Gravina 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Grupotel Gravina is located in a quiet street in the centre of Barcelona only 300 meters from the centre and the famous Plaça Catalunya, the nerve centre of the city. The Grupotel Gravina is a 19th century building that was refurbished in 2013 and has a façade listed as being of architectural interest.The hotel has two meeting rooms, one with a capacity for 44 people and the other for 55 people. Grupotel Gravina is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grupotel Gravina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gravina Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing