We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had to change hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gotico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gotico
Ranked #473 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had to change hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

There was some sort of problem with "water" - the guy in the reseption didn't speak English well - and we had to change to another hotel. The change was taken care of smoothly. The hotel is in excellent location but didn't look like that nice other wise.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank cityshopper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    125
    143
    101
    86
See reviews for
95
202
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The location was great, close to cathedral, quaint streets and bars, short walk to various key sights. The bathrooms need updating, sink and bath plugs difficult to fit, tiles need regrouting, aircon varible. The cleaning staff were friendly and always passed the time of day. Room cleaned well. The breakfast is not worth the money, even for a contintental breakfast it was not very nice. Coffee machine always on the blink, selection of poor quality cold meats and cheese, friut and orange juice was ok. Save yourself the money and eat across the road,where you can get nice coffee and pastries or at many of the other surrounding bars/cafes for less than you would pay for breakfast at Gotico. Apart from one young man on reception & the cleaners the staff were not very friendly and seemed miserable. Its location is its saving grace. No hotel questionaires were given out and I don't think they read trip advisor as I note these comments have been largely made before. Internet acess expensive at the hotel, only wifi available so u would need your own laptop, hotel ran out of allocation cards. If you need to acess a hotel computer you can't. There is an internet cafe near the picaso museum but it does not open until late morning or mid day, but its cheap and you can use the computers.

Room Tip: We did not select but had a balcononary view from the front of the hotel, this was quite nice but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolandroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

No wifi or even English tv channels,very decent breakfast. Needs refurbishing ASAP.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fedot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

After reading varying reviews about this hotel, but having to book a last minute 2 night stay to visit my son in hospital, I was a little apprehensive. I found the hotel to be very clean, the service was good, the location was excellent. The hotel is old so was shabby in places but painting was being carried out whilst we were there. The only down side was the noisy door system they have to enter your room! Will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somerset94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

We were moved to this Hotel because our original, Hotel Suizo was overbooked. As it happened this Hotel is 4 star (supposedly) and our previous was only 3. The Hotel is quite nice but not what you would expect for 4 star rating. No TV in the room, no tea/coffee making facilities, no bar facilities. Breakfast was just so with not that much variety, although you could have "bucks fizz". Rooms were clean and bed was comfortable. However, the noise was worse than terrible. It was like trying to sleep in the middle of a roundabout. Having said all of that the loaction was great. So close to shops, great restaurants and Las Ramblas. Reception staff were not that bothered or helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissiekite33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

Firstl, my apologies for this very late review. Time has slipped away. My partner and I took our first trip to Bercelona, Spain, late December 2010. This place was suggested to us by a travel agent friend here in Oslo, Norway. And all I can honestly say is if you are considering this hotel, do yourselves a great favour......don´t! I´m not sure if this establishment is typical of 4**** Catalanian style customer service (it´s really no more than a high 2 - 3 star venue at best). From the day we arrived until the day we checked we never felt so unwelcome and a hinderence. The only thing that this place has going for it is it amazing location in the Barri Gotic Quarter of this amazing city. The rest of the experience is just a haize of garish decor, lousy customer service, poor facilities, tacky ammenities and NO windows!!!! Not excatly what you would expect from 4****.

Room Tip: Can´t suggest anything other than choose wisely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OZMARKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

This OK is just ok; it is listed as 4* but it does not have WIFI or Wired Internet; there is no A/C and the room was very hot in January. The staff was very uninterested in their guests. I would not stay here again. The hotel is just ok to me it was most a 2* hotel. The TV was very small and the reception of the channels was very poor

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esaldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Gran Hotel Barcino
Gran Hotel Barcino
#451 of 522 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#254 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#274 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
#377 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#322 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Rialto Hotel
Rialto Hotel
#352 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotico

Property: Hotel Gotico
Address: Jaime I, 14, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotico 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gotico Barcelona, located in the heart of Barcelona, in the Gothic quarter, is a complete and elegant hotel. Just 2 minutes walk from the Cathedral of Barcelona, it has all the services you need for a perfect stay. Hotel Gotico Barcelona is next to the Cathedral of Barcelona and in the heart of the Gothic quarter. Account with excellent connections by public transport: very near La Rambla, 50 metres from Jaume I metro and surrounded by several bus stops that will help you to quickly reach the main points of interest of the city. In the vicinity of the most important monuments of Barcelona, Barcelona Gotico Hotel has 81 elegant, Soundproofed rooms with air conditioning and flat screen satellite TV. This spacious room has the same characteristics as the double and single rooms. He has a double bed and an extra bed (sofa bed or folding bed) for a third person. All rooms have air conditioning, heating, tiled floors, desks and a large room private bathroom complete with amenities and a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Gotico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotico Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing