We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, beautiful rooms, great staff”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #52 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, beautiful rooms, great staff”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I took my husband here for a surprise trip for his 30th birthday. The rooms were a really good size, they were stylishly decorated with excellent showers and really comfortably beds. It felt like the place had only recently been refurbished but I don't think it had.

The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, recommending some excellent places to eat and visit.

The only slight negative would be that this is about a half hour walk from a lot of the central touristy places but to be honest that was a bonus for us as it was nice and quiet in the evenings.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveagoodbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,792
    966
    180
    44
    22
See reviews for
457
1,647
130
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

i have just return from a 4 days trip to Barcelona and i was looking forward to write this review. I booked this hotel based on the reviews i have read and because it wasn't in the center of the city near to touristic areas and to be honest the hotel was the best choice of this trip. It is in a quiet area, near the metro station, a few good restaurants and bars are in the area where you can find only spanish people and not tourists. The staff can make you any resrvation for a restaurant or help you accordingly. The first impression when i arrived it was a cosy entrance and friendly staff (well done Manuel) the room was OK for single use (comfortable bed and pillows - clean - mini bar - big flat TV) and it was really quiet even it was near the elevator. The bathroom was clean and it had everything you may needed (the only thing missing in order to make it perfect was a pair of slippers), the shower was big and in marble. The breakfast was excellent, fresh fruits, a lot of choices and traditional mediterranean breakfast. The staff was also very helpful and kind. In the hotel there is free wi-fi connection so you can be online most of the time.

if you decided to book a room there, note that you can negociate for the price. I made the reservation on November and when i contacted them by email, they gave me -10% on the internet rate + -10% for early booking. Certainly i return back in U232 for a 2nd visit!

Room Tip: i have asked for a basic room in order to keep my budget low so the view was the fire exit but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irini_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Great hotel , very close to metro or only 10-15 mins walk away to main tourist areas. Rooms were of good quality and very clean. Service was excellent with friendly helpful staff. In business area but did have a few good restaurants nearby with lots of cafes for breakfast. Pleasant bar in hotel for early evening beer. Didn't eat in hotel so can't comment on food. Rooms were quiet so had good nights sleep. Definitely recommend especially when rates were so good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
137 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were thrilled to find this boutique hotel in Barcelona for a very fair price (including tripadvisor's 10% discount). It has all we needed: good location, cool décor, fairly sized rooms with comfy beds (and hairdryer), no noise, free wi-fi, tasty breakfast and friendly staff. An extra star goes to Manuel, from the front desk, who was very attentive and also gave us nice tips to discover Barcelona.
About the location: the hotel is in Eixample, which is a cool neighborhood in the center of Barcelona, but not packed with tourists. It is very near Metro Clinic, which makes it convenient to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have bathtubs, other don't. One of the twin rooms even had two fully equipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We enjoyed the peace and quiet of this hotel. Free internet/computer in their small business center. Requested and received very quiet room facing back. No view, but, more importantly, no noise. Attractive, very clean, smart looking. Hotel stored our luggage for a day before we officially checked-in. Located a bit too far from Las Ramblas to make the walk all of the time, but metro is a block away; most often it required a connection to our destination. About 1.5 blocks to food market, smaller version of La Boqueria. Definitely recommend if you don't mind being a tad away from the hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas. For us, that was a plus.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeTravel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Cool little boutique hotel that gives you bang for your buck. Staff are really friencly and there is a nice roof terrace on the 10th floor to sunbath on (went in Jan...not a good idea). Rooms are standard but clean and comfortable too. Went with business so it seemed nice and central. Would recommend more for business traveller, as it doesnt really have an abundance of facilities or spas etc you would want to spend too much time in (there is a small gym). Great little find however!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenTheophanous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Good value for a hotel that is located within the city centre. Rooms are soundproof, stylish, modern and well-equipped. Front desk staff are attentive and helpful. Breakfast is expensive but a cheap alternative can be found a block from the front door where students grab a quick bite before heading across the street to the Technical School. The neighbourhood is not particularly interesting but has what you need in terms of food and stores. The subway line is only a block away for easy travel to more touristic areas. If you want a good, economic stay within Barcelona the U232 provides it. If you are new to Tapas, be sure to try out Maitea which is just a short walk away.

Room Tip: U232 Rooms are good value. Don't be afraid to choose one opening onto the street, the soundproo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerdykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,784 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,657 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#76 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,793 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#84 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u232 Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing