We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
46
138
112
44
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
138
112
44
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gothic quarter budget hotel rooms are clean minute walk to la rambla hotel room cleaned daily barcelona cathedral small hotel ramblas quartier shaft cafes
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 367 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2015

This place makes my college dorm room look plush. The walls in my room (101) were battered, dirty, smudged and scuffed. The carpet and tile were worn but clean enough. The room had one full sized bed and two twins shoved together instead of the king bed requested. The twin beds roll quite easily too, so be careful of falling through the crack between the mattresses. The linens were clean, the mattress extremely firm. The noise from the street was excessive. All the click-clacking of footsteps down the alley both day and night were quite audible. The main entrance door is always locked and requires the desk clerk to buzz a guest in. This buzzing noise was quite loud in our room so the buzzing and door slamming and latching were obnoxious all night long. Something in the bathroom was leaking. We thought it was the toilet since it wasn't bolted down properly, but towards the end of our stay we decided it must be the shower. The huge puddles of water extended from the tub, past the bidet, past the toilet to the sink. We wore flip flops in the room the whole time to avoid possible toilet water on the floor. The room did not have an iron or ironing board and the receptionist was unable to locate one for us. The decor consisted of a couple of pictures attached to the wall with screws drilled through the front of the frame. The was one power outlet attached to the head board of one bed and one outlet on the light above the mirror in the bathroom. I would not stay here again or recommend it to even the most economical friend.

Room tip: Avoid room 101.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel El Call, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2015

Dear Customer,

We regret the perception that you had about hotel Call. For us, the customer's satisfaction is the most important goal.
In fact, we are always improving the hotel and service.
We will consider your comments for new improvements.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2015

Hotel Call exceeded my expectations. I had looked it up online and it's a 1 star, but to be honest the star rating is insignificant as you never know by which criteria they are rated, in room fridge perhaps?.

This is a little gem of a hotel, as good as any 4 star boutique hotel, It's clean, quiet and very central to all that is happening in this beautiful city. Even better, the free wifi is fast and you can connect in your room.

Minutes from the famous Ramblas and some of Barcelona's best shops cafes bars and restaurants.

My room on the third floor was quiet and very comfortable, despite overlooking the street. It was en suite with a powerful shower. There is a writing desk, nice art work on the walls and good lighting. All of this for just 25 Euros a night! You would pay that for a bunk bed in a hostel dormitory.

Front desk staff are very helpful, the morning receptionist went out of his way to help, even looking up maps of locations for markets or restaurants or places I wanted to visit. Staff speak perfect English.

The hotel is close to all of Barcelona's tourist attractions. I can recommend a visit to the Gothic Basilica Merce in Plaza Merce, it's a stunning example of 15th century architecture.

In the same square is a charming little Catalonian cafe also called Merce which serves one of the best value lunches in Barcelona. For 9 Euros you can feast on three courses of delicious local fare, soup, fish and desert with coffee and wine included. Incredible value.

Breakfast of delicious cafe con leche with a toasted cheese and ham sandwich is just 3Euros. Avoid the rip of well known tourist haunts with their 'celebrity chefs'. you will eat far more deliciously at little cafes such as this where food is prepared with love and a passion for real cooking.

I would recommend the Hotel Call and would definitely return her on a future visit. There is so much to see in this beautiful city and a week is not enough. The beach during the summer months has to be one the major reasons to visit. Even during winter months it's beautiful when the sun shines and locals are enjoying the ocean waves surfing.

Room tip: We liked our room on the third floor, clean and quiet.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Jeanclaude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Dpt.Marketing at Hotel El Call, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2015

Dear Customer,

We are pleased to see that your stay with us has been as enjoyable and satisfying as you expected. Also we are pleased to know you enjoyed one of our rooms and it fulfilled your expectations.
your comments about our staff are welcomed and have no doubt that it help us to improve every day.
Hope to see you in your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards.
Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Great location 3 mins walk from Las Ramblas. Located on a little alley surrounded by nice shops. Though it can be a bit creepy at night with scary looking people wandering around. We stayed for 3 night.. Perfectly safe though. The room was quite small.. I guess the room with twin beds got much bigger space so if you got choices go for twin beds!

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Maewmii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel El Call, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see you again very soon in Barcelona.

Best regards.
Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2014

I stayed there twice this week, perfect location with easy access to Rambla and other key areas, great for somewhere cheap to sleep if that's all you need,
Towels provided,rooms are clean, beds are comfortable.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hollandnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel El Call, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2015

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are pleased that enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we hope to see you soon,

Kind regards
Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2014

Went October 2014. Hotel was located very close to Las Ramblas. There were many shops and restaurants near the hotel.
Hotel was clean, but rooms were very small. Great price. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast. Only thing I thought was strange was when you left the hotel you had to leave your room key with the staff. Other then that it was a great stay. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank serra018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lydia U, Marketing Department at Hotel El Call, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, and we hope you stay with us in your next visit to Barcelona, please return to our hotel, which will surely assist you better than we have attended.

Best Regards
Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews