We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overvalued”
Review of Kabul Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kabul Hostel
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hostel is placed at an amazing area, in front of a Plaza Real, easy access to tube stations and everything. On the other hand, I can't agree that's a clean and organized place. The bathrooms are filthy, all the toilets were disgusting every time I had to use them. It's a challenge to bring your stuff to the toilet for a simple shower, you have only a hanger to put your clothes and towel to separate them with the wet floor.
The rooms are another issue. the bed sheets weren't clean, there was lot of dust, and you just don't have ANY socket! So, if you want to charge you phone, you must leave it on the reception.
It's a hostel, not a hotel, but I've been to better and cheaper places around, i don't think they worth its price, it should be half of it to be a good value for money.
The staff is really kind and nice, and the parties they promote are a great positive point here, but you can also have party anywhere in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thiago_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 969 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Kabul is lively friendly inviting clean and as far as I can say very safe, as long as your careful! Don't leave cameras or phones on show ( thats silly) don't go if u wanna sleep much go if u want to party! Staff are amazing and the venues they take you too are cool! The walking tours are fantastic I would defs advise that on a sunny day! I learnt an incredible amount! Visit the kabul of ur looking to meet others and are up for a party! Location is great! In fact I wanna go back :/

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurengalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Kabul hostel is a big 240 person hostel, locared in the centre of downtown Barcelona. Plaza Reial is beautiful, so the location is perfect. The lobby and common area/bar of the hostel is very promising, with nice full sized pictures of the city on the wall, and green lighting. But unfortunately these, and the nice rooftop terrace are the only good things about the hostel. Let's start with all the bad stuff: we stayed for 5 days in a 2 person room. When we entered the room, we couldn't believe what we've seen. The room was about 4,5 sq meters, with a horrible metal bunk bed (?) and a big metal safe. We had a small window looking onto the inner yard, which was about 3x 4 meters wide, and the top of it was covered with glass on the 5th floor. Which means that the quality of air and the amount of oxygen in the air was way less then the normal amount needed to BREATHE. An i'm not exaggerating. So basically even with the window open it was impossible to get a nice rest or sleep, not even mentioning the constant roaring, singing and shouting of the other guests, who seemed to stay at the hostel all-day, every day. (?).on the first day we couldn't sleep because ofa loud beeping noise coming from the yard. After it finally stopped, it was swapped by the disgusting smell of sewage. So the only option left was to breathe that used-sewage smelling air, or to drown due to lack of oxygen if we chose to close the window. Anyway. Unhelpful staff, no air to breathe, small, uncomfortable beds, and rooms, annoying guests.. Avoid this place! Its only gonnna be good for you if youre alcoholic, drug addict, blind, or if you cant smell anything.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The hostel is located in Ramblas, full of bars and restaurants and also near Plaza Catalunya and Puerto.
From the airport you can get a bus and get off at Pl. Catalunya and just walk down Ramblas for less than 10 minutes.
The hostel itself is ok.. mixed feelings.. my friends and I stayed in a 4-bed bedroom, which was really really small. It was ok because we all knew each other, but If I had to stay there with others, I would not like it.
They say they have free wifi, but my friend was having trouble all the time to connect..
And bring your own towel.. they charge 10 euros for a terrible towel!
Positive: the bar is always full, they have happy hours where you can get two beers for 1, free dinner (I didn't eat myself, but seemed ok), list for free entrance at clubs, and location, of course.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carla_Tanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

the best hostel to stay in barcelona if you're doing an eurotrip with friends. great location in the gothic neighberhood, a really touristic place, with a pedestrian street that ends in barceloneta. A really big bar, good nights even in winter and great pub crawls.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This is a party hostel, if you wanna sleep a lot and stay sober don't go there. I had an amazing time there, the rooms are clean also the bathrooms. There is a free breakfast and dinner, free wifi and a rooftop. The beer is very cheap also, people are very friendly and they go party every single day, and make sure u are not going to pay for the entrance at the club. And it is located on the Plaza Real, witch is very good located, so close to the metro and the Las Ramblas. I'll be back! :D

ps: I stayed at the 24 ppl dorm and it was very nice!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAdddictedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is NOT the place to go in Barcelona if you want to sleep well and see the sights of the city, have an afternoon nap, go for dinner and bed early.

It is however; bustling with life, has free dinner(not huge but FREE) and breakfast, nightly pub crawls and cheap tap beer. The staff are friendly there are storage lockers and the rooms are reasonably secure (magent keys)

Great location on Placa Real so near the Zoo, the beach, the main area.

Definately a place to meet people and have fun.

Room Tip: rooms away from the front of the building are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ches81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#31 of 735 in Barcelona
426 reviews
Montjuic
Hostel One Paralelo
Hostel One Paralelo
#26 of 735 in Barcelona
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Black Swan Hostel
Black Swan Hostel
#23 of 735 in Barcelona
378 reviews
Eixample
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
Sant Jordi Hostel Rock Palace
#38 of 735 in Barcelona
304 reviews
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#4 of 735 in Barcelona
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kabul Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kabul Hostel

Address: Plaza Real 17, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $20 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kabul Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabul Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing