We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK if you want to stay in Las Ramblas, but beware before booking” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Ranked #338 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“OK if you want to stay in Las Ramblas, but beware before booking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Having never been to Barcelona before, my wife and I decided we wanted to stay where the action is on Las Ramblas and decided to stay here for 2 nights. Well, lesson learned. While it was our bad for wanting to stay in Las Ramblas, which is fun for a quick stroll but not the best of what Barcelona has to offer in our opinion, the hotel was effectively a glorified hostel with a bathroom. The room and beds were small. It cost 1.90 euro a night to use the safe (and it was a safe with a key, not a digital code, and thus not instilling a tremendous amount of confidence). The housekeeping didn't even bother to bring us more soap when they made the room up our first night there. The bathroom was old and not the cleanest, and the shower sprayed water all over the floor (the room itself wasn't as bad). Nor was there wifi in the rooms (thought there were free internet connected public access computers in the lobbies). But the biggest problem is that the noise from La Rambla (including the bell chimes nearby) were extremely loud from our room. The staff were friendly and I realize the problem was mostly mine for wanting to stay in Las Ramblas, but nonetheless I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hanibatutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Gerente at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear guest

Thanks a lot for taking your time and rate us on tripadvisor, your comments help us to improve our service and motivate us to continue in the best way to customer service.
We are really sorry for your negative experience in Las Ramblas, from the hotel we are working to change aspects to the rooms, for example we have changed some things on the standard rooms like the screen showers, the floor and the curtains; furthermore we are working to change more things of the rooms to do it the best place to stay for our guests.
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment.
Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    268
    109
    45
    58
See reviews for
91
325
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was here again in November 2011, this time with my husband; we came to visit our daughter that lives in Barcelona now. The hotel staff was very helpful and gaves us an upgrade,
our room was again a corner room and we had a view to Las Ramblas; the room however was
not noisy, I think they have soundproof rooms! Beds are very comfortable! The rooms are large
and modern. The bathroom is quite modern and has a separate double shower spa-like setting! There is free WIFi in the room. There is also a computer on every floor with free WIFI you can use, in case you forgot your computer.
The buffet breakfast again was great!, I love to sit outside in the balcony and see people walking by in Las ramblas while I sip my coffee! Location is great, a few steps from the Metro Liceu,
La Boqueria market, and of course across from the great Liceu Opera House!
Loved the walking tours in Barcelona at Travel Bar!

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger and have a view of Las Ramblas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Estela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Gerente at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time and rate us on trip advisor,
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue in this way and of course I will show that review to all the hotel staff.
We hope you spent a great time in Barcelona and to see you again.
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

This "hotel" is not even as good as a hostel. If you chose a 'basic' room (at about $200 a night!) you will get a closet sized utilitarian room with no phone, no access to an ironing board, dirty floors, and a litany of other disgusting issues. The photos they show on the website are for the highest priced room ONLY and that room only comes with two twin beds pushed together. All other rooms do not have any decoration let alone anything close to what the website shows. I had to complain forcefully to get an upgrade. I am sitting in the 'superior' room right now and it has a stench similar to urine cakes. The floors are dusty and the bathroom wall has hair stuck to the tiles. I have switched rooms twice now and the issues are the same. Don't expect to take a nap when you get here either. There is a constant pounding, scraping, and other banging noises going on without pause. The location is great but the stench is nauseating. DO NOT RENT IN THIS "HOTEL"

Room Tip: If you want a good room rent somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel itself is very pleasant. staff friendly, rooms big enough and clean, decent breakfast, free water and wifi, nice roof terrace overlooking the ramblas, 24 hour security. Location wise, it is very centrally located on the rambles, close to the fantastic boqueria (indoor market) and plenty of good places to eat.

The downsides of the hotel are actually nothing to do with the hotel at all, just the fact that it is on the rambles, which is home to some of the most inventive thieves in Europe, particularly noticeable in the evening. I have never been to Barcelona without hearing of someone getting mugged or robbed in some way. You should be ok if you are aware of this, hold on tight to your stuff and don't go wandering around drunk on your own at night.

To stress again, this is nothing to do with the hotel, just the Ramblas area in general in the evening. It is actually quite entertaining seeing the world go by on the Ramblas at night from the safety of the hotel roof terrace. Don't let this put you off though, Barcelona is a beautiful place full of incredible architecture, art and food...

Room Tip: Try and get a room above the 3rd floor - a little quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatcontroller1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your value time and rate us on trip advisor,
Such comments are the best reward for us and I will show that review to all the hotel staff which it will encourage us to continue in this way.
From the reception we try to make our best to reduce your negative feeling. Centers of big city are sensible to this issue but a lot of police appear to be on top of the problem.
Furthermore, from the terrace which is opened to the guests you can enjoy with the views facing to the one of the most popular avenues around the world, Las Ramblas.
We hope you spent a great time in Barcelona and to see you again.
Thanks again for your review
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I visited this hotel after high praise and recommendation from a friend. I think my friend must have been in a superior room, as I was very underwhelmed by our room.

The room was tiny with 2 single beds pushed together, nothing holding them in place, so if you rolled over you could fall down the gap in the middle. There was no full length mirror or chair at the desk to sit on.

I paid £227 for 3 nights, I have stayed in better for less.

2 redeeming features: excellent location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesFrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your time and rate us on trip advisor,
As you have explained, maybe your friend stayed on a superior room which is more expensive than standard rooms. The standard rooms are smaller but we are working to change aspects to the rooms, for example we have changed some things like the screen showers, the floor and the curtains.
To satisfy our guests, when we have available superior rooms we offer an upgrade when it’s possible.
We have rooms with double bed and twin beds, which size is the normal size for the single beds (0,90 m).
About the rate, we don’t have the same rate all the year, depending on the season we have a different rate.
Thanks again for your review, which will help us to improve.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Stayed here for four nights during a conference. Location, room, and service all were close to perfect.
The hotel is located more or less in the middle of La Rambla. It is a 5-10 minutes walk from Plaza Catalunya where the airport bus stops. There is a Metro stop right outside. Walking to the Fira convention center takes less than 30 minutes. The old town around the hotel has lots of great bars and restaurants.
The room was large with a view of both La Rambla and some side streets. Despite facing La Rambla it was very quiet. The hotel seems newly renovated. It is quite stylish and has relatively high quality materials.
The service was great, from check-in through bar service to check-out. The free wifi is good and there are computers available for use.
All in all a very good hotel. Will be my choice in Barcelona for future trips.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large, higher floors likely more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Husa_Barcelona, Director de Recepción at Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear guest
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time and rate us on trip advisor,
Such comments are the best reward for us and encourage us to continue in this way and of course I will show that review to all the hotel staff.
As you have explained, the location to our hotel is the best place to visit Barcelona. We have the metro station just in front of the hotel, and if you prefer to walk, in five minutes you will arrive to Catalonia Square, where you can take the Tourist Bus, the train or the metro. Furthermore, next to the hotel there are the Gothic area, where you can taste the best tapas of the city.
The street is not noisy due to the rooms are soundproofed, essential on the area because it’s a very crowded place.
We hope you spent a great time in Barcelona and to see you again.
Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comment.
Best regards
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#203 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
El Raval
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#220 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
El Raval
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Moderno Hotel Bcn
#332 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#105 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#319 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Barcelona House
Hotel Barcelona House
#279 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool

Property: Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
Address: C/ Ramblas 78-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Internacional Cool Local Hotel)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona, right in the Ramblas and within the city's historic downtown,.Hotel Internacional allows you to enjoy the city's most vibrant hide-out: in the middle of las Ramblas, in front of the refurbished Gran Teatro del Liceu and the well-known Mercado de la Boquería, and just a short distance from the Olympic Port.The Hotel Internacional offers you modernity, design and comfort. Its inner rooms and courtyard spaces are relaxing and welcoming with a fresh, modern ambiance.The rooms, totally equiped has been renovated with an elegant and modern decoration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Cool Local Hotel Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Husa Internacional
Husa Internacional Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing