We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hostel in the middle of the action!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hostal Residencia Rembrandt
Ranked #617 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The hostel is situated in the middle of the Old Town, which is perfect as a starting point for shopping, visiting museums, restaurants and taking the metro. The hostel has a very friendly staff working there, they were flexible and did not hesitate to help us with what we needed. The rooms were tidy and varied in size, but clean and serve their purpose (sleeping!). Since you will be busy with exploring BCN you won't have much time to stay in anyway. I strongly recommend this hostel if you want to stay in the city centre and are happy with regular standard rooms without any extra facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekdahlsofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2011

In a great location but poor value for money. Even though we visited at a busy time, I expected the room to look something like the pictures! Our double room was small, floor tiles were cracked, door wouldn't stay shut, bed was rickety and bed covers old. Uninvited visitors woke up guests at 6am and were not evicted for 2 hours!
Considering we paid 110 Euros for a double and 65E for a single with no bathroom, I expected much better. We have been backpacking in Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos so are used to basic. This was worse than most we have stayed in.
However the concierge was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while in Barcelona on a moderate budget. I guess I expected a little more from a european hostal, especially since friend's of mine have stayed in some truly fantastic ones, however this was a slight disappointment. The location was perfect right in the heart of the barri gothic, however from the photos on the website I expected a little more. Our room had 2 small beds (which more like cots) and a small balcony overlooking the street (which was cool). The bathroom was quite a put off. The hook that you put the shower handle in to take a shower was broken. The sink drain was very slow and didn't smell great. In it's defence, the wifi worked great and was sufficiently clean, still not really worth the $75 Euro we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WLF_2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostal for 4 days. We only booked flights which was a bit of a gamble, however when we came accross this hostal everything turned out great and we had a fantastic stay. It was our first time in Barcelona and our first time staying in a hostel. At first we weren't keen at the thought of staying in a hostal as we didn't like the idea of sharing a bathroom but this turned out to be fine and would definately stay in a hostal again. It was very basic but all you need for a few days stay to explore Barcelona. Room was clean, the hostal over all was very clean and Kamal who is there to greet you at Reception was lovely, very helpful and made us feel welcome. The location of the hostal was great, two minutes from Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. we would definately go back to Barcelona as we both loved it and I would definately stay at this hostal again, brilliant location, cheap for our budget, very clean rooms plus our room had a small balcony so I would definately recommend this hostal if all you're looking for is a place to get your head down at the end of a night from exploring Barcelona. Enjoy your trip:)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinabubalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable room and bed. Our room had a small balcony with street views for people watching. Cheap Internet access with public computer. Free wireless for own laptop. The usual noisy drunk boys at 3 am but earplugs solved that problem. Shared bath was clean and usually available. Steps away from the Rambla and Metro on a quiet side street. Within walking distance of many points of interest.

Beware of pickpockets on the Metro!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Hostel Rembrant was a nice place to stay in Barcelona old town, double room we got was silent one. Location is very good - a few meters to one side - main Rambla street, and to other one - Cathedral. The staff of hostel was very nice one, especially mentioning receptionist Kamal.

Greetz!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raimix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

All said in the first sentence. Do not expect anything from this place more than from a hostel. Quite cleen. But 45 euro for a room with no window, no air and typical Barca summer heat is too much. There was also a stupid lift right near the bed wall, very noisy and a glass door from which the light from a toilet or bath was coming though right on the pillow. So you sleep like under a spotlight. It was not the price/quality that i expected... would never recommend anybody...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank set0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#434 of 515 in Barcelona
165 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#30 of 735 in Barcelona
426 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostel Fina
Hostel Fina
#83 of 735 in Barcelona
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
Guesthouse Barcelona Gotic
#14 of 307 in Barcelona
571 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Excellence
Hostal Excellence
#166 of 307 in Barcelona
58 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Barcelonastuff Apartments
Barcelonastuff Apartments
#493 of 735 in Barcelona
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Residencia Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Residencia Rembrandt

Address: Puertaferrisa 23 | Junto Ramblas, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #617 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $61 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Residencia Rembrandt 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Residencia Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Residencia Rembrandt Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing