We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,920)
Filter reviews
1,920 results
Traveller rating
1,002
762
122
23
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
762
122
23
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool las ramblas great location drassanes metro station vending machine modern hotel el raval key card sun deck palau guell stayed here for nights family room top floor your luggage small pool hotel breakfast would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,920 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had such mixed feelings about this hotel. There are many good points to make. The staff were extremely friendly and willing to help. We arrived very early off a cruise and were given a room immediately allowing us to enjoy a first entire day in Barcelona.
The location of the hotel is convenient to many attractions and quiet enough. Unfortunately it is also in a dirty smelly area with many many homeless people. We did not feel safe outside after dark.
The room is spacious for Barcelona. It is also the most minimalist room we have ever had. There are no amenities at all. No shampoo or lotion etc. Just a wall pump for soap. The towels are a bit gray and rough. The bed is very hard. We were on a non smoking floor but smoke from the rooms below seeped in to our room at night.
Breakfast was excellent with fresh food and a great selection.
The view from the pool is amazing.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ontario_Sun_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review and for your constructive criticism.

We have to thank you for your nice words that you had for our staff, it will be a pleasure to share your comments with them.

Regarding the homeless people sleeping on the street of the hotel, the hotel management is working tirelessly on this issue and we all hope this problem will be solved.

In addition, we are happy to know that you appreciate the amazing views that we have on 11th floor, where the plunge pool and bar are.

Furthermore, thank you for informing us about the bed. After checking it carefully, it has been replaced, so thank you for mentioning that.

Finally, please note that we will take all your comments for furture improvement, and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back next time you come to Barcelona.

With kind regards,

Andante Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

I went here as part of a surprise trip from my boyfriend. I absolutely loved it! Excellent hotel with a lovely pool on the roof to overlook Barcelona.

The location was great and it was in walking distance of everything.

The room was lovely and spacious and very clean and the breakfast spread was so good - there was a great range and choice!

I would definitely recommend and I'd stay here again if I was to go back to Barcelona. My brother has booked to go here in October this year on the basis of my experience.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Quice12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review and compliments to your boyfriend for the nice surprise.

As you rightly said, the hotel is close to la Rambla and all main attractions, so this make us the perfect location to start exploring the city.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast! As you know, it costs 14€ per person and day but we use to have special deals and offers depending on the length of the stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming your brother! Please contact us with more details in order to know who is he.

With kind regards,

Andante Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

On arrival we met with reception staff who checked us in, they were very professional, helpful and accommodating.

The rooms were Minimalistic but functional, there was a lovely clean aroma in the room as was throughout the hotel. Beds were very comfortable. The room was very clean as was the shower room.

No Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room which is a great shame. A small fridge is needed as I had some medicines that needed to be refrigerated.

A safe is provided at no extra cost, all hotels should be adopting this policy!

Breakfast was presented well with plenty of choice. However, with a family of five it did work out a little expensive. So, after day one we had breakfast out.

Would I use the hotel again or recommend it? Yes I would! It was about five or 10 minute walk from La Rambla ideally situated for us.

Andante - Keep up the good work!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Douglas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Andante Hotel.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our level of cleanliness and room layout. Make sure that your feedback will be shared with our entire team to ensure that we continue to meet our guest expectations.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast. It is true that for a family of 5 it can get a little bit expensive, but for only 14€ per adult and 7€ per child we offer a large variety of fresh and eco products according to our slow food breakfast.

Once again, thank you very much for your nice review and for recommending Andante Hotel. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back next time you come to Barcelona.

With kind regards,

Andante Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

On arrival to the hotel the reception staff are very helpful, check in process was quick and good, very informative. We stayed on the 3rd floor, with a terrible view of some run down flats and not a lot else.

The rooms are decorated very nicely and everywhere is kept immaculately clean, but the rooms are extremely basic - a bog standard hard mattress on a bed, very poor lighting (as the hotel goes under the falsetto of being Eco), a desk and a cheap plastic chair. The bathroom/shower is reasonable, albeit the toilet is practically in the shower. The cleaning staff/maids are prompt and do a fantastic job.

The biggest missing point which should be a basic in ANY hotel - each room or hotel should supply as a minimum, bottled or drinkable water. Or a kettle! - the room misses this majorly and the only option you have here to get any drinking water is at breakfast or at 1 euro per bottle from a vending machine downstairs.

To quote the hotel being Eco - if you do use the vending machine for hot water (the only free item available from the vending machines) it supplies a very small paper cup full... and a PLASTIC stirrer per cup. So much for reducing plastic waste... eco?!

Breakfast is good in parts, but barely any variation - overly cooked thin bacon, sausages (sometimes replaced with some kind of chicken stew... for breakfast?!), scrambled eggs, courgettes - every day - (is this a Catalan thing?), and then cheeses, cooked meats, fruits, fresh yoghurt, honey, cereals and a fantastic fresh range of pastries which really were superb. The staff presenting and cooking breakfast are very friendly and well mannered.

Don't be fooled by the various instagram pictures of the rooftop infinity pool - it is tiny, and rather awkward with about 20 loungers surrounding it. The rooftop is very crowded. The "pool" is basically there for Instagram shots which make it look better than it is. #fakenews.

The gym is even worse, fair few number of cardio machines cramped into a room all facing the same direction - a mirrored wall... but critically, not a dumbbell in sight, no free weights. Can hardly call it a gym.

The location of the hotel is decent (apart from the high number of pick pockets and petty thieves waiting for you on the roundabout outside the hotel entrance- watch your pockets/bags!), 2 minute walk to the metro, about a 15 minute away walk from the beach, and 10 minute walk to La Rambla. You can cover most of the city from this location quite easily over say a long weekend. Just don't leave any spare days planned to stay at the hotel!

To summarize, excellent staff, massively overpriced hotel - in a good location, severely lacking in basic (free) amenities. Look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms on the higher floors (maybe 9 and 10) give you a better view than the run down flats on the third floor...
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinuBari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Andante Hotel during your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with other users on Tripadvisor.

We are very sorry to know that the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Be sure that we will take your comments into consideration for further improvement.

Thank you very much for helping us with your review and please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

With kind regards,

Andante Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Chose hotel with proximity to La Ramblas but turned to be quite a surprise package with quality of rooms and staff being exceedingly friendly. Surroundings were dubious as close to La Ramblas but then had no incident to call out.

Room Tip: Try rooms higher than 6 floor for a view
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjeet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andante-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Andante, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Ranjeet,

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to know that our staff took care of you during your stay. It will be a pleasure to share it with them.

Regarding the area, as you rightly said, the hotel is close to la Rambla and all main attractions, so this make us the perfect location to start exploring the city.

We hope we can accomodate you in the near future!

With kind regards,

Andante Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews