We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Hotel Auto Hogar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Auto Hogar
Ranked #279 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Many corners cut to "upgrade" this hotel. Decoration in bathroom not finished and to poor quality. Room was dusty from decoration - I had to clean-up before putting clothes in wardrobe. Staff had a "don't care" attitude. No WiFi except in reception. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickRimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hot rooms, no A/C, could not turn off heat. Very dirty. Rude staff who did not care or even acknowledge complaints. Tiny rooms directly over a very busy avenue (traffic noise all night). Hard bed. No WIFI. My colleagues had an even worse experience with no water, no cold water, and broken pipes. Saw cockroach in breakfast room. I travel constantly and have stayed in thousands of hotels all over the world including Barcelona, but this is the single WORST of all! I would rather sleep in my rental car next time! AVOID! AVOID!

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sicnarfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel from Feb 26 - March 1st 2012 in tower 2. Upon arrival there was dirt and mud in my room and bathroom. Tried to call reception via a dusty phone but it was not connected. Window in bedroom opened into a closed courtyard so no fresh air. The aircon only blew out hot and smelly/dusty air, so that had to stay off as well. Impossible to open bathroom window as it fell out of its frame when you tried to. The fittings in the shower were loose and had been fitted in a hurry. On the first morning we only had hot water available so unable to shower. At the breakfast table my colleague had a cockroach crawling up his shirt. No internet in the bedroom, only in small area in the lobby. Staff completely reactive, unprofessional and not a single excuse or acknowledgement was uttered. My colleague told me this morning that there was NO water available in the hotel today. THIS IS THE HOTEL FROM HELL so pls avoid it like the plague. I struggle to understand how this hotel is allowed to operate in the first place and it should never have been recommended to us via the Barcelona Business Pass Website. EMZ, March 2nd 2012.

Room Tip: Avoid ANY rooms in this hotel (the new tower is just as bad as the old tower - minus the cockroaches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

There are no redeaming features of this hotel. Initially I stayed in tower 2 in room 328 on my first morning in shower the hot water tank exploded above me, I escaped but entire room flooded under 4 inches of water flowing out of room into lift shaft. I had to demand another room to finish my shower, I received zero apology from the hotel - the reception staff are the worst mannered people you will ever come accross .... Wifi only works in cramped reception area when moved from 3 star tower 2 to 1 star tower 1 you realise this hotel was built in the 70's and has same decor today. It is rumoured to be changing its name shortly - please if it wasn't so awful it would have been funny.

No hot water this list goes on - please don't let this hotel spoil your stay in one of the most wonderful cities in the world

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdyMoores999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

basic horrible room thro main hotel then across an underground car park! lifts dreadful. no amenities in room (tv/rugs etc) twin beds when double requested. tiny breakfast room with guests queueing on stairs to eat for 20 minutes + miserable surly waiting staff..............

Room Tip: avoid even if its a last resort if you like nice accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMLBRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We chose this hotel because of the location as we were going to a concert at Palau Sant Jordi and the price was very reasonable. The lady on reception was very friendly and offered us an interior room or one with a balcony. We mistakenly chose one with a balcony which was on the front and turned out to be very noisy. The room itself was very basic and could have done with minor repairs and painting, but it was clean. The bathroom door stuck from the inside which could have been a problem for a single person in the room.
We opted not to have breakfast. On checking out and paying our bill, the two gentlemen on reception were more interested in talking between themselves.
To be honest you get what you pay for with this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UtxiGirona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were a bit anxious before arrival having read mixed reviews about this hotel, however we needn't have worried - it was ok really. The underground secure parking was ideal for our motortrikes, but getting to it was quite difficult as the surrounding roads were so frantically busy even at 9pm! We could see the hotel, just couldn't find anywhere on street to stop in order to run in and get directions for the car park! Staff on reception were helpful and sorted out an error in our booking without a great fuss.
The beds were clean and we did not find them uncomfy, the bathroom fittings were not terribly new and the shower head would not stay on the wall but there was lots of hot water and the toilet flushed so we managed ok. We had air con which was a bonus as apart from cooling us it also prevented us hearing 'people' noise but our friends had no air con so had a disturbed night. We had asked for a quiet room and were given this - it overlooked a courtyard.
At breakfast we realised what a big hotel this is. This was breakfast on a huge scale and not particularly relaxing. The food was fairly basic and some people had to share tables. Supplies of juice etc kept running out and there was a short delay while supplies were replenished. On the plus side, this hotel is close to the ferries and main motorways out of Barcelona so it met our needs, even if it was the most basic hotel we stayed in during our 3 week tour.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
SERHS Del Port Hotel
SERHS Del Port Hotel
#166 of 515 in Barcelona
633 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Aranea
Hotel Aranea
#241 of 515 in Barcelona
958 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta Mimic
Hotel Acta Mimic
#211 of 515 in Barcelona
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#243 of 515 in Barcelona
1,314 reviews
Montjuic
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel
#284 of 515 in Barcelona
3,521 reviews
El Raval
Abba Rambla Hotel
Abba Rambla Hotel
#268 of 515 in Barcelona
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Auto Hogar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Auto Hogar

Address: Avda Parallel 64, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $108 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Auto Hogar 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auto Hogar Hotel is located in the most centric zone of Barcelona, 10 minutes walking distance to Las Ramblas Boulevard, the port and Plaza España, a place of celebration of fairs and congresses, filled with non stop fun and entertainment, the traditional theater’s area all around Paral•lel avenue, the beach, the Gothic quarter, restaurants and the Olympic harbor; all at walking distance. The Hotel also has a historic cafe / restaurant Café Español, a meeting place in the Paral•lel’s area. There is parking in the same building. In early 2013, it completed the refurbish of the 153 rooms in the Hotel, equipped with new stylish furniture, full bathrooms, climate controlled, direct telephone line and television, select rooms include private balconies with a lovely view of Barcelona. The meeting room Teatre, with capacity for 30 persons, where you can organize all kind of events, from business meetings to social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Auto Hogar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auto Hogar Barcelona
Auto Hogar Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing