We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,724)
Filter reviews
1,724 results
Traveller rating
323
691
391
151
168
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
691
391
151
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station las ramblas busy road star hotel buffet style city break cleaned every day shower gel hotel room min walk restaurants and bars small balcony tapas sagrada familia port paral euros
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,724 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely horrible stay! My husband and I were looking for a short break, and we booked this hotel as part of a deal. There is a very clear reason it was cheap - it's absolutely appaling. The reception is lovely when you first walk in, but that is it. The rooms are not cleaned daily or if they are, it is around 5pm when housekeeping comes to just pull the sheets up.
Simple things like a clean towel or toilet paper had to be requested and asked for.
At beakfast on our first morning, we went down at 10:15. We were not welcomed at all, and we were greated with a large sigh from the tall blond lady that sat us down, followed by " you only have 15 minutes". We thought this was acceptable as breakfast does finish at 10:30, however right on 10:30 she came and told everyone (including a chap that had just filled his plate up) "it's closed, you have to leave". The most rudest encounter I have ever had, and I have travelled extensively in my time all over the world!
Not to mention the false advertising of a sauna and spa-there is no sauna or spa, and the "cold room" is €10 per hour.... we are already staying at the hotel, facilities should be included.
Then the noise..... if it's not the house keeping slamming the doors while entering the same room 50 times (just to make the bed mind you) it is the constant traffic. I know this is not the hotels fault, but there are certain windows that can be installed to block noise out. And the air conditioning. ... the air con in our room was so loud and leaking.
As a positive, it is a great location.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank LisaW2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Hotel Auto Hogar, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear LisaW2140,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on your stay in our hotel.
We regret the negative experience that you had during your stay. The hotel was completely booked and it took the cleaning staff longer to clean all the room, we apologise for the inconvenience.
We have taken note of the comments on the maintenance, cleaning and breakfast and have passed them to the corresponding departments.

Best regards,


Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days as a break.

First of all the positives.-

Good location and good breakfast with plenty of choice.

Negatives-

I have stayed at budget hotels but this one has the poorest service I have ever experienced. The room was not tended to till after 5.30pm which was when we wanted to return to refresh and rest for the evening. When it was tended to it wasnt cleaned or serviced properly leading to us having to keep asking for clean towels,toilet paper and cups. Sheets were left on the bed dirty. The staff at breakfast were openly and rude to guests turning up after 10am when breakfast runs till 10.30 and hassled guest to leave. The Air con was very loud and rattled and dripped water in the room. The shower tray filled with water as he plumbing was blocked. No iron available to iron clothes.
The hotel is opposite a club so expect drunken shouting at 4 in the morning most mornings.
Overall the worst hotel I have stayed at. Noisy which you can accept due to location but very and bad service and poor maintenance. It's only positive is location so if you can find a hotel in the area I would avoid this one.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank woolley3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Hotel Auto Hogar, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Dear Woolley3132,

Thank you for leaving us feedback on your stay in our hotel. We regret the experience you had during these days that the hotel was full, and the cleaning staff took longer to clean the room. We are currently working on the improving the air conditioning and sound proofing of the room. We have also passed note to the breakfast staff of your comment.

Thank you and best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018 via mobile

Just stayed here 3 nights. Room clean, serviced every day, had fridge and also tea making facilities. Staff helpful and polite. Breakfast good and includes bacon, eggs etc. Small window with no view, no big deal. Air con worked but in an odd place so that the coolest part of the room was on top of the wardrobe! Good location, 5 minutes to La Rambla and lots of good restaurants and bars nearby. It's a 3 star hotel, not a 5 and you get what you pay for. I would stay again

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank JeanKingstonUponHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Hotel Auto Hogar, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2018

Dear JeanKingstonUponHull,

Thank you for sharing your opinion.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your holidays in Barcelona with us and that our breakfast buffet was foy our liking.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,



Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

We have arrived here with a city break. Our first room was bot cleaned at all and we managed to make a fight with the receptionist. After this they gaved us a superior room that was so and so clean, but with a good view. The housekeeping always forget our room. This is a good location hotel, but with poor management. To sad.
Breakfast is a good one.
Air conditioning not working on daytime.
Noisy hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Curious267762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Hotel Auto Hogar, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Dear Curious267762,

Thank you for sharing your opinion.
We apologise for the incident you mention with your room. Your comments will be taken into account in order to improve our services.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,



Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Hotel is fair to say the best spend the night if you’re gonna be out all day. The young guy Giovanni that works in the front desk was very rude and ignorant would often look down, laugh while you’re talking to him and just being very condescending the whole time. I must say this wasn’t only one day, it happened two days during our 4 night stay at hotel, we ended up ignoring him because it wasn’t worth getting angry during our stay so we just chose to talk to different hotel staff who did have proper manors. We arrived an hour prior to check in and were given a different room than planned and the fridge and some of the power outlets did not work, air conditioner was very week and we had to request a second key even thou it was two of us checking in, and guess who again gave an attitude? Yes Giovanni. Otherwise location is good, close to gothic quarters and center or town. I wouldn’t stay in the same hotel when coming back to Barcelona.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pedraospnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestHotels2018, Manager at Hotel Auto Hogar, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear Pedro,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay in our hotel. We have taken note of the incident with the front desk staff and we apologise for it.
We only give one key per room but you can always ask for a second key leaving a 2 € deposit (which you get back when checking out and returning both keys). We will also investigate the issue with the power outlets that you have mentioned and the weakness of our air conditioning.

Best regards,



Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews