We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST decision EVER! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Be Mar Barcelona Hostel
Ranked #244 of 739 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

The website and pictures make out this is quite a decent hostel. The reality is much different!

First of all it's in a rough area of the city, much how I imagine the back streets of Lahore are. At night it feels unsafe and there are prostitutes lingering around. Only positive it it's quite close to the main La Ramblas street.

The rooms are cramped and the beds are old and rusty in desperate need of replacing. Every movement causes noises so expect a sleepless night if you are in a dorm. Due to how cramped it was there was a nasty smell of body odour and smelly clothes in the room and having the one window open you can hear people urinating as if the toilet was in the room!

The general state of the hostel is not nice, it is old, dirty and in need to a refresh. The communal showers aren't particularly nice but there was hot water so I can't complain.

We stayed one night in an 8 bed dorm and had people who seemingly have no consideration for others coming in at all hours during the night putting their light on, slamming the locker door and making lots of noise. The state of the beds means whoever is sleeping on the top bunk will make a lot of noise and make the whole bed shake when going up and down the rusty broken ladders.

After an appalling first night we couldn't contemplate staying a second so we opted to pay an extra €16 each to upgrade to an apartment which was a short walk from the hostel and closer to the centre. This was a lot nicer and I would highly recommend if you're not on a tight budget. Spacious double bed, towels included (saving €2,50 each) nice clean bathroom and a small kitchenette. Only downside is we woke up covered in insect bites so not sure if there's an issue with bedbugs.

Overall I would not choose to return here and would not recommend unless if you're on a tight budget and don't expect to have much sleep.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rossyjedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. It was just ok, nothing special and for the price the quality of the rooms, showers, and amenities was lacking. The staff on the other hand was very helpful and extremely friendly. The area around the hostel seems a bit sketchy, but is always busy. We did not feel unsafe, and it is just a short 10/15 minute walk from most of the major sights in Barcelona.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Basic clean hostel in a great location close to La Rambla.
Only issue I had is that they advertise free wifi in all rooms which is also posted on the wall at reception. Which was not the case. There was no wifi in my room.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank david F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as it was a good location (5-10 min walk from las ramblas) and cheap for Barcelona. Most of the staff were really friendly and helpful, and gave us lots of advise for going to the airport. The common room could have been comfier but we're still able to meet other travellers there. Had a pretty well equipped kitchen, just a bit on the small side. Wifi was reliable and available throughout the whole hostel. Good security with decent sized lockers and someone always on reception.
Downsides were the dorm was really cramped and smelt funny. Also they charged extra for towels, extra sheets etc and it wasn't cheap.
Would maybe stay again, but only short term

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Josh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived early but not allowed to check in until 12am but allowed to left baggage in a secure room. Me and my sister stayed there for 6 nights. They have free walking tours both in the morning and afternoon but we haven't tried it. They also have pub crawl for 15€, boat party for 70€ pub crawl included, mojito party for 3€. Our room was fully airconditioned though we had a bit of problem with the key card system and also the plug is far from our beds and is only 1. The common area is really hot no aircondition and also no TV but they have 2 sets of computers that guests can use. Really near to metro stations Parallel also near to almost everything.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

We were a couple who booked a week at Be Mar's apartments which were perfect to us. It was small, but with a kitchen and own bathroom and toilet. There was clean and very good service, nothing to complain about. It's about 200 meters away from La Rambla but there was a bit far to the beach. We used the metro to get there and it was very easy and fast. We will recommend this apartment if you want to stay in Barcelona close to centrum for not that much money.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We found Be Mar to be our favourite hostel that we stayed at in Barcelona (we stayed in 3). Mainly due to the friendly staff, great common area which provided a place to meet people, and the location (being right amongst the interesting Raval neighbourhood.)

Although we didn't use it, the kitchen also seemed better equipped than other hostels.
Only downside was that the rooms could have been cleaned a bit better.

Would highly recommend participating in the free walking tours provided by the company that partners with the hostel, particularly the street style one as it revolves around the area of Raval.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Ruby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Montjuic
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
Hotel Nuevo Triunfo
#373 of 517 in Barcelona
286 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Garbi Millenni
Hotel Garbi Millenni
#370 of 517 in Barcelona
380 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#102 of 517 in Barcelona
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#386 of 517 in Barcelona
264 reviews
El Raval
MH Apartments Liceo
MH Apartments Liceo
#462 of 517 in Barcelona
96 reviews
El Raval
Ideal Youth Hostel
Ideal Youth Hostel
#383 of 739 in Barcelona
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Mar Barcelona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Mar Barcelona Hostel

Address: Sant Pau 80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 739 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Hotel Class:1 star — Be Mar Barcelona Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right where you want to be!Best location, cool and famous Hostel in Europe!!! Be Hostels Mar is the perfect Hostel for you right in the city centre!!! Well located and close to the most important spots. Five minutes from les Rambles, the Port and the Olympic Park. We have many years experience welcoming travelers from all around the world, so we understand what you want!Find in Be Mar Hostel:- Free breakfast- Free Internet and WIFI access to keep connected with the world- Free fully equipped kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Be Mar Barcelona Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Mar Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing