We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,126)
Filter reviews
4,126 results
Traveller rating
2,223
1,506
283
71
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,223
1,506
283
71
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sants station top floor visual restaurant corner room expo hotel main station rooftop restaurant walk in shower entire city excellent hotel metro system standard room euros per person booked this hotel tourist bus mini bar great city
Filter
Updating list...
2,103 - 2,108 of 4,126 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The staff was superb, in spite of one glitch. Surprisingly they got us tickets to El Tablao de Carmen flamenco show when there were none available on the website. Only problem was the reception clerk told us it would cost 17.50 Euros each and in the end the club demended 35.
The room was fantastic, having been given an upgrade as an Expo Club member. Breakfast was beyond great, worth every penny of the 12 Euros. Even the location was fine, with good transportation available. Room could have been cleaned better.
Will definitely recommend to others.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gone_tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2011

the service is exellent, staff very freindly and helpful. the room is very big and clean, big comfortable bed and restromms. great veiw!!!
breakfast and dinner are good and well served.
the location is a little far from the city center, need to take taxi

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taldot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed at room 2010 at the 20th floor of this amazing hotel. The room was very big, very clean, had a bathtab and a separate shower, very nice view. The first impression i must admit was not the best one, as the hotel is in a very busy square of a main train station (Sants Estacio), looks a bit old and when i entered the room it looked pretty old fashioned for my standards (i always stay at new or recently renovated hotels). But everything was so well preserved and clean, that i felt very comfortable like home!
The breakfast was amazing...you drink your coffee and see all Barcelona from the 23rd floor! The croissants were better than those i had in the hotel i stayed in Paris, there were eggs, potatoes, cheese, chorizos and traditional ham, spanish omeletes, freshly baked bread, fruit, cheesecake, yogurt...excellent!
We issued a T-10 card that gives you 10 routes by metro. The metro and train station are next to the hotel! The centre was 4 metro stops away, i found it very convenient. Also, the Montjuic sites (the magic fountain, the National Gallery museum, the spanish village, etc) were 10-15 minutes walk. There was also a nice cinema-mall next to the Miro park where you could do some shopping.
From the airport if you want to take the train, you must first take the airport inner-bus that takes you from terminal 1 to terminal 2 (maybe the other way around, can't remember for sure) where the train station is. It is very convenient, because the airport is only 18 minutes from the Sants Estacio where the hotel is!
Overall, i enjoyed my stay at this hotel and i would recommend it to anyone!

Room tip: Get top floor room!View to Sagrada Fam or Montjuic
Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katerina_bralos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Friendly reception staff, compact rooms (we had 2) with large bathrooms. The breakfast buffet was varied and good value. The hotel is easy to find and right outside the main train station in Barcelona.

But the problem I have with this hotel is the noise level that comes from the square outside. We were there on a Friday night and our room was on the 5th floor. People skate-boarding and doing tricks on a make-shift ramp well after midnight, drunks shouting, etc. It went on and on. Because the windows aren't sound-proofed, it was impossible to sleep. So book a higher level floor (if you can) or a room facing away from the square. Otherwise, I suggest you book another hotel not so close to the Sants station.

Room tip: Higher level floor, not facing the public square.
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19robbo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife & I managed to book into the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for a one night stay over. Thankfully, the Executive Room at Torre Catalunya put a nice finishing touch to a 4 week holiday trip.

The lady receptionist greeted us warmly (as expected but not always delivered at some hotels) and patiently explained through the facilities available at the hotel. She even enquired whether we would require a late check-out.

Hotel is right next to a metro and there is a consistent availability of taxis outside the hotel which makes travelling on public transport easy. The hotel is along part of the open-top city discover route and this makes it convenient to hop onto said bus for a tour of Barcelona. There were numerous eating outlets surrounding the hotel and for those seeking quick easy meals, there is no lack. The Visual restaurant on the top floor of the hotel serves Catalan cuisine with a gorgeous vista overlooking the city. Food - value for money, given the view on a glorious clear spring evening.

The room was well presented and the copious amount of space allocated to the bathroom/shower and vanity was a huge welcoming change. As I did not booked the room via the hotel's website (through tripadvisor), no free wi fi service was offered. This was a pity, given that the hotel had come up with the goods except for this one small matter (free wi fi is certainly a draw card and essential element of any hotel's standard facility offerings).

Any travellers who avail to the Executive Room would not be disappointed and the appointments within the room and hotel are very commendable and there is a touch of style to the hotel. Comfy feel and would gladly stay in any hotel with similar qualities provided at Torre Catalunya. Great job to the team at Torre Catalunya.

Room tip: Higher floor room for view & quietness
Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews