We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #103 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We used this hotel as a stop off in Barcelona after a transatlantic cruise. The location was excellent, being right beside the main Sants railway staion where there are cheap and frequent trains to the airport (about 15 mins). Our room on the 5th floor was spacious, clean and had an excellent bathroom. WiFi was free for the first 30 mins but cost very little beyond that. The staff were very friendly, spoke perfect English and went out of their way to assist us e.g. boarding passes for the flight home. It's not a central location but the transport links are excellent, quick and cheap (buy a T10 card, it will also get you to the airport). We didn't take breakfast in the hotel as there are many good cafes in the Sants railway station opposite. A medium sized supermarket next door can also supply your alcohol and soft drink needs! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a great view but carry a premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alathays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,831 - 1,837 of 3,922 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a package. For the price we paid we were delighted with this hotel.

It's an ideal distance from the airport, allowing you to take a train from the airport to almost the door of the hotel costing 3.70 euros each as opposed to the 30 euros a taxi would cost.

Good size rooms that are cozy, this along with the hotel staff make the hotel feel like home.

Breakfast is extortionate at 16 euros per person per morning, although if you only need a light snack in the morning there is a 'Pans & Company' across the square where you can get a croissant and coffee for about 3.50 euros.

Totally recommend, we'd choose to stay here again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the executive room. Better rooms, better views and less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yesjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel is right next to the train station. Better to ask to face the other way, otherwise there will be more noise and light. The rooms are large for the price, so it's a fairly good deal. It's also pretty close to the mall and the MNAC.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank VicSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights during the last week of April 2012. We were celebrating a special occassion and had mailed the hotel regarding this to request a quiet room. We also told them that we will be checking in early. However, the room was not ready when we got there because (no fault of the hotel) they had check outs at the normal time. We were requested to wait at the bar till they got the room ready for us. Incidentally, when we wanted to pay for our drinks, we were told that it is complimentary since we were waiting for our room to be ready - what a surprise!

We got a special room with a great view and a truly memorable welcome - small bottle of cava, a great mousse pastry and the best - a personal note from the front office staff.

I have no words to express the quality of service which is the best I have ever encountered (and I have stayed at quite a few hotels). The staff were efficient, warm, always helpful with a ready smile and most important, they were non intrusive - the perfect service.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Its central and not noisy (we got a higher floor room). Hardly a minute from the Sants station which makes it very convenient to use the metro (either for the airport or for the city). It also has great eating places nearby and the Parallel avenue is again a 5 mins walk away. We did not try the restaurant but did eat at the bar a couple of times - decent food. It is also not too far from Las Ramblas which is the main tourist area of Barcelona - we walked to and fro most of the time, takes approx 20 mins to half an hour each way. Its such a beautiful city to walk in so I would recommend you not to use the metro or taxis unless essential.

We did not get a chance to use the pool or the spa but will surely do so during our next visit.

All in all a perfect hotel to celebrate the perfect occassion. There is no way that we will stay anywhere else whenever we visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anisha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I traveled to Barcelona to attend classes, and made a reservation to stay at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya. I did not know what to expect because this was my first visit to Barcelona, but I was pleasantly surprised.

The rooms are nicely appointed - not much clutter, very large as compared to most European hotels, and have great views of the local area. The hotel is also conveniently located next to the Sants Station. I was able to quickly jump on subway and commuter trains during my time there. Also, breakfast was included in my rate, and I am glad it was. Every morning included a delicious buffet spread on the top floor of the hotel with amazing views of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888Main
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Just across the square in front of the Sants Estació (central train station). As soon as you get out of the station you can see it's name in the tower. A very friendly staff (and I even had an upgrade free of charge). The room was huge and very comfortable. The restaurant is located in a higher level so you can have breakfast with amazing views.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Great position near the central station and away from the noise of downtown. Fabulous views of the city from the top-floor restaurant. Huge room, great meals, but Wi-Fi a pain to use with strange access codes. All in all, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher the better fro views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salobrenaholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#71 of 519 in Barcelona
3,283 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#338 of 519 in Barcelona
2,904 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 519 in Barcelona
4,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#96 of 519 in Barcelona
1,773 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,511 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 519 in Barcelona
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#79 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $162 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing