We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,130)
Filter reviews
4,130 results
Traveller rating
2,227
1,506
283
71
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,227
1,506
283
71
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sants station top floor visual restaurant corner room expo hotel main station rooftop restaurant walk in shower entire city excellent hotel metro system standard room euros per person booked this hotel tourist bus mini bar great city
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 4,130 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2017

The front desk was very helpful. I got there at 11:00 a.m. and was allowed to check in which was very helpful. All the staff spoke English and were very responsive to all my needs and knowledgeable with directions. I needed a U.S. electrical adapter which they provided free of charge. The room was great! I had a corner room with a large window and 180 degree view of the city. If you don't have a corner room you may not have the same view. The room was very large and the bed was comfortable especially by European standards. The bathroom had a bathtub and a walk in shower with a view of the city. It's a 1/2 mile [ 1km ] from playa de espanya and the magic fountain and 2 miles [ 3 km ] from La Rambla. If you feel like walking to La Rambla it's a nice way to see the city and takes about 45-50 minutes with traffic. The magic fountain is a 10-15 minute walk and worth seeing. There was a beautiful water show at the magic fountain on Friday night around 8:00 p.m. There was no show on Thursday or Saturday so I'm not sure how often it runs. A 10 minute walk and on the way to the La Rambla there is a shopping mall called the Arena, It has a food court, restaurants, market, and you can go to the top of the Arena a get a great view of the city free of charge. If you want a taxi there's a taxi station in front of the hotel or a bus and train depot about 3 minutes away. I didn't eat the breakfast but there are plenty of outdoor restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. Only complaint was they didn't exchange currency.

Room tip: I recomend a corner room as high up as possible for the best view of the city.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edward r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Dear Edward,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Yours sincerely,

Alex Codina.
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2017

We stayed for 6 nights.When in Barcelona, we surely will prefer this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and well designed and so is the nice bathroom.Free WI FI in room ,at good speed.
Very good breakfast ,tasty and fresh.
Convenient location. One train took as from the airport to the hotel and back for less then 2 euros per person.Close to the most important metro lines for a tourist. Walking distance from Plaza Espania.

Room tip: ask for a high floor because of the better view
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Keren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear Keren O,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Yours sincerely,

Alex Codina

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2017

We were able to take one train from the airport to the Sants Station. 6 tickets for 10 Euro.
The hotel was across the street. We had a corner room with a nice view. The room was perfect. I wished there was an additional English speaking station. However, we did not come to watch TV. This hotel is in walking distance to many things and convenient to cafes and the metro. We will return and tell our friends. Barcelona is awesome!

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2tournj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Dear Tournj,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Codina
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

I just checked in and loved everything about it. Cozy and convenient .. close to the station, mall and a short walk to arc de triumph.
I stayed in 510 and enjoyed the view but one issue I had was the sound at night. Some constructional work kept me up.
Breakfast was various with a nice rooftop view of the area.

Friendly staff and speaks English.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank dbehbehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Dear Behani,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.
We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!
On the other hand, sorry about inconvenience caused, we are making some remodelling to improve our service.
We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Alex Codina
Yours sincerely,
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a comfort room on the 7th floor. Good size, large bathroom, separate toilet, and great views across the city.

Bed wasn’t great, felt quite springy, and didn’t reflect upon the rest of quality elsewhere in the hotel.

Reading other reviews there are clearly different types of showers across the hotel rooms, as the pressure on mine was poor and ineffective. If I was a woman I wouldn’t want to try washing my hair in here - would be there all night. Other reviews say theirs were really powerful, this wasn’t.

There were Lots of channels on the tv (mostly non English) but BBC World wasn’t working

Breakfast was very good, although I wouldn’t pay the 20 euros if it wasn’t included in the room rate, nothing to do with the quality, but I wouldn’t pay 20 E anywhere for a breakfast. The views in the restaurant are excellent, and the breakfast waiting staff were excellent. The top floor restaurant is a massive selling point for this hotel, well worth visiting

Having stayed at the Sants hotel across the road, if I had to choose over the two I would probably pick the Sants over this hotel. This is based on the quality and feel of the rooms at the Sants (beds, linen, showers etc) - even though the rooms are smaller there.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Chris1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Recepcionista at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2017

Dear Mr. Chris,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.
We really feel honored by your valuable words about our Visual Restaurant and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!
On the other hand, we thank you for the comments about the shower in the room and the channels in our televisions, we need also these comments in order to improve our Service. Thank you!
We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Yours sincerely,
Alexandra Rodrigues

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews