We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept secret.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Ranked #102 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Great views and well worth the money. Staff was very helpful with all of our questions.Great dinner hall and also great breakfast also.great location and a lot of things are within walking distance.alot of history there. I would love to live here . flat land and could ride a Bicycle everywhere.People are very friendly ! All waiters are great and sat right down and talked with us for a while very slow paced. Loved the idea of taking your time and just not the hustle and bustle of FAST food restaurants like in the U.S.

Room Tip: ALL windows just lite curtains ! I'm not Bashful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Mark P,

We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings about your experience as our guest.

We cannot express how fulfilled do we feel with every single word of your experience, thank you so much on behalf of every member of the Torre Catalunya team, reviews like yours keep empowering us to give the 110% to our guests.

It has been a pleasure to host you in Barcelona and we look forward to seeing you again!

Kind regards,

Carolina Ruiz de Galarreta - Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 3,922 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

A very nice view over the city, the location is conveniently close to the train, metro and bus stations. Rooms are clean, very good housekeeping service. The restaurant also has a great view, great coffee and delicious breakfast

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank Mostafa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear Mostafa,

We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and views. We really appreciate them!
On the other hand, we thank you for the comments about the housekeeping service and the quality of our restaurant. Thank you!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.

Yours sincerely,
Alejandra Chianetta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This is the fifth anniversary in a row we have been in Barcelona (this time bringing others along) and stayed at this hotel. It is clean, quiet, safe, modern and well located adjacent to the rail station and subway lines. This year the service was down. The staff seemed to be distracted, perhaps by the political unrest. There was no acknowledgement of our event, they didn't give the view I had requested in writing, I had a difficult time contacting the hotel to cancel a room for one of our party. Good dining in the area is limited. Breakfast is not included in the room rate. The view from the top floor restaurant is spectacular. Not sure we'll return for our next anniversary.

Room Tip: best view from corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Richard r,
We would like to thank you for choosing us one more time for your stay in Barcelona, and for having shared your experience with all the travelers in TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to read your positive remarks regarding the hotel cleanness, security, the good location and the view from our restaurant. We really appreciate them!

On the other hand, we offer you our most sincerely apologies for the inconveniences you have had during your last stay with us, it was not in our intent to disappoint you. We would like to let you know that our guest satisfaction is the biggest priority for us, so we thank you for your comment this helped us to improve our service.
We have taken good note about all your comments. We will look into them internally and we will do all the necessary actions in order to make sure that it won’t happen again.

I can only hope you will allow us to host you again in your next anniversary so we can better work to provide you the perfect stay you deserve.

Kind Regards,

Carolina Ruiz de Galarreta - Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The front desk was very helpful. I got there at 11:00 a.m. and was allowed to check in which was very helpful. All the staff spoke English and were very responsive to all my needs and knowledgeable with directions. I needed a U.S. electrical adapter which they provided free of charge. The room was great! I had a corner room with a large window and 180 degree view of the city. If you don't have a corner room you may not have the same view. The room was very large and the bed was comfortable especially by European standards. The bathroom had a bathtub and a walk in shower with a view of the city. It's a 1/2 mile [ 1km ] from playa de espanya and the magic fountain and 2 miles [ 3 km ] from La Rambla. If you feel like walking to La Rambla it's a nice way to see the city and takes about 45-50 minutes with traffic. The magic fountain is a 10-15 minute walk and worth seeing. There was a beautiful water show at the magic fountain on Friday night around 8:00 p.m. There was no show on Thursday or Saturday so I'm not sure how often it runs. A 10 minute walk and on the way to the La Rambla there is a shopping mall called the Arena, It has a food court, restaurants, market, and you can go to the top of the Arena a get a great view of the city free of charge. If you want a taxi there's a taxi station in front of the hotel or a bus and train depot about 3 minutes away. I didn't eat the breakfast but there are plenty of outdoor restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. Only complaint was they didn't exchange currency.

Room Tip: I recomend a corner room as high up as possible for the best view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank edward r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Dear Edward,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Yours sincerely,

Alex Codina.
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We stayed for 6 nights.When in Barcelona, we surely will prefer this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and well designed and so is the nice bathroom.Free WI FI in room ,at good speed.
Very good breakfast ,tasty and fresh.
Convenient location. One train took as from the airport to the hotel and back for less then 2 euros per person.Close to the most important metro lines for a tourist. Walking distance from Plaza Espania.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor because of the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Keren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Keren O,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Yours sincerely,

Alex Codina

Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

We were able to take one train from the airport to the Sants Station. 6 tickets for 10 Euro.
The hotel was across the street. We had a corner room with a nice view. The room was perfect. I wished there was an additional English speaking station. However, we did not come to watch TV. This hotel is in walking distance to many things and convenient to cafes and the metro. We will return and tell our friends. Barcelona is awesome!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2tournj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Tournj,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.

We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!

We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.

Yours sincerely,
Alex Codina
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

I just checked in and loved everything about it. Cozy and convenient .. close to the station, mall and a short walk to arc de triumph.
I stayed in 510 and enjoyed the view but one issue I had was the sound at night. Some constructional work kept me up.
Breakfast was various with a nice rooftop view of the area.

Friendly staff and speaks English.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank dbehbehani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest E, Guest Experience Coordinator at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Behani,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya for your stay in Barcelona as well as for reflecting in Tripadvisor your feelings around your experience as our guest.
We really feel honored by your valuable words about our location and the friendly staff. We really appreciate them!
On the other hand, sorry about inconvenience caused, we are making some remodelling to improve our service.
We look forward to your next occasion to welcoming you again at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya.
Alex Codina
Yours sincerely,
Guest Experience Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#67 of 519 in Barcelona
3,283 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#337 of 519 in Barcelona
2,904 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 519 in Barcelona
4,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#95 of 519 in Barcelona
1,773 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#111 of 519 in Barcelona
3,511 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#73 of 519 in Barcelona
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Address: Avda de Roma 2-4, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#34 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#78 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: C$163 - C$346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior 4* Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, a reference point for comfort in the "Ciudad Condal", is specially focussed on providing the utmost comfort, tranquillity and well-being for you for each moment of your stay. Accommodation in rooms that are at least 39 m2, breakfast at the highest panoramic restaurant in Barcelona, and just 1 stop from the historic quarter. Discover top comfort class at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya, which becomes your gateway to a city full of leisure, business, cultural and sporting opportunities. The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya has 272 rooms ranging from 39 m2 to 75 m2, the largest in their category in Barcelona, with the city at your feet. Thanks to the natural light coming in through their large windows, and the warm colours of their decoration, you can enjoy a comfortable stay culminating in a renewing rest with the best views of the city. Large beds, spacious bathrooms with separate bath and shower, free WiFi connection in the bedrooms and all the amenities to ensure that you want for nothing throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Torre Catalunya
Hotel Torre Catalunya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing