We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #40 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at Hotel Jazz for a week while visiting Barcelona. The hotel is very clean--rooms are spartan--wood flooring, modern layout and decor. For being located in a busy part of town we thought the windows did a fairly decent job of blocking out noise--on Saturday night it was a little noisy but tolerable. Front desk staff was helpful and attentive. Always someone there 24/7. The shower door hinge was loose and we let the staff know which they seemed to appreciate and indicate it would be fixed.

The biggest asset of this hotel is its LOCATION. Short walking distance to Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya and the Metro. Would definitely stay there Again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jskendzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,724
    1,499
    172
    29
    20
See reviews for
698
2,339
159
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Hotel Jazz is a modern, stylish hotel with a great location for the first time visitor to Barcelona. Rooms are modern and cheerful but have no views. Mine looked onto an interior courtyard, but was very quiet, which is a plus because I found Barcelona to be a noisy city. I was on a high floor and did notice the rumblings from the Metro but it never bothered me.

The pros of this hotel are as follows:
· Good price, at least in the off season
· Friendly helpful, English-speaking staff
· Warm and cheerful décor.
Nice roof deck with a plunge pool
Free wi-fi
· They provide an assortment of in room amenities such as dental kit, comb, etc. Note though, as typical for many European hotels – there was shampoo provided but no conditioner.
·

There were a few minor negatives:
· The heat/AC control in the room was initially difficult to figure out
· TV reception was poor for English speaking channels.
· I though the lobby was very sterile compared to other hotels in this chain.
· There was free wi-fi but you had to sign on almost every time you used it; I found this to be annoying.

Probably the biggest plus of the hotel is the location for first-time visitors: It was a five minute walk to Las Ramblas, and probably no more than ten minutes to the Gothic quarter; a ten minutes walk to Passeig de Gravis and 25 minute walk to the Magic Fountain. If you are a good walker, and stay at the Hotel Jazz, your use of public transportation and/or cabs should be minimal.

Although I had a good stay here, if I were to return to Barcelona, I would probably stay in a hotel closer to the heart of the Eixample, my favorite district. But for a first time visitor, it was fine.

Room Tip: Don't be shy about asking the staff for help if you have trouble controlling the temperature in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a wonderful city break in Barcelona. The hotel was a fantastic base for our break. It is near the drop off for the aerobus and Place Cataluyna / Las Ramblas.
Service was good, the room was modern and clean. Despite the location it was very quiet at night. Unfortunately, it was too cold to make use of the roof top pool.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexSeasider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great location. Easy walking distance to most attractions. The hotel was very clean and I felt very safe there. Rooms were decent size and bathrooms updated with modern fixtures. Great rooftop pool and sitting areas. The views from the rooftop were amazing and seating was plentiful with bathrooms on the roof level. We enjoyed this hotel. No fitness center and a little loud at night, but we enjoyed the city noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mammaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

What a Gem of a hotel. Spacious room, large comfy beds, and immaculately clean. Barca is a brilliant City and would stay here again when we go back. 5min walk from Las Ramblas

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyrone_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I don't normally write reviews but here goes.

It's difficult to know where to start with a review of a Hotel, especially one when you have a generous selection superlatives at your disposal. So why not start from the very beginning?

Me: "Hotel Jazz, please"
Taxi driver: (with an approving nod) "Hotel Jazz, ok".

Off we go. There is an innate feeling of satisfaction when a local is familiar with your hotel of choice, you can immediately rule out your main fear that it was going to be some hole in the wall, stuffed down a riddled alleyway where you can't walk 3 yards without an over-tanned foreigner trying to coax you into a drug deal whilst clutching a four pack of Estrella Damm. By the way, I would not recommend veering west off the Ramblas, at the bottom.

Moving on, the taxi is about 23 EUROS from the airport, give or take, dependant on whether your driver needs to lift your leg or not to make the day's quota. The hotel itself is placed between the Plc. Universitat and Plc. de Catalunya. Not your normal hotel plonked on the street facing the opposite side, but rather, tucked away from the pavement with a delightful mini-forecourt outside the attractive front entrance. Seemingly inviting.

The hotel is quite aptly named, too. The décor is sophisticated yet maintains a distinct melodic cutting edge tone, which feels...comfortable. Perhaps a bit too 'hip' for your Nan and Grandad, they are best advised to stick to their Club Med Cruises.

Quite crucially the hotel staff at the front desk with every bit as helpful as asserted in the many reviews of this hotel. Importantly for me, and I feel shameful for admitting such, is that the staff spoke excellent English. The staff are quick to adapt to a non-spanish speaking foreigner, although with my 'deer-in-the-headlights' reaction to "Buenos dios" it wont have been difficult to judge.

Check in was as swift as the elevator trip up to the 7th floor on which we were situated. Unfortunately we (my girlfriend and I) were faced with the 'twin-bed dilemma'. "Alas, this is the moment I declare war on the hotel...by cowardly writing a mediocre review". FEAR NOT though potential 'Jazz-dwellers', I was immediately informed by my better half that this was my fault for failing to request the double. The Hotel is cleared of those charges then. Upon request the staff hastened to assure us that the bed would be turned into a double immediately, lo and behold, it was. The comfort of the bed coupled with the black-out curtains made it a painful affair for my girlfriend to peel me away in the mornings, especially when an open air tour bus is first on the agenda.

The room was reminiscent of the tone of the lobby interior and ticked all the boxes for space, style, storage etc. The floor to ceiling windows brighten up the room remarkably well as most of the rooms are facing the sun. There is also a mini-balcony, perfectly apt for those who have been draining the Sangria the previous night and are far too delicate to venture to the pool on the top floor to catch the rays.

As my girlfriend rightfully pointed out, there was an essential full length mirror on the back of the bathroom door as well as a very large mirror in the bathroom (obviously, I was thrilled). For those 'hotel snobs' out there, unfortunately there were no complimentary slippers provided. There was, however, toothbrushes together with your usual bathroom products. For all those ladies who frustratingly forget their hairbrushes and hair-dryers...the hotel has your back, hair-dryer and comb provided. Don't worry fellas, whilst your other half is going through the trauma of picking her outfit for the nights stroll down the Ramblas, there is a bar situated on the first floor to escape and take the edge off. By contrast if you are one of the unfortunate few to have already been dragged feet first into the chaos of picking out an appropriate ensemble (after a long plane journey (thus bloating is an issue)) then there is access to the top floor and no barriers around the ledges...

If you are like me and enjoy your food, or more to the point, do little research before embarking on a city break, then rest assured as the hotel staff will give sterling recommendations to suit your desires. We wanted a nice nearby tapas place for our first night and one was found in a stead fast manner, situated 2 mins walk away from the hotel. I soon discovered after visiting the bar that the hotel does not offer a chaperone service.

The buffet breakfast was good, not excellent, just good. It's a satisfactory substitute if you do not fancy wondering around Barcelona looking for a breakfast bar with the possibility of landing at an establishment on the square and being handed a plate of grease and rashers of fat with a bacon trimming. As you can probably detect, this happened to us, therefore I urge that you do not go to Plca de Catalunya for breakfast, or lunch or dinner for that matter.

It is difficult to fault Hotel Jazz on any one particular thing. There are few discrepancies, and where there are some, these would only be unearthed in the reviews of, perhaps, former middle class people who had been struck by the credit crunch and have had to downgrade from a 5 star, or Americans...such as, the temperature in the hallways was a centigrade too high or the hotel lobby staff did not great them with the Three Tenors and a host of Spaniards performing their native dance.

The hotel ticks all the right boxes, particularly for a young couple looking to spend a few nights as the hotel strives in convenience. Oh, a Cervezeria is situated around the corner, on the Plca de Unversitat which shows the football on a huge screen. It is worth immersing yourself in a Barca game with the locals.

To summarise generically - nice friendly staff, spoke english, good interior, great location, nice clean and tidy rooms and good selection at the breakfast buffet.

Any questions, email me at james.skivington@yahoo.co.uk

Room Tip: Two main streets flank the hotel therefore I am not entirely sure, however, rooms at the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,502 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 513 in Barcelona
3,918 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#23 of 513 in Barcelona
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#95 of 513 in Barcelona
2,216 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Olivia Plaza Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
2,090 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#80 of 513 in Barcelona
3,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Property: Hotel Jazz
Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing