We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good home-base for exploring Barcelona”
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #42 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A good home-base for exploring Barcelona”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We stayed at Hotel Jazz in April, 2012, for 4 days. We had an on-the- street-side room on the 6th floor. The hotel was clean, comfortable, stylish, and very quiet, with easy-to use, in-room, free wi-fi. We heard occasional people one evening, but we slept well. The street-noise was present, but didn't bother us much. A lighter-sleeper may prefer a room off the street (traffic, street sweepers, 2am-ers, etc could sometimes be heard).

The room lighting was excellent; the climate control defaults to 'off', so I'd have to remember to turn it back on; it took a phone call to the desk to figure out how to access the additional cable channels to get BBC (the desk was very nice about it). There is a free in-room safe, and the bed was 2 twins pushed together, which was comfortable and apparently typical. I would have loved to have a facecloth included in the linens.

The rooftop solarium and pool were open on the nice days - great views! Also, when you are learning your way around, you can see the edge of the solarium on the roofline from down the street, to help find the hotel.

We were not impressed by the continental breakfast - mediocre offerings at a high cost (11 Euros). There are several fabulous little local cafes about a block up the street, heading toward Pl. de Catalunya, on Ronda de Sant Pere. The ambiance, bustle, and great food are worth leaving the hotel for your first cup of coffee.

The service at Hotel Jazz was very good. I heard the staff speak Spanish, English, Catalan, and German. They patiently answered my tourist questions, gave directions, fetched hot water for me to bring back to my room for a quiet cup of tea, and loaned umbrellas on rainy days.

The location was perfect for our needs. We had a very short (half-block walk) from the Aerobus stop (the shuttle bus from the airport - get off at Universitat, but walk up to Pl. Catalunya to pick it up back to the airport). In addition, the nearest Metro stop was also at Universitat, and La Rambla was just down the street. Very easy starting point to all things Barcelona.

The price was a little steeper than we typically like to pay (ok, who REALLY wants to pay anything??), but the overall quality of the hotel, the superb location, and the excellent service made this a very good value. Given the opportunity, I would seriously consider going back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our on-street room (fun to watch the street activity); a very light sleeper may prefer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slconcann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,704
    1,494
    172
    29
    20
See reviews for
691
2,323
159
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Excellent value hotel, much better than hoped. Didnt have breakfast but plenty of cafés nearby, in particular, the Foodmarket cafe I can recommend. Great location this hotel and as we had a room facing the interior/ rear it was very quiet indeed. The bed was very firm with two pillows and a blanket/sheets, (no duvet). The room was very smart and the bathroom palatial.
The only small negatives being the ventilation in the bathroom didn't work and there was no freebie hair conditioner!
Would definitely stay here againacne cause of the value for money, cleanliness and friendly staff.
PS Barcelona I found to be chilly, weather forecast said 17-19deg C, too cold for sandals and 3/4 length trousers!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousseJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Just come back from a long weekend in Barcelona. Hotel Jazz was in a great location (at the top of La Ramblas). Rooms were clean and modern (although no kettle in room). Excellent shower - although no ventilation unit so when you came out it was like you had been in a sauna!
Didnt get to use pool on roof as it was too cold but looked lovely. Our deal didnt come with breakfast so we just headed to local cafes (plenty to choose from!)
Reception staff were helpful - asked them to book a restaurant one night that we had been recommended. This was just a simple and chique hotel which is just what you need for a city break.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just back from few days staying at this hotel,very central within walking distance of Ramblas ,less than a five minute walk from the Placa Universitat where the aerobus stops (under 6 euros each from airport ) we had the breakfast which had very good choice of fruit juices,fruit, cereals hot and cold selection and lovely selection of cakes and pastries and breads.Either side of the hotel are to small cafe type places selling food etc.. .Staff at hotel were polite and helpful ,room very clean we had room at back very quiet .Rooftop pool and terrace good with great views .If you want to go in Sagrida Famillia suggest you look at buying tickets online queue was horrendous and we went early ,the marina lovely walk with lots of shops and bars overall will go back to Barcelona and revisit this hotel .

Room Tip: higher rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazymonkey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east surrey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel was easy to reach from Placa Catalunya in 5 minutes, after taking the Airobus from the airport ( at 5.30 euros each way..a brilliant service!) We had difficulty finding the entrance, but one of the concierges realised and came after us. The hotel is so central, modern and the staff are friendly and helpful, with excellent English.Our room was on the 7th floor,quite spacious,with a small balcony and very comfortable twin beds pushed together.Only downside was that after a bath or shower there would be a rather unpleasant odour from the drain.That said, the bedroom was great with good size wardrobes, and plenty of hangers. The breakfast room on the first floor was excellent,with a vast assortment of cereals,cold meats,cheeses, breads and fruit and juices, with great staff who always brought your choice of tea or coffee the moment one walked in each morning.We loved staying here and we thought Barcelona the most stunning city.

Room Tip: Our A/C unit was so quiet you hardly realized it was on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flagiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel a couple of years back and liked it then. We were equally happy this time. It's clean, it's modern, and it doesn't charge silly prices like a good many places in the centre of Barcelona. They have a rooftop swimming pool with great views over the city, so you can have the best of all worlds - eating, shopping and sunbathing within a few minutes of each other. Assuming it doesn't rain, of course, which it does sometimes in Barcelona! The wifi is free so you can always while away the time reading your e-mails. Now that would be sad in a place with so much to do.

Staff were friendly and willing to change our room so we had an outside view. In fact, service was pretty good all round here.

Rather than getting a taxi from the airport we thought we'd try the airport bus. Brilliant! For 5 Euros 30 cents it drops you right in the Place de Catalunya which is about five minutes walk from the Hotel Jazz. It's really clever - route A1 goes to Terminal 1 and route A2 goes to Terminal 2. It says in big letters on the side which one is which!

Room Tip: Ask for an outside window on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 339334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

TripAdvisor never fails. This hotel was a gem, and feels very boutique. We stayed in Triple Jazz suite, and the room is so spacious! Location is block from Las Ramblas where many shops and cafes are...10 - 15 walk to beach. Breakfast is not included, but there is a coffee shop directly below and next to hotel. Alexandre who works the night shift while we were there was extremely nice, and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlboroAGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,462 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 512 in Barcelona
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#78 of 512 in Barcelona
3,872 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 512 in Barcelona
2,203 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Property: Hotel Jazz
Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing