We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Contemporary Hotel”
Review of Hotel Jazz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Jazz
Ranked #44 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and myself stayed in the Hotel with in the beginning of April 2012. Good location: close to everything but away from crowds. Bus from airport (Airbus) stops couple hundred feet away. If you want to take bus back you will need to walk half a mile. Clean and contemporary. Though, appeared that during the original construction (2004) furniture, bathroom fixtures and trim installed was quite cheap and now show signs of deterioration. Watch if breakfast included in your rate. It happened that because of advanced reservation it was not included in our rate and it was like 22 Euros per day for two of us. Our room was 302 (I think). Window looked in the small court yard. We were told that because we wanted single bed, we cannot have room with street windows. We really did not care, since were all day out of the room anyway, and therefore did not make a big deal about it. The receptionist was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,108 - 2,114 of 4,543 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

My friends and I choose this hotel based solely on the reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed!! Its a stylish, modern hotel but surprisingly quiet given its central location - just moments from Placa de Catalunya/Ramblas etc. The rooms we had (2 'corner triples') were very spacious, clean and well appointed and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful, so I would have no hesitation in recommending this superb hotel.

Room Tip: Don't forget about the rooftop swimming pool - great for lounging around/views etc, if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacTuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel and room is a 4/5 by north American standards and a 5/5 by European standards , as they tend to be smaller with minimal frills. For those of you that travel and know what I mean - book into a 4/5 or 5/5 European hotel and you find it to be a 2.5-3/5 by North American standards.

I found the room spacious, well lit, with 2 double beds and very neat and clean. The bathroom was great, with the usual amenities, and a bidet, if you like that sort of thing (maybe for washing the feet if you're out in sandals). The hotel security was a plus as there is a night guard by front door and elevators. Also you need card key access to make elevator work - up or down. The outside of the hotel is interesting - almost like a pathway cut between two streets. Not an alley, paved, and you don't have to worry about jumping out of the taxi in traffic. The metro (subway) is super cheap (2 euros/trip or 28 euros for a 5 day unlimited pass) and there are 2 accesses about 100 feet away. Very convenient. There was FREE wireless Internet which was pretty fast. A real bonus. Friends of mine staying at the Barcelona Hilton paid 108 euros/week - highway robbery.

Otherwise, there is a pool on the roof (was too cold to swim) or bring up some food and beer/wine to enjoy the sun and looking out over Barcelona. The view up there wasn't the greatest, but it was nice to get sun, and you could see some things.

Reception nice and helpful, and I bought tickets on line for an attraction - they allowed me to print off there . My rate (170 euros) came with breakfast which was better than continental but less than a full hot breakfast. Nice dining area on the first floor, which had computer access.

Location ideal as close to many shops, placa catalanya, la rambla, and passeig de gracia. There is a convenience store about 1 block away for fruit and miscellaneous stuff. Sandwich place La Baguettine right next door. I DO NOT RECOMMEND "THE BIG BITE" which is also next door on the other side, has more glossy photos and choices, but the sandwiches (twice) really s****d. Don't waste your money.

I think this place is deserving of it's #9 position. It was great. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pw0867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Internet free,modern and clean.Close to metro , Plaza Catalunia,las Ramblas ,restaurants, very friendly staff!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriachouzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband, 8yo daughter, and I stayed at the Hotel Jazz in Barcelona from April 7 - 13, 2012. We had the triple room on the corner of the 3rd floor. It was clean and attractive, and the king-size bed was very comfortable (fold-out bed less so, but perfectly fine for a fold-out bed). The hotel is located within a block of one Metro station and within 2-3 blocks of another, with different lines serving them, so that was convenient. It was mostly pretty quiet except for the recycling/trash pick-up early in the mornings outside, but that bothered me very little; I noticed it but it wasn't terribly loud. My only wishes are that it had had a coffee/tea pot in the room (although there are Starbucks and cafés within 2 blocks) and that the lighting/electrical system had been more convenient. There were some lights that had several switches around the room, some that I never could find out how to work them, and the alarm clock (programmed via what looked like a light switch on the wall next to the bed) went off unexpectedly on our first night there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The reviews about the location are all true. I can't really imagine a better location in Barcelona. The hotel is so close to the Rambla, the Raval, the Metro, the Placa Univeristad stop of the Aerobus, and more. We walked or took the Metro everywhere. Tons of wonderful resturants and sights are within easy walking distance. The hotel is very clean, the rooms are spacious, the breakfast buffet is ample and delicious. To top it all off, the hotel has a wonderful rooftop deck. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CCSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We arrived from our cruise ship early in the morning so we were very grateful when the staff was able to immediately assign us a room on a very busy weekendin Barcelona. The rooms are large by European standards and very modern and clean. I loved that I could open the window of the french balcony to view the street below. The lobby is a bit stark, but did not detract from our stay. The breakfast offered a wide variety of choices and was very good! It is a very short walk to La Rambla and Placa de Catalunya from this hotel. The staff were gracious and helpful. The hotel is a very good value for such a great location and generous room size.

Room Tip: Great little coffee and sandwich shop to the right of the hotels front doors.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mringenoldus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,096 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#23 of 515 in Barcelona
255 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#30 of 515 in Barcelona
4,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#60 of 515 in Barcelona
2,298 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#62 of 515 in Barcelona
3,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jazz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jazz

Address: Pelai 3, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#15 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $141 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jazz 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An unbeatable location in the heart of Barcelona, between Plaza Catalunya, Paseo de Gracia, and the famous Ramblas, has made Hotel Jazz into one of the city’s most cosmopolitan hotels.A magnificent outdoor pool and a spacious terrace make the hotel a unique and spectacular spot for relaxing in the city center, and grant guests easy access to the city’s historical attractions and Gaudí’s modernist architecture throughout the neighborhood of the Eixample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jazz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jazz Barcelona
Jazz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing