We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large & Clean Rooms”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #138 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cagayan de Oro, Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large & Clean Rooms”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

From the airport, you can take the Aerobus and the nearest stop is just around 4 blocks from the hotel. We made a mistake and got off at Plaza Catalunya, which was rather a 10-block walk - you wouldn't mind this because along the way, there's plenty of sights to see including Gaudi architectures.

The rooms are clean and spacious, there's plenty of room for two and packing your things especially if you did a lot of shopping. The toilet is clean and spacious as well, although I wonder why there wasn't any light for the shower room but it wasn't so much of a big deal. Shampoo, soap and among others provided. We also got connecting rooms as requested. Breakfast was good, eggs, sausage, bread, the basics. On our last day we had to leave early and couldn't stay for breakfast but the guy in charge in the restaurant was nice enough to hand me a cup of coffee.

I would recommend this hotel to those who'd rather stay in a more quiet residential neighborhood but walking distance towards the popular tourist areas such as Plaza Catalunya and Barri Gotic. And oh, there's a bakery around the corner, San Roman, get the chocolate covered churros, they're the best I've ever tasted!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villarroel, Director General at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoy your stay in our Hotel.

I hope to see you soon.

Yours, Faithfuly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    383
    120
    35
    28
See reviews for
188
391
36
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal,Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Spent 5 nights in this hotel.Had some concerns with a website I used to make the booking and the hotel staff were brilliant, even contacting the website for me.I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful while we were there.I was shocked to read in previous review about bag snatch in reception as I always felt very safe there.We brought a travel kettle with us ,plenty of supermarkets and cake shops nearby.We ate at a nearby restaurant called Cheese Art which was very good (you can read it up on trip adviser).Barcelona is not cheap ,expect to pay around 50 euros for main course and some drinks for 2 people.We did the 2 day bus tour which was good value.We got a good deal for 5 nights B&B (493 Euro) for double room but would not recommend paying for the breakfast if not included in your booking. Hot food consists of scrambled eggs,boiled eggs and some sausages.Did not eat any other meals in hotel or use leisure facilities.Pool is overlooked , I never seen anyone in it !.Computers on each floor with good internet speeds (free),we did not try the Wi Fi.Air conditioning in the room a bit hit and miss.We had a free safe in the room which did'nt work and despite reporting this it was never fixed during our stay.Overall we were very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quiet.The front of the hotel is on a busy road,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We appreciate you spend few minutes to give us your opinion about our Hotel. We want to thank you to choose our hotel for your stay in Barcelona.
We work very hard to give our best service to our guests and we take note of your comments, specially about the breakfast buffet. We keep working to improve, and your comments about the food are very important for us.
Thank you again and I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel was in a very quiet and pleasent part of Barcelona yet only a short metro journey to the centre (Las Rambla). Nearest metro station is Uddin which is no more than a 5 min walk.
Rooms were clean including the bathroom and a good size. Room comes with a mini bar and TV but no tea making faciities.
Only complaint was that the free WiFi was almost impossible to connect to with my smart phone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a nice stay in our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we will take note of your suggestions.
The wifi use to work well. We would have had the opportunity to give you a solution, because reseting up the router is usually enough.
I wish you think about us if you come back to Barcelona.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Lovley clean hotel in a good location, lovley spa in basement very reasonable 10e for 3 days use for 2 people. Staff a bit aloof, woke early first morning by jackhammer outside second morning we got caught up in a bag snatch the thief was sitting in reception when he grabbed a bag hotel staff and other clients tackled him scary but receptionest just shrugged her shoulders as much to say its barcelona what do you expect. Be very careful abt breakfast we wernt able to book breakfast included but in all the lifts and at reception they advertised 'express breakfast' 5.50e however YOU must advise the resturand staff that you wish to order express otherwise its 12.50e which i paid for tea orangejuice and 1 bread roll i had my own tea bag. 3 course lunch with wine is just 9.90e doesnt make sense.

Room Tip: Look for A room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carano
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stay in hotel the last week end.The location is good,central.
The room is very dark because the window is little and there is a table-desktop in front of it, blocked in the walls.The staff man , called to close the window and eliminate the noise
caming from the street,climbed on the table and finally closed the window!!!!:
The glass-made wash-hand bassin , have a little break on the edge.
And ,last but non least,the day of departure at 8 o'clock AM, the breakfast room is closed!!!
I payed for two breakfast and i got only one !!!.
The four stars hotel is only two star maximum;tree stars are for staff kindness and disponibility.

Room Tip: last floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garzantina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Ash
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This place IS a little gem. Its in a great position, only 2 stops away on the metro from Las Ramblas, so smack in the middle of the city. It's clean, well appointed and wonderful bathrooms. No noise heard from the room. Advice from the staff was very helpful for a tourist in this wonderful city. Liked it so much have decided to go back again later this year (2012).

Room Tip: I stayed in a back room away from the street. I heard no noise from other guests in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamesyglenboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you to book our hotel for your stay in Barcelona. We are very glad you enjoyed your visit to our city. I am happy to read that your stay in th otel was so good. We work very hard to make our guests feel comfortable. I hope to see you soon in you next visit to Barcelona.

Yours Faithfully,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a great time here. The location is quiet and safe and within good reach of bars, restaurants, metro, buses and sights. Don't be put off by the reported distance by some reviewers from the tourist centre, there is much more to wonderful Barcelona than Las Ramblas!
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
Thoroughly recommend upgrading to a suite with its many facilities. We would however have liked a more comfortable sitting area with some softer furnishings and even some pictures on the stark walls.
Breakfast was acceptable, but not startling, and has both a coffee machine which, at times, seemed to have a mind of its own and a toaster which required four attempts to get successful toasted bread!
We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to the Flamant Restaurant on Carrer d'Enric Granados for lovely atmosphere, terrific ambience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#126 of 513 in Barcelona
1,172 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#143 of 513 in Barcelona
925 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ako Suite Hotel
Ako Suite Hotel
#166 of 513 in Barcelona
290 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#87 of 513 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#173 of 513 in Barcelona
3,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Property: Acevi Villarroel
Address: Villarroel, 106 | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#100 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing