We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and relaxing”
Review of Acevi Villarroel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Acevi Villarroel
Ranked #143 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This is a lovely and spacious hotel, a little bit out from the old part of Barcelona, but it's still very accessible on foot. In fact, the walk towards the old town is really lovely, but a cab is also inexpensive.

I was particularly impressed with the size of the rooms and everything was spotless. I'd recommend it and would stay here again, certainly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenWillis09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (975)
There are newer reviews for Acevi Villarroel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 342 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

We had two very enjoyable stays at this somewhat small but very comfortable hotel in an excellent area of Barcelona. The rooms were fashionable with large marble bathrooms, and we had an excellent bed both times. It was easy to get to and from the airport, using the airport bus. Get off at the Urgell stop, which is the second stop on the route (there are only three altogether). The return is one block over, and runs every five minutes during the day. Costs about ten euros for a round trip. Outside the hotel to your left on the corner is a small shop selling fresh roasted almonds, which should not be missed. They are from the local area and are the best I've ever had, and I am a big almond fan. The shop also sells fresh potato chips and some other fresh fried products, all of which we enjoyed. There are plenty of grocery stores and restaurants in the area and it is a pleasant walk (about 15 minutes) over to the Las Ramblas area. I would recommend going out the door of the hotel to your right, turn right at the first street, and walk about six blocks down to Passeig de Gracia, one of the most famous streets in Spain, turn right from there to go to the Plaza Catalunya. A couple of blocks down Gracia you will walk past one of Gaudi's apartment buildings, whicfh is a revelation if you haven't seen his work before. Next door to Gaudi's building is another famous building by Cadafalch. The market near Plaza Catalunuya at the St. Antoni subway stop should not be missed. The best fruit and vegetable market I have ever seen. Of course, we were there in May, which is a prime time. Barcelona is a lovely city, with grand boulevards, great shopping and friendly people and the Hotel Acevi is definitely recommended as a good place to explore from.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dg300zx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Barcelona
1
Reviewed 29 May 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and was very happy with our accomodation.

We arrived in the morning well before the 2 o'clock check in time but were dealt with by a very friendly woman on reception who sorted our room out very quickly which we greatly appreciated!!

Location of the hotel is good although for places to eat may have to walk further than you want to! Restuarant in the hotel has beautiful food although not much choice and alexis the waiter was very nice and welcoming!

We stayed in room 501 which was huge and very clean with a great bed which after a whole days shopping is a blessing! Didn't really check out the pool area but it looked really nice from what I saw... Only issue we had was that we paid for 2 days use of the spa.. Which again we used after a days shopping! However, the second day of use we were told the spa was closed, didn't make a big deal of it and were refunded for the inconvenience so happy people all around!!

All in all would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I were ever to come back to barcelona!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaiuk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you to choose our hotel for your stay in Barcelona. I would like to thank you as well about your reviews. We will keep working to mantain this level of servioce and to improve it.

Yours Faithfuly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

From the airport, you can take the Aerobus and the nearest stop is just around 4 blocks from the hotel. We made a mistake and got off at Plaza Catalunya, which was rather a 10-block walk - you wouldn't mind this because along the way, there's plenty of sights to see including Gaudi architectures.

The rooms are clean and spacious, there's plenty of room for two and packing your things especially if you did a lot of shopping. The toilet is clean and spacious as well, although I wonder why there wasn't any light for the shower room but it wasn't so much of a big deal. Shampoo, soap and among others provided. We also got connecting rooms as requested. Breakfast was good, eggs, sausage, bread, the basics. On our last day we had to leave early and couldn't stay for breakfast but the guy in charge in the restaurant was nice enough to hand me a cup of coffee.

I would recommend this hotel to those who'd rather stay in a more quiet residential neighborhood but walking distance towards the popular tourist areas such as Plaza Catalunya and Barri Gotic. And oh, there's a bakery around the corner, San Roman, get the chocolate covered churros, they're the best I've ever tasted!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villarroel, Director General at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoy your stay in our Hotel.

I hope to see you soon.

Yours, Faithfuly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Spent 5 nights in this hotel.Had some concerns with a website I used to make the booking and the hotel staff were brilliant, even contacting the website for me.I found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful while we were there.I was shocked to read in previous review about bag snatch in reception as I always felt very safe there.We brought a travel kettle with us ,plenty of supermarkets and cake shops nearby.We ate at a nearby restaurant called Cheese Art which was very good (you can read it up on trip adviser).Barcelona is not cheap ,expect to pay around 50 euros for main course and some drinks for 2 people.We did the 2 day bus tour which was good value.We got a good deal for 5 nights B&B (493 Euro) for double room but would not recommend paying for the breakfast if not included in your booking. Hot food consists of scrambled eggs,boiled eggs and some sausages.Did not eat any other meals in hotel or use leisure facilities.Pool is overlooked , I never seen anyone in it !.Computers on each floor with good internet speeds (free),we did not try the Wi Fi.Air conditioning in the room a bit hit and miss.We had a free safe in the room which did'nt work and despite reporting this it was never fixed during our stay.Overall we were very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quiet.The front of the hotel is on a busy road,
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

We appreciate you spend few minutes to give us your opinion about our Hotel. We want to thank you to choose our hotel for your stay in Barcelona.
We work very hard to give our best service to our guests and we take note of your comments, specially about the breakfast buffet. We keep working to improve, and your comments about the food are very important for us.
Thank you again and I hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The hotel was in a very quiet and pleasent part of Barcelona yet only a short metro journey to the centre (Las Rambla). Nearest metro station is Uddin which is no more than a 5 min walk.
Rooms were clean including the bathroom and a good size. Room comes with a mini bar and TV but no tea making faciities.
Only complaint was that the free WiFi was almost impossible to connect to with my smart phone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villarroel, Director de Recepción at Acevi Villarroel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a nice stay in our hotel. We appreciate your comments and we will take note of your suggestions.
The wifi use to work well. We would have had the opportunity to give you a solution, because reseting up the router is usually enough.
I wish you think about us if you come back to Barcelona.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Cram
Hotel Cram
#145 of 513 in Barcelona
936 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Balmes
Hotel Balmes
#122 of 513 in Barcelona
1,192 reviews
Eixample
The Mirror Barcelona
The Mirror Barcelona
#106 of 513 in Barcelona
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
Hotel Vueling BCN by Hc
#83 of 513 in Barcelona
950 reviews
Eixample
Ako Suite Hotel
Ako Suite Hotel
#187 of 513 in Barcelona
292 reviews
Poblenou
Novotel Barcelona City
Novotel Barcelona City
#177 of 513 in Barcelona
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acevi Villarroel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acevi Villarroel

Address: Villarroel, 106 | C/ Villarroel, 106, Barcelona, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#132 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $135 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Acevi Villarroel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Acevi Villarroel is a welcoming four-star hotel in central Barcelona with great facilities, ideally located for exploring the city or for a business trip. We offer comfort and modern, artistic design, good dining in our restaurant "el 106", a spa and gym, and an outdoor pool as well as the full range of services that make our establishment a luxury hotel. We also offer polyvalent meeting rooms with personalized services to enable enterprises to make their conferences, seminars, and even for cocktails and banquets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Acevi Villarroel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acevi Villarroel Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing