We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #30 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

You can't go past the location of this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Free wifi is of course a bonus. The breakfast was price but is an amazing spread. On a few mornings we opted for the €2 cafe con leche at the local La Boquoria in the Pinocchio bar. The food choices near b are amazing with the tapas in the gothic quarter not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAK_4036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,466 - 2,472 of 4,648 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2012

What a great hotel. Right in the middle of town, easy to walk to the places you need to be. La Rambla was only yards away yet we found the hotel quiet and calm.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we preferred to go out. Nor did we have breakfast - the €23 per head was too steep (even more than London!) but there were plenty of tapas places close by so we didn't miss out.

One of the highlights as mentioned by others is La Boqueria. the covered market a few minutes away. Wow, what a place - never seen the like in the UK, more's the pity.

Would we go back there - yes. Would we suggest our friends stayed there if they were in Barcelona - yes.

Without question.

Room Tip: If you are going for a special occasion then let them know. We were going for our 25th Wedding Ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian_the_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here late December into January, for 5 days before our cruise. We had a family reunion with our son who has been living in Copenhagen. He was excited to come to Barcelona for the food. He is a chef. We all stayed at Hotel 1898.
The location is perfect. We could walk everywhere, from restaurants to all Casa Mila and Casa Battlo and dont miss La Boqueria, a most amazing food market. It is so close to the hotel. We did take the hop on hop off bus for an overview of the city.
Right outside our door was the Rambla and amazing sights, sounds and smells.
The lobby of the hotel was lovely with a great bar area where we sat each night until they closed. There did not seem to be a concierge. The breakfast was really wonderful! We did not go to the spa as there is so much to do in the city, who had the time.
Great hotel in a superb location! Just walk out the door and all of Barcelona is at your feet!
We went to Cinc Sentis for New Year's Eve, a great experience (very expensive but it WAS New Year's Eve). Other restaurants were Moo (very trendy and expensive), Ciudad Condal for tapas and others I cant remember. We went to the Asian restaurant right next to the hotel 2 times. Very good..
It was our first trip to Barcelona and I am glad we chose this hotel!

Room Tip: We booked the superior room. My son had a balcony, we did not. I would have liked one! I have heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aglang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed for one night before and after a Mediterranean Cruise. Short ride from Barcelona airport. Even shorter ride to cruise terminal. Right in the heart of La Ramblas, however you could never tell from the room unless you looked outside as the windows were sooo sound proof! Gorgeous decor, a dream bed, wonderful amenities, glorious bubble bath, delicious breakfast and very accomodating and nice staff. Room was not ready as we arrived early both times, but the lobby is plush and comfortable and not too noisy.

NOTE: When walking outside on La Ramblas, be careful. Pick-pocketers do exist and are often young teenagers and swift. Keep all belongings in a cross body bag in front of you or a top inside coat pocket. We had an incident, but nothing was taken as we were prepared and our back pockets already empty.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful hotel in fantastic central location we were treated wonderfully. We were allocated a gorgeous, clean and well equipped room overlooking La Rambla and all facilities at this hotel are superb. We went on a discount package which was fantastic but we were treated no less favourably than full price customers. The breakfast buffet was the best ever and the staff brilliant, we will go back again!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jules37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We wanted a place within walking distance of the central sights and Hotel 1898 was perfect. The pool and sauna in the basement were lovely, the view from the roof was great, the bed was comfortable - I slept like a log. We didn't eat in the hotel, so I can't comment on the food, but the staff were friendly and efficient in the little interaction we had with them - the keycards didn't work initially, but a passing staff member let us into our room and called reception to send up some more. I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed at this hotel twice on the same trip - arrived in Barcelona on Christmas Eve and stayed one night in a small room, then off on to Girona to visit family for 3 days. Returned to Barcelona, knowing we had choices for many of the fine hotels, but decided to stay here again, spend the extra euros on a larger room overlooking Las Ramblas. Unfortunately for us, the room we were assisgned on the 4th floor literally shared an exterior wall with the church and BELL TOWER next door. Worse yet, the headboard of the bed was on this wall, and every 15 minutes and on the hour, LOUD BELL CLANGING went on, literally blasting and shaking us in the bed. It was awful. We decided early on it might just be a holiday thing and would end soon, but right through New Year's - BANG, BANG, BANG ALL NIGHT LONG! Since we had travelled from Denver, CO to Barcelona for a long stay, we had many suitcases and bags, most of which we were not interested in re-packing and going to the front desk to get into an argument about why they "could not move us, the hotel was full, etc". Upon check out, we mentioned this terrible inconvenience to the deskclerk in hopes he might swing a small amount of compensation our way for the awful noise. He said he would mention it to the manager, he was not empowered to do anything, but he made it VERY CLEAR TO US THAT HE HAS HAD MANY, MANY GUESTSCOMPLAIN ABOUT THIS VERY SAME ISSUE. It was obvious at this point that the hotel knew of the problem, gladly took our euros, then politely tried to downplay the very well-know problem. I decided to respond to the manager when the customary "how was your stay" email arrived about a week after our return to the US. I made it clear to the manager that I did not want a free night if we came back to Barcelona, that we should have been warned of the bell beforehand, and given the option of another room. I also made sure that the manager knew that we have travelled throughout the world, and when this sort of thing happens, and it has happened before, that advising us that" if you had just mentioned this to us, we would have moved you to an equivalent room" is the patented answer, it is easy to say after the traveller is long gone, and I didn't want to hear it. I simply asked for a small credit to my credit card, especially since we stayed twice during the same trip, and spent many euros with this nice place. The response I got from the manager ignored everything in my email request. He offered a free night if we return, he blamed the bell on the church in that he suggested it was malfunctioning (excuses), says he has NEVER heard about this issue before (odd that his entire staff knew explicitly that the clanging bell is and has been a major problem for those unfortunate enough to stay anywhere near that corner of the hotel), and advised he would have gladly switched us to another room had we said something while there (exactly what I asked him not to insult me with, as we all know this is code for covering mistakes and screwups), which I believe would have been impossible since the hotel for our room rate was booked (plus we didn't want to go to the immense trouble of packing everything up and schlepping off to another end of the hotel, which may not have fronted Las Ramblas). While the hotel was very nice, the breakfasts were high quality, I would not recommend this hotel just because of the poor, poor management response to my email. He didn't listen, didn't understand our issues, made excuses, blamed others, followed the universal code for poor service at a hotel and then basically insulted me with his email response to my complaint. We will not be back to this hotel, will not recommend it, will advise family and friends in the area to stay elsewhere and hope that by reading this review, hotel management learns and reacts more appropriately next time....and you know there will be a next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
19  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your time on TA.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We kindly inform you that due to our central location sometimes we are exposed to external factors that unfortunately we cannot control. Also in some of the cases (especially in high season and fully booked dates) we have limited range of options. We apologize again for the situation.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 515 in Barcelona
2,333 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,153 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
904 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
944 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $212 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing