We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #22 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days in the 1898 in the beginning of february.
This hotel is perfectly located on La Rambla. 5 minutes walk from Placa Catalunya where the the airport shuttle is located.

The hotel itself is beautiful, although a tad dark inside. It feels like evening all the time inside the hotel.

The Room

We had a superior room, decorated in black and white with a view to a side street.
The room itself isn't large, but is big enough, with ample wardrobe space and a big bathroom. The bed is huge, super comfortable with huge fluffy pillows.
The bathroom had a lovely full bath with waterfall shower, really nice ETRO bath products, bathrobes and slippers.
In addition there's a coffee tea set equipped with a kettle.
My favorite part of the room was the light settings, that can be changed from any part of the room and control all the lights. A small but really nice touch.

The only problem we had was with the safe which malfunctioned a few times, but the reception were quick to assist.

The Spa...
This was my favorite part. A beautiful spa equipped with two saunas and an indoor swimming pool. The spa is open from 08:00 to 21:00 which is perfect to start the day with a relaxing swim or unwind after walking around all day.

The Outdoor Pool
I ventured to the outdoor pool only once because it was freezing outside. But the pool is heated, and it's a fun experience to take a warm swim outside in the winter

The thing I could say about this hotel that isn't very good, and only because I have had a different experience in others was that the day of my arrival it was my birthday. Other hotels I have stayed at usually acknowledged this in some way. I have had far less expensive hotels send cake and wine to my room without having to even tell them it's my birthday. But that's all about hotel policy... The 1898 didn't acknowledge my birthday in any way, not even to say congratulations

Other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ayaarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,267
    883
    146
    54
    49
See reviews for
583
2,655
121
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

You can't go past the location of this hotel. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Free wifi is of course a bonus. The breakfast was price but is an amazing spread. On a few mornings we opted for the €2 cafe con leche at the local La Boquoria in the Pinocchio bar. The food choices near b are amazing with the tapas in the gothic quarter not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAK_4036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

What a great hotel. Right in the middle of town, easy to walk to the places you need to be. La Rambla was only yards away yet we found the hotel quiet and calm.

We didn't eat in the hotel as we preferred to go out. Nor did we have breakfast - the €23 per head was too steep (even more than London!) but there were plenty of tapas places close by so we didn't miss out.

One of the highlights as mentioned by others is La Boqueria. the covered market a few minutes away. Wow, what a place - never seen the like in the UK, more's the pity.

Would we go back there - yes. Would we suggest our friends stayed there if they were in Barcelona - yes.

Without question.

Room Tip: If you are going for a special occasion then let them know. We were going for our 25th Wedding Ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_the_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We stayed here late December into January, for 5 days before our cruise. We had a family reunion with our son who has been living in Copenhagen. He was excited to come to Barcelona for the food. He is a chef. We all stayed at Hotel 1898.
The location is perfect. We could walk everywhere, from restaurants to all Casa Mila and Casa Battlo and dont miss La Boqueria, a most amazing food market. It is so close to the hotel. We did take the hop on hop off bus for an overview of the city.
Right outside our door was the Rambla and amazing sights, sounds and smells.
The lobby of the hotel was lovely with a great bar area where we sat each night until they closed. There did not seem to be a concierge. The breakfast was really wonderful! We did not go to the spa as there is so much to do in the city, who had the time.
Great hotel in a superb location! Just walk out the door and all of Barcelona is at your feet!
We went to Cinc Sentis for New Year's Eve, a great experience (very expensive but it WAS New Year's Eve). Other restaurants were Moo (very trendy and expensive), Ciudad Condal for tapas and others I cant remember. We went to the Asian restaurant right next to the hotel 2 times. Very good..
It was our first trip to Barcelona and I am glad we chose this hotel!

Room Tip: We booked the superior room. My son had a balcony, we did not. I would have liked one! I have heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aglang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed for one night before and after a Mediterranean Cruise. Short ride from Barcelona airport. Even shorter ride to cruise terminal. Right in the heart of La Ramblas, however you could never tell from the room unless you looked outside as the windows were sooo sound proof! Gorgeous decor, a dream bed, wonderful amenities, glorious bubble bath, delicious breakfast and very accomodating and nice staff. Room was not ready as we arrived early both times, but the lobby is plush and comfortable and not too noisy.

NOTE: When walking outside on La Ramblas, be careful. Pick-pocketers do exist and are often young teenagers and swift. Keep all belongings in a cross body bag in front of you or a top inside coat pocket. We had an incident, but nothing was taken as we were prepared and our back pockets already empty.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful hotel in fantastic central location we were treated wonderfully. We were allocated a gorgeous, clean and well equipped room overlooking La Rambla and all facilities at this hotel are superb. We went on a discount package which was fantastic but we were treated no less favourably than full price customers. The breakfast buffet was the best ever and the staff brilliant, we will go back again!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jules37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We wanted a place within walking distance of the central sights and Hotel 1898 was perfect. The pool and sauna in the basement were lovely, the view from the roof was great, the bed was comfortable - I slept like a log. We didn't eat in the hotel, so I can't comment on the food, but the staff were friendly and efficient in the little interaction we had with them - the keycards didn't work initially, but a passing staff member let us into our room and called reception to send up some more. I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,381 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
849 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,108 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing