We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLE”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Best hotel ever! Fantastic! such a great location for everything, fantastic. Great facilities, lovely pool on the roof (with great seating area and views of Barcelona) and lovely pool in the basement as well. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aimee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,415 - 2,421 of 4,592 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights in January on a romantic getaway and early Valentines and it didn't disappoint. Probably one of the chicest places I've stayed and was very atmospheric. Mood lighting in rooms where the whole of the lighting system will change throughout the room with the click of a switch, pillow menus, rain showers the works. It's location right on La Rambla means that you could just walk out of the hotel and be handy for everywhere including the square to catch the airport shuttle, taxi's or the bus tours. I found Barcelona an amazing city and very easy to get around and this hotel certainly made my stay. We went in January but I would imagine the roof would come alive during the summer. There was a lovely roof top pool which was heated and bar/seating area. Any questions please ask.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

On a rare child-free few days away, we opted for the 1898 in Barcelona. Passed by it lots of times before, and liked the look of it, so booked for four nights.
We were pleased with our choice. Its a gorgeous hotel. It's so good location-wise, that we couldn't go wrong.It's about five minute walk to Placa Catalunya.
I loved the room, and it was surprisingly quiet, considering its location on La Rambla.
Clean bathrooms and bedroom, with our own balcony, with plenty of toiletries.
E25 taxi fare in from the airport.
We didn't eat dinner, but had great breakfasts. We didn't use the spa or pool, not enough time this trip. Too busy eating Tapas and drinking Cerveza! Did have cocktails in the Lobby bar and could have stayed longer on all occasions. Life is tough!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bikies_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

A beautifully designed hotel with a roof top view of the city (as well as a pool and dining area) all in the center of Barcelona’s La Rambla...account for a great hotel!
We stayed at 1898 with our 1.5 year old baby girl in June 2011 and loved the hotel and service. Our room had a cute baby crib waiting upon our check in and the staff was more than happy to help out with any question we had and helped us locate some missing bags.
The hotel is located in a prime location (a 5 min walk from la Boqueria market - a must visit) as well as many other major attractions such as shopping areas, the old city, the port etc, etc. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel, especially for couples.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights - it is well located and nice to walk from through the gothic area at all hours.

We checked in here after staying our first 2 nights at Hotel Arts - everyone was professional but the Hotel lacked the warmth and service level we had just come from at the Club Leveles of Hotel Artes for the same nightly rates. we went through withdraw of our complementary drinks and food and conversational staff.

It has a beautiful rooftop with heated pool but unfortunately no service at this time of year. We also did not take advantage of the spa and indoor pool in the basement area which looked very nice.

The room was nice and comfortable - we stayed on the 5th level and had our own balcony - the parapet wall was high so it felt more like a courtyard - I could see this being much more worth it on a warm summers day. The bedding lacked down pillows and instead seemed like foam. The shower had a slow drain but was fixed promptly within 5 minutes of alerting the front desk.

The wifi was complementary - as it should be - the lobby area was very nice with lots of room to lounge.

We enjoyed being able to walk out the door into the older parts of the city and thought the hotel was beautiful - it just felt uneecessarily expensive when compared to our prior hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nolatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in H1898. It was lovely. Our room was on the 2nd floor with windows facing internal terrace, nevertheless it was very quite and nice, despite the lack of view. Spacey and clean room, with daily service made it ideal place to rest. Big bathroom with nice shower also is what I liked. There is no ironing service there, but it won't be a trouble, if you know that already.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartaRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel is gorgeous, it is very well decorated and comfortable. The rooms are more spacious than I am used to in Europe, which was a nice benefit. If you want to see the sights in Barcelona, this is a great place to stay - it is right off of La Rambla but there is no noticeable noise from the streets while you are sleeping. There is a quaint and fun little bar in the hotel that is a great place to start the night. We had a gorgeous drink with chilis. If you stay here you should not need a taxi to most places. The Sagrada Familia is not within walking distance but everything else is. If you are one of those people who must have their Starbucks, there is one right beside the hotel, although the coffee is Spain is incredible. On a side note, there are two little cafes right behind the hotel should you need coffee or food quickly but want to venture outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1898, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 29 February 2012

Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had a marvellous stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services and facilities!

It was our pleasure to have you at our hotel and looking forward to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Nuria Graells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
893 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
924 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,129 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#29 of 515 in Barcelona
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $268 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing