We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as expected.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #23 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just as expected.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from Spain. Hotel 1898 was just as expected from the other tripadvisor reviews and the hotel website. We were in Room 401, a Classic corner unit. The room itself was well-appointed. The decor was quite sophisticated, in dark green, wood, and silver hardware. The bed was larger than the ones in the other hotels we stayed in during our trip. I would consider it a true king. The air conditioning worked perfectly. Wireless internet was free. As for toiletries, from what I can remember, you're provided with tooth brushes, a shaving kit, shower cap, comb, shampoo, lotion, body wash, and two pairs of slippers. The room has some neat technology. The mirror in the bathroom does not fog up. The light switch has various levels of intensity (regular, welcome, reading, relax, etc.). Room 401 has a small balcony (less than a foot in width so you can't go out there). There is no view. They provide one bottle of water upon check-in. However, all other water is from the mini bar, which is not free. No irons are provided.

There are two swimming pools, one on the roof top and another on the bottom floor. The one on the bottom floor looks just like what you see on the website pictures. The roof top pool is kind of small. Although the pools are heated, we skipped the upstairs pool b/c it was too cold and rainy. Even if you don't go swimming in the roof top pool, the roof top deck is definitely worth checking out. The set up is nice and the views are amazing. There is a bar up there. (However, it wasn't open when we were there. Probably b/c it was too cold.) I can imagine that during warmer weather it would be very cool to hang out up there. There is a fitness room & spa. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to check out either. The fitness room did look well equipped with up-to-date machines. The spa also looked very nice.

The hotel is located in a great spot. It is close to the Metro and right in the midst of all the fun on the Rambla. From the hotel we were able to walk to most sights. (My husband and I are walkers.) We did take the metro to Sagrada Familia. From Sagrada Familia, we walked a ways and caught a bus to Parc Gruell. We never got to Barceloneta, so I cannot attest to whether that distance is walkable. Judging from the map however, I'm sure it would have been fine.

Our favorite places in Barcelona were the Picasso Museum, our self-tour of Gaudi's work (which, included Park Gruell, Sagrada Familia, & the homes on the Block of Discord), and the Catalan Concert Hall. The Concert Hall is beautiful. You can buy tickets for a tour during the day. Or, you can do what we did...We bought the cheapest tickets ($29/person) for a classic guitar concert at night. It was one of the most memorable moments we had in Barcelona.

We used Rick Steves as our guide.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ckingadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,149
    857
    143
    52
    48
See reviews for
560
2,565
116
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Hotel is really beautiful and the location is very central. The Experior Room was very spacious and even faced the street it wasn't that noisy. The beds and pillows are wonderful and we slept very well.

Breakfast is a bit expensive but worth it. It was a great buffet with wonderful fresh food.

The Spa was very nice and clean. We loved it. The negative was that other tourists do use the Sauna without towels and they were very noisy...so it's not that easy to relax.

The only negative i can admit was the hotel staff at the reception (especially the chief of reception), they were so arrogant. They do not even try to understand you if you don't speak catalan or english (italian is similar to spanish). And once you checked out and have another questions or need any advise the were rude and arrogant!

Allover it was a very pleasant stay and we enjoyed the hotel very much!

Room Tip: Pick a Experior Room, they are much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We checked in at the H1898 inthe beginning of April. We had reserved a so called classical room as we wanted to avoid any street noise. The room was very small and facing a very small inner court. But that had been alright if the AC had functioned. It did not. After complaints, several service personell tried to fix it but without result.From the reception desk the only answer was: Stay in the room - it will take a few minutes for the AC to cool the room. We stayed for two hours, the temperature was all the time over 25 degrees. When we were about to give up and move to another hotel, the receptionist accepted that there was someting wrong and upgraded us to a somewhat bigger room with functioning AC.

After that we enjoyed our stay at the H1898. We were even asked if we would, as a compensation, wish to move to an even better room. Having moved once, we declined, however. So, the conclusion is that the hotel is fine but the reception personell could be more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lennart27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Looking for a hotel in the core of Barcelona? This is the spot. At the high end of the price scale, but worth the extra cost based upon the excellent concierge service (delivered FC Barca tickets to a sold out game), rooftop pool and underground parking.

Rooms are comfortable and have reasonable toiletries. Don't look for a fitness room.

Room Tip: If you want to experience the Barcelona nightlife, then ask for a room facing La Rambla. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randomvector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Would have given 1898 a 5... But after a lovely stay they charged us for Breakfast even though my Rate Included Breakfast and not only that on the last day I did not even have Breakfast but they charged anyway....left a very bad taste in my mouth for this hotel so beware!!

Seems their "Breakfast Included" rate is simply a discount on breakfast and not Free or Included...this is not spelled out at all on website or confirmation....just turned into another required fee which caused us to pay even more when one of us slept in and did not eat!

Room Tip: Get clear details on what is included.....breakfast really is not!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nana541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
644 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Very centrally located at Ramblas. Staff was very friendly and attentive. They were always one step ahead of us when it came to eg asking us if we wanted our luggage taken care of. Breakfast was very nice. The breakfast room did not have that many windows, so it was a bit dark. The bed room was nice. At the roof top there was a swimming pool and a bar to use. I would very much like to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I have been fortunate enough to visit Barcelona maybe 5 or 6 times. I love this city. The food, the night life, the culture, the people. Everything.

I have stayed in youth hostels to 5 star hotels in Barcelona but this was the first time I actually stayed on La Rambla. It was AMAZING! You really do feel like you are part of the city. It can be noisy and a little rowdy but being from London, I am use to this.

The hotel is bang on La Rambla. Perfect for exploring Barri Gotic or El Raval. The hotel has an entrance on La Rambla and also a side entrance. Look for Carrefour Supermarket and it is just after that.

Staff: Always ready to assist. Reception staff were very helpful. Bar staff very friendly.

Rooms: We had a deluxe room looking over La Rambla. It is a little noisy but there is double glazing and the evening hustle and bustle didn't bother us at all. Rooms were modern and really clean. Bathrooms had shower over the bath. Bed VERY comfortable and there is a pillow menu.

Room Service: Great food. Quick delivery. Not sure if it is 24 Hour.

Spa: LOVELY! Just what you need after spending the day exploring the city. Sauna, Steam room, indoor swimming pool, massage showers etc. Very nice although the pool was a little cold. There is also a small gym.

Bar: Nice bar area in lobby. Good menu and tapas/bar food menu.

There is an outdoor pool and a bar on the roof but we didn't use it.

Breakfast: We only had breakfast on one morning. We opted for the Hotel 1898 breakfast which was lovely.

There is a Starbucks coffee shop next door to the hotel where we quickly/easily picked up coffee on the mornings we missed breakfast and needed some caffeine!

Barcelona is a great city. You can not go wrong with this hotel. I will definitely stay again. Although I have stayed at their sister hotel Hotel B - also in Barcelona and that too was awesome.

Room Tip: Choose a room looking over La Rambla. Although rooms with an interior view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TIpperGee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel DO
Hotel DO
#8 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing