We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing terrace!”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #26 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Great central location and a magnificent terrace. Staff were great and rooms beautifully furnished.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euroroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,390 - 2,396 of 4,595 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

I spent two nights during Christhmas 2011 in Barcelona in 1898. It was perfect. Location is best. Service is very good. I booked through Expedia.com and we got a very large room. I dont know if we were upgraded, but the room was far larger than others as I could see when other rooms were beeing serviced. The best part of the hotel is the decoration. The combination of old, colonial style, with modern fashion is amazing. Nothing cold -so common in modern style-, nothing kitsch: elegant, outstandind quality. We had only an inconvinience: after a night shower, we could open the bathtub tap, and it remained full of water. We called reception, and even if they send someone, he was not a technical employee, so they could not work it out. Yet, after some 'forcing' I suceeded in opening and empty the bath tub. Yet, this was a minor inconvinience, that did not ruin at all a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olabitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Checked in on Fri 13th April for a long weekend with my partner and two friends. Our friends had stayed here previously and enjoyed it so much they suggested it again for this trip. I am so glad they did as overall this is a gem of a hotel and an excellent hotel for exploring wonderful Barcelona!
It is situated on La Rambla and is centrally located and convenient for most of the sites, especially the Old Town and Port area. It is a short ish cab ride from the airport too.
Whilst the reception is dark it feels like you've walked into a Ralph Lauren show room. There is lots of black and browns, large furniture and heavy curtains and blinds, making it very stylish and sophisticated. It has a lot of beautiful period features which have been tastefully incorporated into the look and feel. We were allocated a room on the 6th floor (I requested a room on a high floor when I made the booking as I'd read reports about noise issues on lower floors) and I am pleased we were up high for a couple of reasons. Firstly, we simply had to leave our room, turn the corner, walk up a stair case and we were out on the beautiful roof deck complete with plentiful loungers, chairs, bar and swimming pool! The panoramic views across the city were wonderful and it is a great way to unwind after spending a day exploring the city. Secondly, it is very quiet up on the 6th floor and you have fantastic views out across the city skyline.
The basement Spa is also delightful with a nice pool, steam room and sauna and massage facilities and gym. It is nice to have this facility to use and enjoy and a great way to relax.
Whilst the rooms are not massive, it shouldn't take the shine of the hotel as hopefully you'll be out enjoying the city. The room are well appointed and decorated. The beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms is also nice.
Generally the service in the hotel was of a good standard. We only experienced helpful, friendly and professional staff.
Breakfast was of a good quality and at 22 euros per person seemed reasonable for the variety on offer. Check breakfast is included in your rate as ours wasn't even though we thought it was.
We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend strongly to others.

Room Tip: The 6th floor is the best in our opinion....we stayed in room 602
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonMarkMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I was there for short weekend stay. Place is very nice in terms of arquitecture and desing. Standard rooms are bit small and price a bit too high. Anyway sleeping was great in a very confortable bed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Armando_74a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Booked last minute, based on Trip Advisor reviews using lastminute.com. Very easy to get to from the airport bus, in fact location could not be better. Reception and bar cool and rooms are great, had loads of fun at the roof top pool. Would recommend in every way, only downside is drinks are seriously expensive. Fave nearby bar and tapas Bar Lobo - awesome!

Stayed: March 2012
3  Thank darkestperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My husband and I just got back from Spain. Hotel 1898 was just as expected from the other tripadvisor reviews and the hotel website. We were in Room 401, a Classic corner unit. The room itself was well-appointed. The decor was quite sophisticated, in dark green, wood, and silver hardware. The bed was larger than the ones in the other hotels we stayed in during our trip. I would consider it a true king. The air conditioning worked perfectly. Wireless internet was free. As for toiletries, from what I can remember, you're provided with tooth brushes, a shaving kit, shower cap, comb, shampoo, lotion, body wash, and two pairs of slippers. The room has some neat technology. The mirror in the bathroom does not fog up. The light switch has various levels of intensity (regular, welcome, reading, relax, etc.). Room 401 has a small balcony (less than a foot in width so you can't go out there). There is no view. They provide one bottle of water upon check-in. However, all other water is from the mini bar, which is not free. No irons are provided.

There are two swimming pools, one on the roof top and another on the bottom floor. The one on the bottom floor looks just like what you see on the website pictures. The roof top pool is kind of small. Although the pools are heated, we skipped the upstairs pool b/c it was too cold and rainy. Even if you don't go swimming in the roof top pool, the roof top deck is definitely worth checking out. The set up is nice and the views are amazing. There is a bar up there. (However, it wasn't open when we were there. Probably b/c it was too cold.) I can imagine that during warmer weather it would be very cool to hang out up there. There is a fitness room & spa. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to check out either. The fitness room did look well equipped with up-to-date machines. The spa also looked very nice.

The hotel is located in a great spot. It is close to the Metro and right in the midst of all the fun on the Rambla. From the hotel we were able to walk to most sights. (My husband and I are walkers.) We did take the metro to Sagrada Familia. From Sagrada Familia, we walked a ways and caught a bus to Parc Gruell. We never got to Barceloneta, so I cannot attest to whether that distance is walkable. Judging from the map however, I'm sure it would have been fine.

Our favorite places in Barcelona were the Picasso Museum, our self-tour of Gaudi's work (which, included Park Gruell, Sagrada Familia, & the homes on the Block of Discord), and the Catalan Concert Hall. The Concert Hall is beautiful. You can buy tickets for a tour during the day. Or, you can do what we did...We bought the cheapest tickets ($29/person) for a classic guitar concert at night. It was one of the most memorable moments we had in Barcelona.

We used Rick Steves as our guide.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ckingadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The Hotel is really beautiful and the location is very central. The Experior Room was very spacious and even faced the street it wasn't that noisy. The beds and pillows are wonderful and we slept very well.

Breakfast is a bit expensive but worth it. It was a great buffet with wonderful fresh food.

The Spa was very nice and clean. We loved it. The negative was that other tourists do use the Sauna without towels and they were very noisy...so it's not that easy to relax.

The only negative i can admit was the hotel staff at the reception (especially the chief of reception), they were so arrogant. They do not even try to understand you if you don't speak catalan or english (italian is similar to spanish). And once you checked out and have another questions or need any advise the were rude and arrogant!

Allover it was a very pleasant stay and we enjoyed the hotel very much!

Room Tip: Pick a Experior Room, they are much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monster77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
893 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
925 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 515 in Barcelona
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,129 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: $266 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing