We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,080)
Filter reviews
5,080 results
Traveller rating
3,811
975
171
66
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,811
975
171
66
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviews la rambla rooftop pool basement spa tobacco company superior room classic room privilege room pillow menu tapas steam room perfect location private terrace side street street noise gothic quarter the heart of the city small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 5,080 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Everything was superb about Hotel 1898, great location in the heart of Las Ramblas, incredibly helpful, well informed and welcoming staff, wonderful breakfast selection and excellent ambiance. Our room was spotless, very comfortable beds and all the touches you'd expect from a luxury brand.
The spa was lovely, a very relaxing atmosphere with good sized sauna and steam rooms.
Although the weather wasn't very kind to us we did venture to the roof top pool terrace and the views across Barcelona were stunning.
Would definitely return to this hotel and highly recommend it to make your break that extra bit special.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrailBlazer589742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierTorrente, Experience Manager at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Good afternoon!

Wow!. Thank you really much!

We really love to see you enjoyed your stay with us this much :).

This is now your house, so please don´t hesitate to contact us next time you come to Barcelona!

We really hope to see you soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

What a great location! Right in the heart of Las Ramblas.. We were a few steps from St. Joseph’s market. We had a corner room facing Las Ramblas so we could hear the street noise but it didn’t bother us. Our room did back up to a church so we did hear church bells frequently but the were charming. This hotel is lovely with fine appointments. The rooftop bar, restaurant and pool are wonderful. We spent several afternoons just lazing around on the roof.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judycD6364ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierTorrente, Experience Manager at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Good afternoon Judy!

What a nice review!. Thank you!

We really love to see you enjoyed your stay with us this much (the rooftop views are great right :) ?)

This is now your house!, so please don´t hesitate to contact us next time you come to Barcelona!

We really hope to see you soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Thanks to the overall staff for fixing us the impression of being unique guests, for their efficacy and gentleness!
Special thanks to the receptionist Raquel who was so kind from the beginning to the end of the sejour, and to the breakfast team, always serving with smile and remembering your preferences, previous comment... and to the Ould receptionist who gives an image of authenticity To the hotel, always smiling and servicing too!
Go there and appreciate Catalan hospitality, this is a pure jewel.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Navigate42769347692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierTorrente, Experience Manager at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Good afternoon!

Thank you for your nice feddback :). This is our goal, make everyone welcome in our house!

We really love to see you enjoyed your stay with us this much :).

This is now your house!, so please don´t hesitate to contact us next time you come to Barcelona!

We really hope to see you soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

1898 was highly recommended by our son and daughter-law. The hotel is outstanding. The ambiance, the hotel employees, the amenities, the food, the service , the scent of Jasmine wafting through the air all contributed to our special experience. When we first arrived we were warmly greeted by the staff. I inquired about taking tours and Fanny was most helpful in booking them as well as restaurant reservations. We spent part of the next day in the hotel spa. The grotto pool and steam room were fabulous. The decor of the lobby and our classic room was classic and eclectic. The bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was large. The buffet breakfast was delicious. The selections and options were quite adequate. The welcome drink and music was a nice surprise. In addition, they have a rooftop pool and bar; however, it was raining during our stay so we couldn't take advantage of it. We also enjoyed having water ready available in the lobby and in our room.
Rebecca and Rachel at the front were so kind and helpful a well as were all the employees. Our stay in Barcelona was magical. We can't wait to stay at 1898 again.

Room tip: Our room was on the second floor with a terrace. Very quiet. Perfect for us.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Happiness45086857230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierTorrente, Experience Manager at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Good afternoon!

What a beautiful review!. Thank you! (regards from Fanny, Jasmine, Rachel and Rebecca)

We really love to see you enjoyed your stay with us this much :).

This is now your house!, so please don´t hesitate to contact us next time you come to Barcelona!

We really hope to see you soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

This feels like a luxury hotel with opulent décor and although we just had a classic room, it was spacious with a lovely bathroom. The beds were super comfy as were the pillows, but even if they weren't right for others, they have a pillow menu to request different types!
The breakfasts were fabulous with lots of choice and the presentation was amazing.
The staff were really helpful throughout the hotel and all the ones we spoke to had excellent English so it was really reassuring to get their help and support when needed. The location is unbeatable, right on La Rambla with many sights and all the Gothic Quarter within easy walking distance. We even walked to Sagrada Familia which takes 30 mins but is an interesting walk. We used the pool and sauna in the spa which were beautiful and clean, and very quiet so a great place to relax. Overall an excellent hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenCopestake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XavierTorrente, Experience Manager at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Good afternoon Helen!

Wow!. Thank you from heart!

We really love to see you enjoyed your stay with us this much :).

This is now your house!, so please don´t hesitate to contact us next time you come to Barcelona!

We really hope to see you soon. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews