We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not stay here not worth your money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barcelona City Centre Hostal
Ranked #270 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We are arrive after 6 pm.and do you know what ? i have to go to get the keys by ourself .Because no body there.and we were serching and seching for hotel.Abslut cant find it..we take more than 2 hours to get to hotel.Because that is a little builing with alot of it.Hotel locate on second floor.Breakfast is terrible for this price totally not worth it.we booked this hotel via booking.com price per night is 240 euro. absluute waste of money
Nobody ever have to stay here.ever

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2017

Awful service. Had horrible issues trying to reserve a room on a business trip. Staff are not nice over the phone. Rooms are just okay nothing more than that. In my opinion, pictures don't do it justice. I would NEVER stay here again. I left earlier than planned because I did not like it.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hildur883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

The place was clean but it wasn't what I expected it was a very small room it was more like sharing a house with lots of people in different rooms, too expensive for this disappointment. Plus we got money stolen from our bags. If I could give it 0 stars I would.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Alejaao96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here during MWC2016. Ok wifi. Cold water in the shower in the morning...a bit heavy wake up! Rooms need a good scrubdown and a upgrade. The bed had got e new smaller madrass so it was a bit strange. No sitting area as advertised. Breakfast, do not include, use the nearby cafe instead.
Location and service was ok.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Rune F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

The hotel has a good location! Convenient to travel around the city center on foot! Close to public transport infrastructure. Hotels content matches the description. According to my point of view a good price-quality ratio! I recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iglici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

This hostal, with an undoubted great location and very helpful on-the-ground-staff, is ill-suited for foreign visitors because of its unsanitary conditions and lack of a good customer-service culture. If you would like to enjoy your vacations in Barcelona, don´t stay there. My room with private bath had cockroaches, mold in the bathroom, a broken shower, a broken refrigerator and a malfunctioning air conditioning. Here follows a translated synopsis of the official complaint I filed with the Generalitat de Catalunya (see the original complaint form in Spanish bellow in the "photos to share" section) that I encourage you to read if considering a stay in this facility: The day of my arrival in the morning, I noticed the broken shower and all the other problems. When I returned at night, nothing had been fixed, and a note written by its staff suggested that I shower with a hose until the next day, because he could not fix it (he was not a plumber nor handy man, it should have not been his responsibility.) Coincidentally, that same day I got an allergic skin rash reaction and I really needed to shower. I paid 80 euros per night and I thought I was entitled to something that I paid for. Meanwhile, I saw the cockroaches, the mold, the dirtiness. There is no reception on site, so you have to call the office in a nearby hotel, but the free Wi-Fi is so poor, that I hardly could establish a connection through Skype. I went to the hotel and explained everything. The receptionist was very kind and understanding. There were no rooms available where I was staying, so he offered a tiny room in the hotel for one night. I had to carry some of my belongings by foot from one place to the other, not far away, and I woke up with a huge insect bite in my feet, not sure if from a bed bug.

Due to this disastrous experience, the next day I informed, cordially, that I wanted to check out –I had already paid for 4 nights– because, truly, this was my vacation and I wanted a peaceful stay. They could, of course, fix the shower, but not eradicate the pests. Well, the management was reluctant to refund me. I insisted, so at the end, the hotel charged me for two nights: the first night in which I hardly slept and then the second night because of its 24-hour cancellation policy. I though it was very unfair, because I was not cancelling due to my own faults like flight delays, etc, but because of the unsanitary condition they fostered. Therefore, I had to book another hotel last-minute so I ended paying two hotels for one same night. I then decided to file an official complaint – and members of its staff actually encouraged me to do it. But this is not the end of the story.

A week and half later, I returned to the U.S. and reviewed my credit card statements online. I had four unauthorized charges in two stores (up to 900$ in fraud.) These charges over the phone, with the card’s security code, were made after I checked in in this facility and before I made my next purchase with this card a few days later. I immediately contacted the fraud department of Bank of America, the issuer of my card. The bank is investigating and I am not liable for the charges. Thought there is no proof of who used the credit card number to commit fraud, it did not surprised me that it happened specifically after my payment to Barcelona City Center Hostal. I lost trust in this place and still can’t believe how such thing can occurred in world-class city with hundred of thousands of tourists. I hope the Generalitat –the regional government– can send inspectors and enforce basic sanitary laws. The manager justified the pests, alleging that the building was too old and that they had already tried fumigating. When I went to Tourist Information Office to file the form, they said that the excuse was not valid. Folks, be careful about this place. I normally prefer not to give bad reviews if I am not satisfied, specially because I care about the jobs of the employees. This time, though, I am compelled to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015 via mobile

My friend and I stayed in a private room for two nights and we loved our room as it came with a TV and a balcony. The staff on site was very friendly and helpful, and was great at doing her job. However, within 10 minutes of arriving the owner came in to our room to hang up a picture, and asked us to help him. I didn't mind at first, but hanging up the picture was complicated and took longer than expected, and dust was flying everywhere into our eyes and all over the double bed. To add insult to injury (literally) he started making comments to my friend when she sat down after 20 or so minutes of helping and said things like "you've relaxed long enough" and "your friend is working harder than you are." I have to say it was a first I was asked to do manual labour and get insulted at the same time. Perhaps he should let the girl on staff deal with guests, or hire more people to help him around the hostel rather than guests who paid to stay here on vacation.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank FlowerGypsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#65 of 517 in Barcelona
1,662 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#407 of 517 in Barcelona
272 reviews
Barcelona City Seven
#134 of 308 in Barcelona
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#23 of 739 in Barcelona
1,617 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#121 of 308 in Barcelona
108 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#66 of 739 in Barcelona
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Centre Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Centre Hostal

Address: Balmes, 60. Entresuelo, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: $61 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barcelona City Centre Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellcome to Barcelona City Centre! This accommodation allows you to enjoy a privileged location in Barcelona that will allow you to sleep one step away from everywhere. Just three blocks away from Catalunya square, Las Ramblas or the gothic quarter; near Passeig de Gràcia, the touristic bus, Gaudi’s Casa Batlló and the modernistm route. The rooms offer you everything necessary to have a pleasant stay, an experience you will wish to repeat. All rooms are air-conditioned and enjoy private bathroom, tv, satellite tv, free wi-fi acces to internet, hairdryer, refrigerator...Furthermore, any of our guest rooms include access to all the services and facilities of the common area, with the possibility of using a computer with internet acces for free, microwave, kettle, cups, vending machine…Enjoy the city, sleep easy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelona City Centre Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona City Centre Hostal Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing