We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A top Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Olivia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #33 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A top Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in Feb. If you are looking for a luxury hotel and lots of space in your room then this is not the hotel to choose, its a classy boutique hotel.
As far as city centre boutique hotels go it was almost faultless. the staff were excellent, helpful, friendly, professional. The decor throughout is pleasing to the eye. Cleanliness spotless. Location is bang in the middle of the city- Plaza Catalunya - vibrant during the day but quiet throughout the night when you want to sleep.
Breakfast had a nice assortment of choices sufficient to keep us going past luchtime with an unlimited supply of real coffee and real fruit juice.
The only negative aspects of out stay were a noisy person getting out of the lift one night which woke us, so ask to be away from the lift and you'll be ok.
To sum up, Muchas Grasias Olivia Plaza - Excelente

Room Tip: Room not near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWoz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    573
    122
    29
    23
See reviews for
314
954
60
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at this property for a 5 night stay and enjoyed it. As many people have written, the location was perfect, we did not have a car so it was nice having public transportation just outside the hotel door. The room was very clean and modern looking. The internet worked perfectly from our room. The bed was comfortable and had medium firmness. We had a park view and the street noise was minimal. The staff was very helpful with questions regarding our daily sightseeing. We did not eat at the restaurant. The only issue with our room is that it did have an alarm clock and the daily made service did not provide wash clothes. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLG4127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear CLG4127,

Thank you so much for your nice review and for recommending the Olivia Plaza hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We will take note of the issues you talk about, so we can improve our service.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

By going online we got 4 days for the price of three, which turned out to be good value for money. This did not include breakfast, but I would recommend going out for breakfast, as eating breakfast in the hotel is very expensive. There are lots of good local places to eat.

The hotel overlooks Catalunya Square, and is ideal for getting round the rest of Barcelona, either on foot, or using public transport - all forms of which pass through the square. Rooms are modern, well-designed comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful (although I didn't like the restaurant they recommended, and gave us a discount voucher for.) Free use of computers, and free wi-fi. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiromanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear chiromanzi1,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review of your stay. We are happy to read that you would return back to the hotel in case you would come back to Barcelona again.

I hope to welcome you soon.

Kindest regards,

Raimon Senpau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The location is perfect and the view from the windows facing to Plaza de Catalunya is stunning (the size of the windows is from floor to the ceiling). Also liked the layout of the decoration, it was nice that you could brush your teeth while seeing the city view. The size of our room, 809, was big enough. Rain shower a nice plus. Personnel in the reception very nice and helpful, got good restaurant recommendations from them. Airport bus stop 50m away, convenient. This was my sixth time in Barcelona, always stayed in different 3-4 star hotels and Olivia Plaza is definately the best one. Would stay there again.

Odd smell in the room 809, like after shave bottle broken down in the floor or old smell of smoking? In the evenings WiFi didn´t work so well in the room. In the mornings it worked almost normally.

Room Tip: Ask a room with a view to Plaza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pampula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oliviaplazahotel, General Manager at Olivia Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Pampula,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It makes us want to keep working and improving every day. Hope we see you soon back at the Olivia Plaza hotel.

Kind regards,

Raimon Senpau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were in BCN for 2 weeks for business. This was the perfect location to be in the city. Right at the main metro stop and right on Placa Catalunya at the intersection of several fabulous neighborhoods. Easy to get to work on the metro, then to shopping and restaurants in the evenings.

I had a room facing the Placa, and I would have thought it would be noisy, but it was very quiet and the black-out blinds make it nice and dark for sleeping. The mattress was an American sized King (nice!) but was a little firm, still, pretty dang good for a European bed! Some people complained about the flooring being marked, up but I didn't mind it. It was clean.

Customer service is not exactly the same in BCN as it is at home in the states, yet we were pleasantly surprised to find excellent customer service at the Olivia Plaza... from the front desk to the wait staff in the restaurant (remembering our favorite drinks :). Even the doorman was always friendly.

Only complaint: the wifi is really weak in the rooms and there are no LAN connections for internet. Also, they don't use a WEP key you can enter once and have your device remember... it makes to route to a web page to log in EVERY time you want to access the wifi... total pain! So basically, I had to be in the lobby to access a connection. Since my smart phone only uses wifi while I'm out of my home country, this was a huge pain for me. Also, I didn't really want to be conducting work in the lobby. If this had been a better experience, I would have given the Olivia Plaza a rating of excellent.

I suggest taking the AeroBus from the airport.. only 5,30 euro (at the time) each way and it stops about 200ft from the hotel entrance! Bus was clean and comfortable with plenty of room for luggage. No reservations needed.

Jan-Feb is a great time to shop in BCN. Even though the euro is strong against the USD, there are lots of sales to enjoy this time of year. September is beautiful and not too touristy too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sassalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Location was superb. Close to everything but yet quiet enough not to hear noise from the street. Staff very courteous and pleasant. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We are three sisters just back from a 4 day break in Barcelona. Having trolled through the internet we eventually came across a little gem in the city centre - the Olivia Plaza Hotel right on the Placa de Catalunya. This hotel is in an excellent location for sightseeing, shopping or just rambling around the city. The airport bus and also the bus tours are located nearby. If you would lke some retail therapy the large department store, El Cortes Ingles and Passeig de Gracia are close by with La Rambla just a stone's throw away.

We cannot speak highly enough regarding the staff. We were warmly welcomed at reception by Rebecca and offered a complimentary bottle of cava as we were celebrating a birthday. We had two adjoining rooms on the 10th floor with a magnificient view of Placa de Catalunya. We were a little worried that it would be noisy at night but not a sound from the street was heard. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with really comfortable beds. I think the hotel is suitable for all ages - whether it is a family, couple or a girls break away.

All of the staff in this hotel are exceptional - so friendly, polite and helpful, We would particularly like to mention the ever smiling Rebecca at reception, Fernando who was so helpful and the good humoured Sergio who made our stay so pleasant. The staff are truly an excellent asset to this hotel.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the Olivia Plaza while visiting Barcelona. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#60 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Room Mate Pau
Room Mate Pau
#32 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#7 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#82 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#50 of 519 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Plaza Hotel

Property: Olivia Plaza Hotel
Address: Plaza Catalunya, 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Plaza is a 4-star boutique hotel located on Plaça Catalunya in Barcelona, in the heart of the city. It's the perfect choice to be just moments away from Modernista Barcelona, Les Rambles, the financial and shopping districts and the best museums. This modern, urban building opened its doors in February 2006. The Hotel has 113 rooms, each stylishly decorated with special care and good taste. The hotel combines style, comfort, quality and personalized service to provide all guests, whether business or pleasure, with the best possible service. Its privileged location allows guests to walk to Barcelona's most emblematic monuments, as well as to the city's best shopping areas. Likewise, it is very close to many public transport options so guests can move around the city or to and from the Barcelona Airport, with the Aerobús just outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Olivia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Hotel
Olivia Plaza Barcelona
Olivia Plaza Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing