We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay!”
Review of Hotel Catalunya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Catalunya
Ranked #315 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Great staff, great location, great breakfast. I'd come back in a heartbeat! Easily accessible to public transportation and near everything! La Rambla just minutes away. Lots of shopping, restaurants, everything you need for a great trip.

Room Tip: Location, location, location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

Hotel Catalunya is easy to get to from the Barcelona airport - take the bus to the Plaza Catalunya (city center) and it is a few blocks away. It is just off La Rambla. Easy walk to the Picasso Museum, La Sagrada Familia, the Basilica of Santa Maria Del Mar. the public market, beach, etc ...the list goes on and on.

The hotel accommodations are simple and clean. My room overlooked a side street and building, so it was quiet. A breakfast buffet is across the street in another hotel for a fee, or, there are shops open early right next door for coffee, pastries, sandwiches, etc. The grocery store is a few blocks away for any other needs. Lots of wonderful restaurants and shops are close by. As noted in other reviews, the location is perfect.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The best thing about this Hotel is the location ! we did not use a taxi besides when we arrived from the airport and left to go back to the airport. We walked everywhere, we shopped alot too, considering being in the heart of the city. The hotel was perfect for our needs ! Clean , nice , not too small, we found it quiet at night unlike the reviews I had read before booking this hotel. I suppose we were on the side of the building and not the front which mean't no balcony but we truly did not need it. The air-con was perfect and the wifi is very speedy !

No complaints here ! We will be back if we are ever in Barcelona again :)

Room Tip: Choose no balcony ! then it will be quieter !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Location, location, location!!!! well situated in the heart of Barcelona behind Plaza Catalunya. Easy access to everything . Excellent staff at the Front Desk (Xila, Jose and Hernan: efficient, professional, helpful, great attitude). Excellent breakfast option (not included in room price) worth the money charged (Jun an excellent and pleasant person manning the breakfast across from our hotel). The best of my stay was that my room had balcony facing the tiny street on the front of the hotel. This is a super option to request.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are the best. Quieter rooms facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank juan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

One block from famous Rumble Street! In the middle of all actions, but quiet, clean room. No extras:coffeemaker, mini bar..., but all what you need after day in the city: nice bed, good shower and dozen places for breakfast, dinner!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AgentLeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Great location right off las ramblas, nice clean rooms, would stay again. Good value and pleasant staff. Able to buy tickets for the hop on hop off bus from reception which was handy. Quite a few great places to eat on the same street.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Service and location was awesome. Room are small and cozy. The walls are paper thin and you can hear all outside partying. The beds and pillows are extremely uncomfortable. For young party folk, the location was awesome but family with young children not so great due to noise. Cab driver might refused to drop you off at door step due to street are more like walk way less than a street. You might to walk from corner street with luggage to front hotel. Great hotel to be epicenter of ramblas scene.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank chatyo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#208 of 519 in Barcelona
1,108 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#92 of 519 in Barcelona
609 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#201 of 519 in Barcelona
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Cortes
Hotel Cortes
#294 of 519 in Barcelona
574 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#259 of 519 in Barcelona
1,148 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#374 of 519 in Barcelona
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalunya

Address: Carrer de Santa Anna, 24, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: C$106 - C$308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Catalunya 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataluna Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing