We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, Best Bathroom”
Review of Hotel Catalunya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Catalunya
Ranked #312 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 6 September 2017

This was an absolute gem of a find. It wins my personal award for most beautiful and stylish bathroom. If you are in Barcelona, this is the place to stay. The location is central to everything and it was a delight to come back to my hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caryl696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

This is is a small hotel very close to placa catalunya and the Rambla. The rooms are quite small but the beds are ok and the aircon is working (absolutely necessary during my visit), Don´t expect a stunning view from your hotel window... Rather no view at all.The breakfast is on an adjacent hotel and is ok (very good coffee). A major advantage is that there´s no traffic outside, hence not much disturbance during your sleeping hours. Even though the rooms are small the cleaning was immaculate and (most off) the staff was very helpful. The WiFi was good. All in all, worth the money.

Room Tip: Avoid single rooms on top floor, no view at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johna1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

I chose the hotel because of the location. As others also says, it is very good location for all. The price is for it. Hotel itself, clean, good hot shower, all sppedy at the reception, etc,.I say all points are cleared as standard. Air comdition was strong enough a little noisy and seems kept waking my boyfriend up. I also recognised some noise from fuse box in the room. A little annoyed that they charge for the key for safe box in the room per day if you want to use it!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yukiko66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

It was my first time in Barcelona and I was looking for a place clean, in the core of the city ,near The Ramblas and not awfully expensive. This was the right decision. Perfect location, extremely clean,which was a surprise considering how dirty some hotels are!!! My first hand experience was great and I really enjoyed my days in this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and the noise is not a problem due to the double glass windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PATRA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Hotel is very easy to find, 5 min walk from Plaza Catalunya. Staff very nice, rooms are simple but VERY clean! Beds are small (typical European hard little bed) Free WIFI, prime location! Right across the street there is a place that makes the best prosciutto sandwiches!!! Will stay here again next time I'm in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dreams2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely little hotel located just off la ramblas, close to placa catalunya. We arrived before check in time (1pm) but were able to leave our cases and come back later. Room is basic but did the job, clean, beds made daily and towels changed. We were on 4th floor which had a small balcony overlooking the street below. Nice hotel

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank sholea1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We chose the hotel for its location and the when we arrived we noticed it was a 2 star hotel... no worries the place was clean and spacious. Check in and check out were a breeze. I would choose again.

Perfectly situated for the Barcelona El Prat airport shuttle!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#206 of 519 in Barcelona
1,107 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#85 of 519 in Barcelona
608 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#200 of 519 in Barcelona
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Cortes
Hotel Cortes
#296 of 519 in Barcelona
573 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
Hotel Lloret Ramblas
#259 of 519 in Barcelona
1,147 reviews
Barrio Gòtico (Barri Gòtic)
Hotel Ingles
Hotel Ingles
#375 of 519 in Barcelona
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Catalunya

Address: Carrer de Santa Anna, 24, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: $106 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Catalunya 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Catalunya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataluna Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing