We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can find much better for price” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Mare Nostrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Mare Nostrum
Ranked #22 of 325 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You can find much better for price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

The only good things about this hostel: excellent location (near Rambla) and friendly staff. Otherwise, the room was kind of sketchy and not particularly clean. Did not feel very comfortable. Cigarette smell on the floor. We found a MUCH better hotel in Barcelona for about the same price and around the same location, so don't go here unless you can't book anywhere else...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kobachisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hostal Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Dear customer,

First of all, we are very grateful because you took some minutes of your time to send your comments at TripAdvisor. They always make us improve.

Smoking is not allowed at Hostal Mare Nostrum, that is why we never before had a complaint about cigarette smelling. We have installed many alarms everywhere and if some smoke is detected, it wents off.

Regarding the cleaning at Hostal Mare Nostrum, we are quite confused about your comment. We have seen that you rated 4 more Hotels around Hostal Mare Nostrum the same day and coincidentally one of them is also ours, and you rate it very well regarding cleaning. We would like to point out that cleaning staff at the Hotel and at the Hostal are the same, and do the same process in both places. We believe that we take care of every single detail: cleaning, wellness of our clients... in both places the same way.
Here at the heart of Barcelona there are lots of Hotels, but they have a higher price than Hostal Mare Nostrum. Hotels nearby can not fight against our prices, as we are a Hostal and not a Hotel, although services are very close to a Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much, and we hope that after all you had a great time in Barcelona.

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Director Hostal Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    209
    65
    15
    4
See reviews for
95
178
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for our Barcelona vacation and we loved it. Miki greeted us with a big smile and was always available to answer any questions, make reservations and is just a happy person! The other front desk help were just as friendly and helpful, unfortunately I didn't get their names! We had room 301, which has a cute little balcony overlooking Las Ramblas, it was perfect! If the balcony door was open the street noise was noticeable, but not bothersome, with the door closed it was silent. Room was cleaned spotlessly everyday. The wifi was intermittent in the room, but signal was better downstairs and there is also a computer in the lobby. Breakfast was packages of pastries, not too exciting, but the coffee was pretty good. The Boqueria is half a block away, where we found the most amazing fruit and snacks! The Licue Metro stop is literally right in front of the hotel entrance and it's pretty easy to get from the airport to this stop.

Great place, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

First time I have ever stayed in a hostel. I shared a room with two other people on the university trip to Barcelona. This hostel and rooms were clean and tidy. The staff were very welcoming and its in a fantastic location in Barcelona. Would certainly stay here again.

PROS
- Clean, tidy
- Staff were great
- Even had a TV in the room
- Own Walk in shower and loo at the bottom of the bed!

CONS
- Not many really, everything and more I expected from a hostel.
- Rooms were small.

OVERALL
It is like a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsta_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

The rooms are a little bit on the small side and at times we had to take turns to go onto the balcony as there is a see-through glass partition between the toilet and the bedroom. The staff are a tad on the miserable side but all that is a small price to pay for when you are in a great location (in the middle of the Ramblas) with a view! Sadly we missed out on the breakie though I would still consider this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony, the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samskebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hostal Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear customer,

first of all, thank you very much for sharing your comments with the rest of the travellers in TripAdvisor.
Although our rooms are not very big, they all have room enough to have a confortable stay in the city center (Las Ramblas). Otherwise, we are getting better every day, repairing things and carrying out reforms throughout the whole Hostal.
Regarding our staff, we believe that we are true professionals and we always serve the client with attention and care to make their stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you for your comments and we wish to see you soon again at Hostal Mare Nostrum!

Artur Artigas
Director Hostal Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

This is not a party hostel, but location is great and staff is also great, all and all i'd recomend this place. Right in front of the Rambla.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinho_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Excellent location, just in front of a subway station, in Las Ramblas, just a few blocks of the heart of Barrio Gótico. Rooms are clean but the shower was very small. Very complete and good breakfast (when compared to the usual european breakfast, ie, bread, cheese, jam, marmelade, milk, coffe, tea, yogourth, etc.). Very good attention from the owners. Pretty fair rates. I would highly reccommend it to persons travelling with a medium budget.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosMexicoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Artur29, Gerente at Hostal Mare Nostrum, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
Dear Customer,

thank you very much for the time you spent to share your opinion, as it is very important for us to improve our service. We are very glad that your stay was so satistactory with us.
Thank you for the recommendation!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas,
Director Hostal Mare Nostrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

I stayed at the Hostal Mare Nostrum for 3 nights with my mother and my daughter. This was my first stay in a hostal and I have to say that I was not sure if I would be happy. I booked it primarily for location and price. After I booked this Hostal, I heard from many people that staying on Las Ramblas was a horrible mistake. They said the noise would make me crazy and the location was unsafe. Well, they could not have been more wrong! The location is excellent and close to everything. We were lucky to have a room with a balcony overlooking Las Ramblas and spent many hours people watching. The best part was that when we closed our balcony doors, the room was very quiet! The breakfast was basic but good and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We booked a private room for 4 with our own bath. The room had some shelves for our belongings and a few hangers, too. We used the 4th bed as our overflow area. The rooms were clean, bright and comfortable. I look forward to staying there again on my next trip to Barcelona and I would be comfortable recommending this hostal to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmkrevitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#198 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#208 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#109 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Fernando
Hostal Fernando
#29 of 325 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Mare Nostrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Mare Nostrum

Property: Hostal Mare Nostrum
Address: C/ Sant Pau, 2, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval , La Rambla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 325 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Mare Nostrum 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house boasts an unbeatable location right on the iconic La Rambla, opposite the Liceu opera house, and includes free internet and a buffet breakfast. The Marenostrum's front desk can help you plan your day. On and around La Rambla, you will find many of the city's highlights, including the lively Boquería market and the Cathedral. Wander up the Rambla, past street performers and market stalls, to the city's heart of Plaça Catalunya. Alternatively, stroll down to Barcelona's beaches, a short walk away. The Hostal Marenostrum's en suite accommodation is functional and comfortable, including air conditioning, heating and soundproofing, for a restful stay. All bathrooms include a hairdryer. You can also make the most of 24-hour reception to explore the nightlife. Ciutat Vella is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping, tapas and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hostal Mare Nostrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Mare Nostrum Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing