We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Ranked #383 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is clean, quiet and very secure. The employees are extremely helpful and very professional. The room was larger than we expected and classy in appearance. The only thing I would suggest is that they provide 220-volt to110-volt adapters for the North Americans that arrive not knowing that Europe runs on 220 volts. We could not charge our camera, I-pod and computer batteries while we were there.
The pool is small but clean and there is enough area to catch some rays on the roof by the pool.
The hotel restaurant is expensive but there are so many options to eat at a reasonable price around the hotel it’s not a problem. You should be aware that the prices posted at the restaurants around the hotel are for inside dining; patio dining is 10% more.
We would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: We booked through
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stivonovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much writing this opinion and sharing it with other users.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We wish to welcome you back soon again in some of our accommodations in the city!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    94
    72
    19
    27
See reviews for
41
109
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ingleside, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

This hotel is one level above a hostel. We pcked it because it's cheap and within easy walking distance of downtown Barcelona. Rooms are small and shabby but very clean, with an upgraded 4-piece bathroom ensuite. The entrance is on the second floor and accessed by a buzzer at street level. The street is somewhat noisy but we quickly got used to it. Nice, friendly staff, and very private.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ditzy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi!

First of all, we want to thank you for writing this review. It is important for us to know what we are doing right and what things we can improve.

Barcelona City Hotel is located in one of the busiest roads of Barcelona and for this reason sometimes it is so noisy if you are not used to live in the busiest part of a city. Hopefully, all rooms enjoy new and sound proofed windows, so I see you quickly get used to the noise and it was not a problem for your rest.

We are a simple, budget hotel of one star, so it's completely true we are one level above a hostel.

Thanks appreciating our location and value for money.

It's true rooms were a bit shabby and small. We have repainted them, so they look a but better now. They are small as we try to offer good prices in an unbeatable location in the city (20 meters away from its most expensive street).

We wish to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The hotel was great, very clean and helpful staff. Excellent location to Las Ramblas, marina/pier. Good restaurants nearby, banking, grocery store. Nice dining room and breakfast selection and hard working staff for quick turnover of diners.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmciintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi!

Thanks a lot sharing your experience in this website. It is very useful for other travelers to read opinions of our guests to take an idea about our accommodation..

We are glad you enjoy your stay in our hotel and your trip to Barcelona and we wish welcome you back soon in some of our lodgings in Barcelona!

See you,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The hotel perfectly located - very close to La Rambla, many good restaurants, Gaudi's and more!

The rooms were very clean, though small. The staff was friendly and helpful. The building had good security - there was an exterior door and guests entered into the hotel rooms via the hotel office.

The one warning is that the walls were paper thin and you could hear everything through the walls. I recommend ear-plugs!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamss22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Hi!

Firstly, thank you investing some of your time writing this review. All experiences are useful for other people to get an idea of our accommodation and for us to know what we are doing well and what we need to improve.

Thanks also appreciating our location (it's perfect, that's true!), as well as our cleanliness and staff's attention.

About the size of the rooms, the hotel is located in the city center, twenty meters away from one of Gaudi's masterpieces and the most expensive street of the city, Passeig de Gracia: rooms have the minimum square meters required by law, but are not larger to offer the best value for money, a cheap and basic accommodation.

It's true wall may be a bit thin, but next time if you find your neighbors are too noisy, tell it to the reception, as you shouldn't hear too much noise from the room next to yours.

We wish to welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Excellent location for walking around the city. Very clean rooms and friendly staff. The walls are very thin, so bring ear plugs.

The entrance to the hostel is on the second floor of the building. It took us 10 minutes or so to find it when we arrived at night.

The restaurant right below the hostel was fantastic! Also, visit Cacao Sampaka for amazing hot chocolate.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlimaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for sharing your opinion with other users. We know it takes a little time, but it is very useful for us and other travellers.

We always try to explain to our customers how to arrive to Barcelona City Hotel. We are sorry if it seem a bit confusing. Since your staying , we have put a bigger sign in the door, so now it seems it is easier.

Barcelona City Hotel is located in the city center, in a noisy area of the city. Our soundproofed windows allow a good rest for our guests, but we know sometimes some people can be noisy in the night. In this cases, please don't hesitate to contact our staff in order to avoid this situations.

Thanks appreciating the tips we probably gave you in the reception (places to visit, restaurants…).

We hope to see you again in any of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Firstly there is some confusion in previous reviews as this hotel is a 1 star near to Passeig de Gracia and there is a similar named 4 star hotel in another part of Barcelona near Parel.lal.
This is a budget hotel (hostel) which is accessed by a door to the left of a Bank and the rooms are on the second floor where there is a small hotel reception. I travelled with 2 friends and stayed in a triple room which was a bit small for 3 adults but it was clean and beds were made each day. There are no other facilities and definitely no rooftop pool.
The location is very good, being about 10 minutes walk from Las Ramblas and very near to Passaig de Gracia which is an upmarket shopping area.
If you are travelling from the airport I would suggest you get the airport train (0.80 euros if you buy a T10 card) as it stops immediately next to the hotel.
Staff were friendly and the room had a safe which you could use for a refundable deposit of 10 euros.
Barcelona was lovely although there is the ever present threat of pickpockets - we saw 2 women have bags taken whilst we were there although we were are very careful and had no problems ourselves.
We went to watch Barcelona which was great and tickets are easy to get unless it is a really big game.
Overall this is a reasonable, cheap option for a group of lads, although I think the wife would have wanted somewhere more upmarket!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Portishead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hi!

Thank you for taking time to writing your opinion about Barcelona City Hotel and share it with other interested users.

Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal) has this name from 2009. From 1992 its name was just "Hotel Universal", many years after another hotel opened with a similar name, so you can understand who has created this confusion.

The size of the rooms is regulated by law. Think the hotel is located in the center of Barcelona and the surface is adjusted to give the best value for money in an area with high rental prices.

Thanks you for appreciate the free safe box in the room and our staff kind attention.

Thanks also appreciating that we are a budget hotel offering basic hotel facilities in a superb location in the city. As you explain, maybe if you come with your wife she will desire some upmarket place to sleep, specially if it is for a romantic visit (you could check our apartments' building). If you want to come back for a short stay, we will be always here!

We hope welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I just recently stayed here with my daughter. The staff was very friendly, helpful, and spoke english. The location is very good being right near the Passeig de Gracia Metro stop. It is also very near the Casa Batllo/Gaudi house. It is also a good central location for both La Rambla and the Eixample sites. This is a good no frills basic hotel.

The biggest problem for us was the noise. The walls and halls not only don't suppress the noise, they seem to amplify it. (I know thats' impossible) Doors opening/closing and footsteps on the bare/loose wood floors sound like gunshots when you are trying to sleep. Loud talking neighbors returning late at night from the bars sound like they are in your room. Overall it was about what we expected for 65 Euros a night.

The main thing I want to say is that many of the reviews here are for a different hotel. All the reviews that talk about rooftop pools, exercise rooms, and how close they are to the Paral-lel Metro stop are talking about a different, more expensive hotel. That one is confusingly called the Hotel Universal. (not city) If you base your decision on those reviews you will be in for a big surprise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bcncityhotels_com, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelona City Hotel Universal, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to writing your opinion about Barcelona City Hotel and share it with other users.

Our Hotel is named Barcelona City Hotel (Hotel Universal) since 2009, since 1992 we were just "Hotel Universal". We know you can confuse them with another hotel, but the other one opened many years after our existence, so we think we are not who have to change our name.

Barcelona City Hotel is located in the city center,a noisy area of the city. I hope you saw our windows are soundproofed, so the exterior noise is virtually inaudible.

For another occasion, If other guests are noisy late in the night, please don't hesitate to contact our staff, as we want a respectful atmosphere.

Thanks again for your comments. The reviews of our guests help us to improve our facilities.

We wish welcome you back soon in some of our accommodations in Barcelona!

Best regards,

Elisabeth Gómez
Social Media Manager
Barcelona City Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#386 of 513 in Barcelona
238 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#396 of 513 in Barcelona
157 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Urquinaona
Hotel Urquinaona
#430 of 513 in Barcelona
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
Hotel Rey Don Jaime I
#474 of 513 in Barcelona
253 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Century Hotel
Barcelona Century Hotel
#244 of 513 in Barcelona
555 reviews
Bonanova Park
#371 of 513 in Barcelona
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelona City Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona City Hotel Universal

Property: Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Address: Arago 281. 2nd fl 1a, 08009 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #383 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Barcelona City Hotel Universal 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Barcelona City Hotel- Hotel Universal!Barcelona City Hotel is a hotel located in Barcelona center, a few meters away from Passeig de Gracia. Our hotel offers you value for money just two blocks away from the Placa Catalunya, where the Gothic Quarter and the famous Ramblas of Barcelona begin.Enjoy the city and relax in your room with free wifi, flatscreen TV, private bathroom, air-conditioned, heating... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Barcelona City Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing