We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff and location”
Review of Pension Mari-Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pension Mari-Luz
Ranked #128 of 736 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2016

It's an old part of town, so expect to walk up a LOT of stairs with your bags, and don't expect sound proofing. However, the staff was very friendly and helpful; the location was wonderful for sightseeing, accessible by transit, and close to the port. The price is a huge selling point, and our room was perfectly charming. We only stayed a night, but I would have been happy to stay longer.

Room Tip: They are all on the same (high) floor. You'll need to use a key to get into the building, floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gdarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mari-Luz, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Thank you so much for your feedback! We know that the building has limitations but we like to think that the value of a historical building compensates them. Of course, the stairs are not suitable for all targets but as long as your're in good shape, we'd be really happy to welcome you. Please, come back whenever you want!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2016

The eight of us stayed here for four days. The service we had was very good, the receptionist was really helpful in terms of giving information. The bed was very comfortable, the toilets were clean and it was a very comfortable stay. It is very nearby La Rambla which is the main street of Barcelona. However, the climb to the accommodation is 3 stairs up and unlocking the doors can be tricky.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mari-Luz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2016

Thank you so much for your feedback! Please, come back whenever you want. We'll be looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Excellent location, lovely staff (rapid replies to our queries), clean, and cheap..... However you can hear everything. Make sure you pack ear-plugs!

Within walking distance of the Metro, and great shops and cafes.

Room Tip: Far from the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mari-Luz, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2016

Dear Catherine,
Thanks a lot for your feedback! We also provide earplugs from the reception (just asking for them) cause we know that sometimes, if you have a light sleep, noise can be a trouble in this kind of ancient buildings with a lot of echo. Sorry about that and hope the rest of your experience was positive! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Last year I stayed a couple of days at MariLuz. We were about the only guests and the place was really clean: every time I went to the bathroom, the floor still was a bit wet as they had just cleaned it. Also the staff was really friendly. The place is located in Barrio Gótico, very close to the Plaza Reial. However, if you're not in a good condition or have trouble walking this is not a good option as there are many many stairs.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mangomeloen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mari-Luz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback! Indeed, we don't recommend our establishment for people with mobility issues or seniors. Since our building is considered historical heritage we can't instal an elevator indeed...
Hope we'll see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The location of this hostel is right at the center and is just a 5 to 10 minute walk to La Rambla. We had to climb up three flights of stairs to get to the hostel but upon reaching the place, we were welcomed with cool air conditioned place plus a friendly face. The receptionist was so helpful as she assisted us with bus tours and how to get to where. We booked a 4-bed private room with shared bathroom. The room had a bunk bed and two separate beds equipped also with a sink. We slept so peacefully because of the 16-degree low air condition we had turned on (it ran quietly too). In the intense heat of Barcelona, this hostel was so worth it. They also had free fast WIFI!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which part of the hotel as long as it has air condition!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BAdrianneK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Overall just a really good hostel. Room, bathroom and kitchen were spotless... Lovely showers, beds are so comfy and individual aircon unit for each room so you can control the temp, which is a massive bonus! Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Jade N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

This place was great.
Remember you need to share a bathroom and kitchen. So don't complain about that.. Also, expect it to be more like a hostel experience. So expect younger people to be staying there.
Bathrooms were always kept very clean!!! Which was great.
Room was good size. Clean. And our room (twin room) had it's own basin. So we could clean our teeth etc in our room.
The kitchen was very handy and we used it lots. Usually we had it all to ourselves.
The staff are great and very helpful.
Location is amazing!!!
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#226 of 517 in Barcelona
529 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#135 of 517 in Barcelona
2,720 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Solyk Guest House
Solyk Guest House
#122 of 736 in Barcelona
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Itaca Hostel
Itaca Hostel
#30 of 736 in Barcelona
430 reviews
El Raval
Apartments Unio
Apartments Unio
#139 of 736 in Barcelona
73 reviews
Urbany Barcelona Hostel
#66 of 736 in Barcelona
1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Mari-Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Mari-Luz

Address: Carrer del Palau, 4, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 736 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: $51 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pension Mari-Luz 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PENSION MARILUZ is located right in the heart of Barcelona’s Gothic Quarter, just behind Sant Jaume’s Square (where the City Hall is located) and only 3 minutes walking distance to Las Ramblas. Our hostel is a family business, which is more than thirty years old and located in a nice building from the XVIII century. Our hostel offers modern rooms with air conditioning and free wifi connection. The reception is open 24 hours. VERY IMPORTANT! Our hostel is located on a 3rd floor without elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Mari-Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Mari-Luz Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing