We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Raval(Barcelona)
US$245
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$244
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Barcelona Ramblas(Barcelona)
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
NH Sants Barcelona(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$219
US$197
Derby Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Carla(Barcelona)
US$137
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jazz(Barcelona)
US$178
US$162
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
US$184
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel 1898(Barcelona)
US$248
US$198
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$146
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveller rating
48
49
18
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
49
18
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomgothic areawould stay here againsinkhostelcathedrallockersreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 122 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2017

We stayed here for 1 night as we were watching Barcelona in the champions league and was already paying for a hotel in Calella so was looking for some where cheap but clean and central. It is quite hard to find and we had to use the directions on the IPhone but what a lovely place we found. It is in a beautiful building in the gothic area near the cathedral (which was stunning). The pension had character and we had a lovely view of the court yard. Rooms are basic but clean. Bathroom is very modern and my partner said it was fine but there is also a sink in the room. Staff were very helpful too. Just be prepared for a lot of steps - we expected this so was no surprise but after a few drinks it was a bit of a challenge (although we didn't turn the light on which the receptionist told us so this was our fault!) There are lots of lovely bars, eating places and shops nearby which are not expensive (unlike las ramblas) and the pension exceeded our expectations for £70! I would stay here again for a night or two. The hotel also let us change our booking date after the cancelation deadline for a small fee which was really appreciated - Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for the double with the courtyard view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 448Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mariluz, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We're very glad you liked our place and enjoyed your stay in Barcelona.
We know the stairs can be challenging, you got to save a little bit of energy for the end of the day...
It was a great match that day, so you might be our lucky charm!
Please, come visit us back soon! ^^

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2016

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights and enjoyed it. We arrived at Barcelona airport and took the A1 bus to the city centre. We had to carry all our heavy luggage from Plaça de Catalunya to Pension Mari-Luz and then up the 3 flights of stairs due to no elevator. It was quite a tiring stretch walking there initially for 15 minutes but this paid off as the location was lovely in the heart of Barrio Gótico. This was close to La Rambla and other great attractions in the city.

We were greeted by friendly staff who spoke good English. He gave us a map and suggested things to see and do in Barcelona. There were also useful flyers and brochures readily available for tourists to take.

We had a twin bedroom which was neat and tidy. It was a basic bedroom but it met all our needs. It had a little balcony just big enough for one person to look out into and enjoy the view below. The room also had a tiny sink which was useful too.

We had to use communal showers and toilets which were regularly cleaned. They looked modern and seemed recently renovated. The only downside was the shower head was broken in the main bathroom and didn't spray water out properly.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay in Pension Mari-Luz.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bushid0kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mariluz, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback! We know the stairs are our biggest handicap and the spaces are reduced, that's why we set competitive prices. Thank you for letting us know about the shower head, we didn't realized it. We'll fix it right away. Hope you'll come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 night stay on Barcelona and I cannot recommend Pension Mariluz enough. It is basic in terms of accommodation but Barcelona is the type of city where you will be out and about all day anyway. The staff were super friendly and helpful - going the extra mile. Everything was so clean and tidy. It's positioning in the city was perfect- surrounded by lots of lovely bars, shops, cafes and restaurants. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mariluz, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed your time in our place and really hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2016

Very nice place, small but clean rooms, cleaned daily. Clean shared bathrooms. Small kitchen equipped with a fridge, electric hob, microwave, kettle and crockery. Helpfull staff. Great location, close to La Rambla and to the beach.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank kaorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mariluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thanks a lot for leaving your feedback! It help us a lot! Please, don't hesitate to contact us for your next visit. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016

First of all, as many people have mentioned there are a lot of stairs and that's the first thing you're gonna notice about your stay here. That said, we were fully aware of this before booking. We went with our baby and a pushchair and the stairs did become a chore, especially when the lights turn off after a few minutes unless you reactivate them.

Overall though, our room was clean and the staff maintain the place well, cleaning the rooms and bathrooms daily. Our towels were also changed every 2 days. The bathrooms and toilets are communal and during our stay a few disrespectful guests would leave lights on, leave dirty towels on the floor and not clean up after leaving hairs in the shower or bottles of shampoo. That's not the fault of the staff here but it is worth mentioning that you will be sharing these facilities. The rooms come with aircon which was great for us after a hot day of walking around Barcelona.

This pension is in an ideal location in the heart of the Gothic quarter, just a short walk away from La Cathedral and La Rambla. You'll find plenty of places to eat within a 5 minute walk and a large corner shop just a few meters away from the room.

The pension even did a basket of clothes washing for us for 7 euro (although they don't normally do this) we were staying for 6 days and had a bunch of baby clothes to wash.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariluz P, Director de Recepción at Pension Mariluz, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2016

Dear Brad,
Thank you for your comments.
As we explained you, you can leave the baby stroller downstairs so you don't have to bring it up and down everytime. However, we are not responsible for any items left outside the hostel premises (which are just the flat 2º1ª), that's why we recommend to bring up the strollers at night and store them in the reception.
The lights on the stairs have a timer (it's something common to avoid irresponsable use of electricity) and it's true that sometimes it turns off in the worst moment, but it happens to all of us, believe me!
Concerning to the shared facilities, we really do try to maintain them clean. Not only the cleaning maid, the receptionists clean the facilities at least once during every shift and keep mopping the floors and removing trash constantly. However, depending on how many people are using the bathrooms at the same time, if some of those people don't respect the advices on the doors and leave everything messed up and considering that the receptionists might have some other work to do, sometimes you'd find the bathrooms dirty, of course. During your next visit you can ask for a room with private bathroom.
We really hope to see you soon! Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews